Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Like staying in a 24 hour nightclub

Posted Jun 7, 2016
This hotel is not all bad - their lunchtime food is delicious, and inexpensive. The swimming pool is ice cold but very refreshing on a hot day. Rooms are very, very clean; all the communal areas too, and especially the pool. The location is fantastic - near some lovely restaurants. There are lots of sunbeds, but only around 1/3 are comfortable ones with padding - you need to get down to the pool by 8:15am to bag your bed. The reason for the rating is the volume of music around the pool area. If you enjoy your sun holidays with Euro-pop and rock sumping out of the speakers at eardrum-breaking levels, this is the hotel for you! I thought something had gone wrong on the first day when the speakers were cranked up at around 11am to deliver 'Mr Bombastic' and 'I Like to Move it Move It', but after a while another couple asked the music to be turned down, and it was. For about an hour. Then it was cranked up again. And so began our five day stay. Every couple of hours, the music, gradually growing louder, would reach the point where I'd read the same sentence in my book seven times and had a thumping headache from the thumping bass. I'd ask them to turn it down, and they would; for a time. Then it would creep back up. But by the second day, our requests were largely ignored. They'd claim they had turned the music down, but it really did not seem like it. Indeed, we were told: ‘everyone loves the music!’ I admit, music is a largely personal affair, but I would guess that rare is
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Elena Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you appreciated the position of our hotel, the cleaning of your room , the meals in our restaurant while we are sorry that the music nor its intensity in the pool bar was not of your preference. Frequently we are praised for the service of our staff and the response to guests requests. Our hotel offers an inner yard where the swimming pools are and usually our guests discover during stay the appropriate place according to their personal taste either closer to the pool, less or more sunny or quiet. Probably sunbeds further away from the snack bar would have been more to your liking in regards of the proximity to the loudspeakers. It is unfortunate that you did not find your relaxing corner. All your remarks are precious to us, we will share them with our team in order to correct the negative points. We would be delighted, if you decided to offer us a second chance, to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel, not too expensive

Posted Jun 1, 2016
We stayed in room 227, it seemed that that room was in the original built of the hotel as the fixture and fittings were a bit dated. The other buildings within the complex seemed newer. The tv was on a small size and instead of being in the wall, it was placed on a small table. You were watching the tv with your head turned at 45 degrees to the left. Free WiFi most of the time was very, very slow. I don't agree with paying 18 euros (for a week) to have access to the faster internet. The faster internet during our stay was faster than the free of charge one, sometimes not by much. We used an app to measure the speed. We noticed that there were a lot of pensioners in the hotel. The beach near the hotel wasn't brilliant but you can walk a bit from the hotel to get to nicer beach or take a bus to the other beach. Hotel is close to the center of hersonissos. Staff was very pleasant, coffee was always topped up at beakfast without fuss. You can stay there if you fancy it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Elena Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you appreciated especially the hotel's location and the service of our staff. All our guest remarks are precious to us, we will share them with our team in order to correct the negative points. We would be delighted, if you decided to offer us the chance to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England Clacton on sea

Albatros Spa Hotel

Posted May 22, 2016
Very friendly,helpful and polite Staff,Reception staff all spoke excellent English and helped us with several problems,Restaurant staff waiters were very good eg as soon as you sat down they were there tea or coffee and then refills
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by Elena Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for this great review! We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that you appreciated the service of our team. We are pleased to share your positive feedback with our staff and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted May 11, 2016
Enjoyed a fabulous stay at the Albatros hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful just generally brilliant! The breakfast choices were excellent would definitely recommend a stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2016 by Elena , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for this great review! All our team absolutely love looking after everyone they come into contact with and it is reviews like yours that makes it all worthwhile! We hope to see you many many times more!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I think it's 4 stars or less,

Posted May 4, 2016
Good friendly staff, nice location nice view excellent pool, but it is missing some 5 stars services such as mini bar in the room actually they don't even serve a bottle of water in the room, they have no 24 hours restaurant and the breakfast buffet is not like a 5 stars buffet by the way the price was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Elena , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay at Albatros Spa Resort Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our hotel and its services. With regards to your comments about the hotel services , please take into account that there is mini fridge in all hotel rooms which our guests can fill upon order on reasonable prices from the mini market, also is available 24 hours room service, Mediterraneo main hotel restaurant is open for breakfast , lunch and dinner buffet while there is Seaside snack bar and Daphne a la carte restaurant with relevant operating hours. Usually we are prized for our breakfast buffet , however we will share your comments with our team in order to improve ourselves. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel's location , your room's view, the pool area and the friendliness of our staff at a fair price. Thank you for considering staying with us again on a future occasion!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this is not 5 star!!!

