Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family holiday

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Kokini Chani, good bus route into local towns at only 2 euros.
Cracking holiday in October, everything you could as for in a 4 star. Food was good and the hotel was quiet this time of year. There was just enough entertainment on as was after a quiet break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, OK hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was OK, has seen better days but was comfortable enough. Food was variable from very good to just OK depending on the day but you won't go hungry. Drinks not so good, the wine on tap isn't pretty awful and the beer lacks any real taste. What made it was the staff - whilst there were a couple of miserable faces there were several that really wanted to be there and look after you - Maria on reception and Irini in the restaurants for example. We would go back and are looking to already for next May however we'll take our own wine!
4 out of 5
by J C from Surrey

Family holiday

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and comfortable although did need updating. Beach access and the beach itself were fantastic. Food was good, could have been a little more variety but quality was high. Staff were excellent at the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Clean and welcoming but rather basic

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Good location, staff very helpful and friendly; food generally quite good although the variety could be improved mainly at breakfast.
Cons: General appearance could be much improved if the buildings were painted white and some more attention was given to the plants/green areas.
Location: Easy access to Heraklion, water park and the Aquarium. Shops and restaurants nearby.
It was supposed to be our well deserved family holiday after a difficult year. The general impression of the hotel when we first arrived was rather depressing; grey concrete buildings, some greenery but very little colour. I was pleasantly surprised though and very grateful to be given a room and a possibility to have breakfast before the official check-in time. We were desperate for some rest after an all night journey. Sadly, the room turned out to be very disappointing. Basic furniture, small beds, a simple chair and a coffee table, bathroom clean but in need of some update and renovation. Kids were disappointed about the lack of WiFi signal in the room and the swimming pool which was on a smallish side and had sea water. We were determined to make the most of our week's holiday though and decided to go out as much as we could. The hotel location is excellent for that with easy access to Heraklion, a waterpark and an aquarium. Shops, restaurants and car rental places are all nearby. On the whole it was an enjoyable week and we managed to make the most of our holiday. We would probably chose a better hotel next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris, France

Budget hotel that should be rated 2-3 stars

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the airport
Cons: Occasional cleaning of the beach. Kids club security features. Spa set up.
Location: Very close the airport. Nice restaurants at the village. Good beach within walking distance
We had a nice stay at the hotel but be warned that it is a budget all-inclusive hotel. The hotel should be only rated 2-3 stars. Our room was very clean but the hotel is very old and shows ugly wear and tear. The food is OK but you can tell that every single thing from the juice to desserts are cheap quality. The beach in front of the hotel is small and dirty. It would be fine if someone cleaned it but it was dirty from the people and large amount of seaweed. We used two beaches that are adjacent to the hotel. The one on the left with a Beach club is the best, only 2 minute walk and free if you buy drinks. The staff were very nice. The kids disco was really fun for our 6 years old but I was not comfortable with the kids club as there is no system for signing in and out and not much accountability at the pool. We used the spa to get massages. They were really good for the exception of the fact that there is only one massage room and there are two tables in it. So if they spa is booked you will have another strange person laying next to you...not the most relaxing situation. The hotel is very close to the airport which is a plus after a flight but it is not in a very nice area of the island. We rented a car and spend 3 days driving around finding beautiful beaches and nice villages. Overall if you are looking for a budget all-inclusive it will suffice. But if you are expecting a 4 start hotel, like it is rated, you will be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from Wroclaw

Aquis Arina Sand Hotel - not to bad

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel fine, hotel staff friendly, food ok (a bit bland we did eat out 60% of the time some great little place on the coast), local area great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Honeymoon in Crete

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The staff are friendly, the food is amazing and it's a very relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: The wifi is weak but really if you go on vacation to stay online all the time you're doing vacations wrong.
Location: So many great shops and restaurants within 10 min walk of the resort. Less than 10min drive from the airport. Water park and museums nearby.
My wife and I went to the Aquis Arina Sand for our honeymoon and it couldn't have been a better experience. Not only is it in picturesque Heraklion with it's perfect sunsets, peaceful atmosphere and warm clean sea, but the staff and all that we met there are lovely, accommodating people. From the second we got there the staff was very kind and took us to our bungalow on the sea which had a complimentary bottle of Crete bubbly and a fruit plate. It was a very nice touch to start off our honeymoon after a long 19 hour trip to get there from our home in Canada. The next 9 days were filled with awesome food from around the world, pleasant staff interactions, and relaxing time spent by the pool and sea. While we were there to just relax and unwind, there was plenty of activities offered at little or no cost at all. The resort has an arcade, pool & ping pong tables, as well as rentals of jet skis, paddle surfing boards and even parasailing. The 'Animation Team' is terrific. They put on activities and shows every night such as traditional Greek dancing, performance art and dance parties. Throughout the day they are seen greeting guests and ensuring everyone is having a good time as well as running beach volleyball, water polo and other activities. I could go on a lot more about our terrific experience there, but will sum up my review by saying it was a pleasure to be there and would recommend it to anyone. Crete is beautiful, and the people there are lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome stay

Posted Sep 20, 2014
great people, great food, it was all around pleasant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 4 star hotel !

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Sea shore ...
Cons: Everything
We arrived to this presumed 4 star hotel and instantly understood that we are not going to stay. This is a very basic hotel, this hotel good days are long been forgotten. Even the staff is indifferent. The room is basic and undermaintained. We tried to cancel the reservation with the help of expedia but the hotel stuff could not help and there was no manager to speak to! Amazing! We found a better hotel and after one unpleasant night left to a great hotel.