Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canterbury, Britain

A VERY FINE HOTEL

Posted Jun 5, 2011
The Candia Maris is very well located just outside Iraklion at the start of the beach area. It has three outdoor and two indoor pools (restrictions apply: one outdoor pool is reserved for bungalow residents; one indoor pool is part of a spa complex for which charges are levied). It has several good restaurants, an excellent gym, a tennis court and even a chapel. The staff are very helpful & friendly. We had a superb room (373) which was not overlooked and had view of the sea. The free wi-fi supposedly available only in the lobby worked in the room too, which was an unexpected bonus. The room was cleaned regularly & thoroughly. Nonetheless there were a few problems. Breakfast advertised as 7.30-10.30 actually closes at 10.00. Free car-parking (as advertised): NOT ANY MORE! The Spa is very expensive and you have to be a confident haggler to get a reduction after your initial visit (for which a reduction of 25 euros is given). The breakfast was good, apart from the coffee & fruit juices, both of which were found to be insipid. The beach-side Taverna opened irregularly and there was no live music as advertised; it was usually empty even when open.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It had NO Personality

Posted Oct 3, 2010 on Hotels
Hotel & Staff had no personality. They were superficially nice but not really helpful. I was there on my honeymoon and they gave me two beds. When I asked for a room with a King Size Bed - they said they would just push the two beds together. I said - there would be an uncomfortable gap between the beds & they assured me there would be no gap. There was a gap & I felt as if my new wife and I were in two different rooms on the 6th night of our marrriage. The room was secluded, clean & romantic but - in order to get to your car - you had to walk up stairs, down stairs, up ramps around the front of the hotel - it took about 10 miinutes to get to your car - in a seeming effort to trap you at the facilty - in order to get you to eat at their restaurants and drink at their bars. The food of which - was mediocre at best. There was one exceptional dish during the night time buffet - everything else was tough and dry and tasteless. The free morning buffet was decent though. They provided us with 60 euros in free spa treatments - but the spa was closed on Sunday and all appts were booked on Saturday when we arrived and we were leaving on Monday. What kind of a spa resort is closed on Sunday? That was bizarre. The beach itself was nice enough - but considering how the resort seems to own the beach - I would have expected somebody to come around and take food and drink orders while we were on the beach or the pool for that matter. That never happened. Also - they didn't have any raw seafood - oysters, clams, mussels - nothing - and this is supposed to be a beach resort. There were about 7 swimming pools on the site - but not one hottub or jacuzzi. Overall - it was quite a disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jersey CI

Nice - But lacking in the finer touches expected from a 5 Star

Posted Sep 27, 2010
We have just come back, from a weeks holiday. Overall a very good standard of hotel/service, lovely modern decor throughout. Lovely pools, and amenities within the complex. For a 5 star hotel I was disappointed that the small touches such as slippers/ robes, good quality toiletries were not on offer at this hotel, within the standard of room we booked. Easy access to beach, for all age groups. Very safe general neighbourhood, although the area is slightly run down/basic. However, this can only be expected from an Eastern European country. A nice chance to step back away from our modern world. One comment of negativity would be the immense amount of Smokers/Smoking that was occurring in the hotel and the area as a whole. Fine if you are a smoker, but as non smokers I have to admit it did put a dampner on our trip due to the fact you could never get away from the passive smoke around you, especially when eating in the restaurants. A lot of the smoking was undertaken by the restaurant staff/shop staff in the local area. All in all we had a lovely trip, and it was just what we wanted - to sunbathe and do nothing but relax. However if you were staying longer and wanted to do more, I would recommend hiring a car or staying in a different area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florence, SC

Excellent fcility great value.

Posted Sep 22, 2010
I have traveled Greece extensively usually staying at top star facilities and speak the language. I must say Candia Maris was one of the best if not the best facility I have stayed in Greece and definitely the best value. Everything from the staff to the rooms and meals met or exceeded my high expectations. Surprisingly nice and private beach for a morning or evening stroll. It's a winner! I wish the new owner (also founder) great success with it. It deserves it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Will back for sure

Posted Sep 1, 2010
Very good hotel, staffs and amazing food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

First Class Hotel in every way.

Posted Jun 15, 2010
The hotel was excellent. I've stayed at a number of 5 star beach-fronted hotels before, but this was the first one to fully live up to the 5 star label. Quality and attention to detail was clearly evident in every way. If you're looking for somewhere to relax and unwind then you wouldn't go wrong here. The only downside would be the local area. It's not bad as such, but does lack any character and has a distinctly low-end touristy feel to it. Crete has some exceptionally picturesque seaside towns, and this certainly wasn't one of them. That said, if you have a car then its not hard to find your way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A truly five star hotel. Would certainly return if ever visiting Crete again

Posted Jun 10, 2010
Really excellent hotel for a relaxing beach/pool holiday. Close to Heraklion and Knossos and other interesting archeological sites. If using a hire car, roads are good to various parts of the Island. Taverna restaurant on the beach and Hotel restaurant both found to be fully up to the standard one would expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great Crete Resort

Posted Oct 14, 2009
Stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. Stayed in the Bungalow suite which was very nice. Long walk to main hotel section, but overall stay was excellent. Beds and pillows were not overly comfortable, but sufficient. Room was kept very clean and staff were very kind at all times. Private pool for bungalow guests only is quite cool, but very refreshing. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Very beautiful grounds and well maintained hotel rooms. Lounge is a great place for a night cap with live piano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Awesome!

Posted Oct 7, 2009
I was there for 5 nights and I was indeed impressed. Extremely clean, pools are great, staff is awesome (the waitress at the lounge bar specially) food is very good. Its right on a main street which sort of threw me off, but other than that... I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautfiul hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2009 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel on beach, great gym, spa, and breakfast. Big comfy moderns rooms. Good location on bus to city center