Posted Oct 5, 2015
I booked this hotel as expedia listed it as a 5 star hotel. this isn't even close to a 5 start. i understand that european standards are different than the US and many 5 star hotels in EU would be 4 in the US. This hotel would be a 2 star in the US.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2015 by Nadine reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay.Our team is sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay, as our main goal is to reach our valuable guests's satisfaction and it is a pity for us when this specific objective is not reached.We sincerely hope you will reconsider us again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
מלון נחמד מאוד, למרות שהיינו בחלק הישן שלו. הצוות מאוד נחמד. מרחק כמה דקות הליכה מהמרכז.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2015 by Elena Reservations, Hotel Management
We thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and for appreciating our efforts to offer our hotel guests a relaxing stay! We look forward to welcoming you in a future stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

One of the best hotels...

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Everything, mostly the staff. Make sure you pay for the upgraded room as the old part of the hotel didn't look as good.
Cons: wifi definitely, or do not charge for it as it is too poor to charge for it
Location: Beaches close by and strip only a 5 minute walk, perfect location
We stayed here for 12 nights from 12 July 2015 and the hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The whole hotel including our room was extremely clean, rooms cleaned daily. There are two pools, atmosphere around them was brilliant, music playing and the staff created a buzz everyday. The newer sunbeds are so comfortable, and there was no mad rush in the mornings to get these sunbeds either. We stayed on a breakfast only basis, the breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from. The location of the hotel was perfect. It was just tucked round the corner from the main Hersonissos strip but perfect to get away from the buzzy strip if you want to. The beach is about a 2 min walk if that. The main strip is about 5 minutes away. The only downside to the hotel was their wifi. You have to pay 18 Euros per week per device for wifi and it wasn't that great. We could barely get the wifi in the room despite them saying that it was accessible throughout the hotel. The staff were the best staff I have come across. They literally cannot do enough for you. Especially Aria and Georgia who worked in the pool bar. We ate there for lunch every day and they always made us laugh and very welcome. They are such lovely people. The food at lunch was awesome and the service even better! We stayed for a wedding anniversary celebration and they gave us a room with the best views and a bottle of wine to celebrate. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Elena Reservations, Hotel Management
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the location of the hotel, the comfort of our rooms and the quality of our service. We are proud to have a wonderful and dedicated staff and we are pleased to share your feedback with them. We look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Well worth upgrading to a superior room for the extra comfort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

close to beach, with attentive and friendly staff

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Could not get a late check out as they were full but they did lend me towels and let me take a shower in the very nice facilitiesbefore my 9pm flight.
Cons: Small issue was that I thought I had bought breakfast with my expedia booking but wasn't explicitly stated. Hotel offered to discount price for break
Location: the beach of course but also plenty of restaurants, the creta maris conference centre is just 5-10 mins walk away
I took breakfast a few days and it had a good range of hot e.g. eggs, bacon, as well as cold meats and cheeses; and cold e.g. pastries, fruit etc (Small issue was that I thought I had bought breakfast with my expedia booking but wasn't explicitly stated. Hotel offered to discount price for breakfast from 10 to 5 euro, (expedia hadn't required to my enquiry to confirm their understanding of whether breakfast was inclusive in over a week). The hotel also has several pools and a massage etc. centre although I didn't try this. The Wifi was pretty good, my room's receoption was a bit poor but fine down the corridor or in the lobby. I could not get a late check out as they were full but they did lend me towels and let me take a shower in the very nice facilitiesbefore my 9pm flight on my last day. Hernossios doesn't have an especially big beach but the water is very clea and nice for swimming and was very nice the first week of June Prebook a taxi for 31 euros from Heraklion airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2015 by Elena Reservations , Hotel Management
Thank for you for submitting this detailed review on your recent stay. We are have you enjoyed our hotel's facilities and staff's service. Our team works hard to offer our guests a memorable stay and reviews like yours is the best reward for our efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit our island.