Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Fluteboy

Ok for a stopover

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Orbitz
Out of the way but ok if you're heading out elsewhere and arriving late
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by PaulinaK

Good value for money

Posted May 30, 2014 on Ebookers
I was there in middle of May and place was quiet empty, no children for me that was very important. Good, cheap connection to Heraklion centre by bus. Staff absolutely amazing, friendly Good value for money
2 out of 5
by paturner51

Not sure to stay here again

Posted Sep 11, 2012 on Orbitz
This hotel is not a THREE Star hotel. What kind of hotel does not change your linens, or towels and doesn't even provide soap in the bathroom during a two night stay? The room is small and essentially has two beds and no desk or sit down area in the room. Yes, the price was right but not impressed with this hotel at all. There was free wifi but only in the lobby. The breakfast was 5 euro per person and was not impressive at all. I had to promise my spouse we would not stay here again. Perhaps for a student on limited funds, yes but not grownups. Its a one star at best. The neighborhood, however, is nice to walk along and to visit all the shops and nicer restaurants and that might be the biggest incentive to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ladybug Z

Great place for a budget

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Orbitz
We stayed in this hotel for the second time, before the early flight out of Heraklion. It is only 15 minute drive from the airport, and 5-minute walk from the beach. Rooms are clean, air-conditioned. It has free parking. Restaurant is in in the hotel, with a nice, moderately priced menu. Staff was helpful. Even though we reserved a room for two, we were given a one-bedroom apartment with a kitchnet for the same price. It was just a very good deal. As for a mix-up with the other hotel, we too were sent to the wrong one by the service personnel of some resort place where we asked for the directions. The name of tthe place we stayed at is "Castro", the other one is in the center of Heraklion and named "Kastro". To be sure, just take highway 90 from the airport and go till Ammoudara exit. From exit take right, drive half a kilometer/kilometer, and at the light under the bridge make left. Go till the road splits in two and take the right one. After another 2-3 kilometers, on the left, there will be hotel "Castro".
2 out of 5
by Mum & daughter from eastbourne

Stay somewhere else!

Posted Jul 9, 2011
Be Warned - this hotel has three blocks - two newer modern ones at the rear by the pool & the original hotel which is on a very NOISY road. The rooms have zero soundproofing - we were kept awake by neighbours rowing, a baby crying in a room at the opposite end of the corridor, footsteps above, clattering below & traffic! Air con is next to useless, TV has greek channels only & if you open the balcony windows in the evening there are visiting cockroaches. Breakfast was variably adequate, cornflakes reliably stale. The staff were less than helpful + speak minimal English. On the plus side, the pool is nice, the location has a reasonable beach & bus service to Heraklion & airport stops right outside the hotel every 20mins - you have to buy tickets from a supermarket first though, you can't buy them on the bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

GREAT!

Posted May 27, 2010
Staff was friendly and kept our room clean :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

There are 2 Castro Hotels in Heraklion,

Posted Nov 13, 2009 on HotelClub
There are 2 Castro Hotels in Heraklion, went to the other one first so was expecting a more central location. Room was very small, shower so small hard to move w/o hitting fixtures, but all very clean. Some staff overly-attentive in a smarmy way, restaurant was very noisy until late at night and noise heard easily in room. Nice pool area. On main road, about 1 km from beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

would return

Posted Jun 21, 2009
hotel staff was friendly and helpful.. nice room and in general nice hotel...affordably priced.. would definately return ...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Göteborg

Horrible service

Posted Jun 17, 2009 on Hotels
Got overcharged and they could not even explain why. They could not even provide a receipt if cash payment. I am very disappointed and will never return there. Recommend everyone to stay away to avoid unpleasant surprises when checking out
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Not bad for budget

Posted May 6, 2009
Clean, good location to catch bus, and nice staff. Breakfast wasn't too bad either.