Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tired Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: It's location
Cons: Pretty much everything
A waste of such huge potential. It need's a major overhaul, the room's are tired, too hot, dated with old broken furniture. We moved rooms because of a problem with the bathroom to find the 2nd bathroom had cracked sink & toilet with a broken toilet seat. Had a luke warm shower on out last morning. In fairness the management sorted the problem with the 1st room as best they could but the 2nd room wasn't much better. We had to sleep with the windows open because we couldn't turn down the radiator as the thermostat was broken. We didn't eat at the hotel because the reviews have been so poor about the quality of the food etc so can't comment on that. I'm assuming that the lack of competition for accommodation in Henley has led to the complacency of this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Angela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Michael

Great location but average accommodation

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has a fantastic location and lovely river views but is in need of some investment- the bathrooms are rather tired with Lino flooring and the taps and shower controls have lost any shine they once has so it just doesn't feel very clean. The room was adequate but had a small TVs , a custard cream as the complimentary biscuit to go with the tea making facilities, so hardly making the place feel special. The carpet had little or no underlay and so again just reflects a lack of investment. This hotel could be so much more and sadly the room rates do not reflect the average standard of the room. the staff were lovely though !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated on edge of town right by the river

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The Red Lion is one of three hotels we use on our annual business trip. It has the most beautiful setting on the three with a lovely river view right onthe edge of town. Ideally placed for a trip round the lovely town. Breakfasts are very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Henley Festival!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Lovely olde worlds hotel needs a face lift and air conditioning though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Hotel close to the racing venue, very convenient

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: need air conditioning
Location: very convenient to town and the racing.
No air conditioning and limited air flow, uncomfortably hot.
5 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Will

Such is life

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
We were at a wedding reception at The Leander Club so it was very convenient!
3 out of 5
by JAMES

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

In the centre of Henley facing the Thames.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: It was OK but not very inspiring
Cons: New bedroom furniture and improve the choices at breakfast.
Location: Very good location in the centre of Henley right by the Thames. However very busy local roads close by. A number of restaurants near by.
Hotel in a good location but the furniture in the room was very old and shabby. However good size room and clean. Although the room had double glazing a very busy road directly outside caused some noise. Cooked breakfast OK but the choice of cereals, yogurts ,pastries, etc very limited. Breakfast finished at 9 o/c on the dot with most things being cleared away. Staff very polite and attentive.