Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Lack of attention to detail

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: The old building-pleasant staff
Cons: See above
Location: Very rural andvery nice countryside and small towns and villages nearby, includinh Henley On Thames
We chose this establishment as it was convenient to the event we were attending. The building is old and attractive and the staff were welcoming when we arrived. However, we discovered that one of the lights in the windowless ensuite was not working which made the room very gloomy-we don't know how this was not picked up by whoever serviced the room. The external door to the room sounded as though it had not been lubricated for years and produced a long piercing banshee like wail, particularly when closing. What the people in the adjacent room would be interesting to know as they would have certainly been woken up if they were sleeping. I was told it andn the light would be reported to the manager. The music in the bar was the loudest I we have ever heard and seemed to be on for the benefit of the staff-however-when we went to breakfast the following morning it was still pounding out and we had to ask for it to be lowered as we simply could not hear each other speak The breakfast menu was fine on paper and included "Yogurt with berries"; unfortunately the kitchen didn't have any yogurt. Similarly, when One of us asked for marmalade for thentoast we were told they didn't have any.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We got there late after the kitchen closed, after a long trip, and they even russled us up some food. This is our second stay and was consistently excellent welcome, food and accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Fine food, grand comfort, idyllic setting...

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We wanted our last night in the UK to be special, capping off our holiday in style. We couldn’t have chosen a better venue than The Cherry Tree Inn. Located in the Chiltern Hills, it is the epitome of a charming country inn and pub, from the soothing crunch as you walk up the gravel drive to the silence of the idyllic surroundings. At check-in, we were greeted by a genuinely friendly young lady (apologies for not getting her name) who made us feel more like visiting family than random guests. She was warm and welcoming without being phoney. In fact, all the staff we encountered (including someone whom we believed to be the owner) were naturally friendly, as if they were actually happy to be of service. (Imagine that!) The young lady showed us to our king-size ensuite room — one of four barn conversions — a mix of rustic charm and casual elegance. The large, comfortable bed gave us a peaceful night’s sleep and the well appointed ensuite bathroom took care of the rest. Our delight only continued as we settled in for dinner. The menu was an exercise in temptation, with a tantalizing selection of locally sourced food prepared with a fresh spin. Ultimately, we settled on a Slow-cooked Short Rib of Beef with Baby Onions and a Chive Mash. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and the flavours exploded in your mouth. We followed it up with a Peach, Apple and Plum Tart Tatin with Honeycomb Ice-cream. It was possibly the best meal we had on our entire holiday and a great way to end
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Cherry Tree Team, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, We are so happy to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay with us at The Cherry Tree Inn. Thank you so very much for the time to write so comprehensively, it makes a big difference to us and we are very grateful for your time. We do hope that if you revisit this part of town, we might have the pleasure of your company again. Seasons Greetings. The Cherry Tree Inn Team...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Fine food. Friendly service. Idyllic setting.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Everything. Fine food, excellent customer service and an idyllic setting.
At check-in, we were greeted by a genuinely friendly young lady who made us feel more like visiting family than random guests. She was warm and welcoming without being phoney. In fact, all the staff we encountered (including someone whom we believed to be the owner) were naturally friendly, as if they were actually happy to be of service. (Imagine that!) The young lady showed us to our king-size ensuite room — one of four barn conversions — a mix of rustic charm and casual elegance. The large, comfortable bed gave us a peaceful night’s sleep and the well appointed ensuite bathroom took care of the rest. Our delight only continued as we settled in for dinner. The menu was an exercise in temptation, with a tantalizing selection of locally sourced food prepared with a fresh spin. Ultimately, we settled on a Slow-cooked Short Rib of Beef with Baby Onions and a Chive Mash. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and the flavours exploded in your mouth. We followed it up with a Peach, Apple and Plum Tart Tatin with Honeycomb Ice-cream. It was possibly the best meal we had on our entire holiday and a great way to end our UK adventure. As we had to leave for the airport before breakfast service, we were very kindly provided with a selection of cereals, fruit, juice and even a bottle of milk on ice (as there was no fridge) to start us off on our long day with something in our stomachs. Fine food, friendly service, grand comfort, all wrapped up in a peaceful setting.
5 out of 5
by Adrian

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great country pub with lovely atmosphere, good food and very comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Wedding Anniversary mini break

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Secluded location, very pretty.
Cons: Pathway from accommodation to pub could be made slightly more accessible.
Location: In a very pretty little village, but very close to Henley on Thames and surrounding towns. Walks by the river, antique shops, restaurants.
Very enjoyable stay at The Cherry Tree Inn. Lovely quiet village location but only 15 minute drive from the beautiful town of Henley on Thames.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from finchampstead

Perfect stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
This pub is perfect. A lovely pub in the countryside with a nice garden,rooms on the side,delicious breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warminster

hotel nicely situated in a quiet village location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
after a very stressful day we had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. Next morning we had a very nice breakfast,ready to start our journey home,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Quiet room

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Extremely peaceful away from pub noise.
Cons: -
Location: Set in countryside and no houses nearby. We were moving on to Oxford so didn't do much locally.
Our room was presumably a converted stable, most comfortable. Only downside was no switch for bedside lights so had to hop out of bed to turn them off.