Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Lovely family run hotel with stunning view

Posted May 30, 2017
Spent a wonderful week at Creta Blue, lovely staff, amazing view, great food and a short stroll into the village with a great selection of restaurant and bars, highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Lewis, Scotland.

Incredible hotel I cannot speak highly enough of.

Posted May 15, 2017
We stayed in the Creta Blue for a week at the beginning of May 2017 and without hesitation I will recommend this hotel to everyone wanting to visit Crete. Location wise, you are 20-30 minutes walking distance of Hersonissos in which is a lovely town offering numerous restaurants, bars, shops and beaches with numerous activities available. Koutloufari is the village in which is beside the hotel and where we found ourselves a lot of our trip. An authentic Greek culture with amazing restaurants and a friendly, welcoming atmosphere everywhere you go. The hotel itself I cannot do justice. In my own personal experience, I have not experienced such a personal and welcoming hotel anywhere in Europe and I can see why they have returning guests as we shall hopefully look to be. You are made to feel comfortable with a view you can only dream of, in luxury rooms and exquisite food. The hotel is situated on top of a steep hill in which is not ideal but obviously if you want the best views, you need to be in the hills, overseeing the Aegean sea and looking down on Hersonissos and beyond. Totally worth it! We very much appreciated everything the hotel did for us, George was an absolute pleasure to deal with and would do anything to assist you or help you make your stay in Crete the best, along with the rest of the staff. I can only speak from my own experience but given the choice I would not even bother to look elsewhere when visiting Crete again, Creta Blue ticked every single box.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, England

Beautiful apartment suites with a view

Posted Apr 30, 2017
This pristine hotel is set on a hillside in koutouloufari, a small traditional village overlooking Hersonissos. The owner George and his staff are keeping the old ways of Greek traditional hospitality alive and Lavinia was the perfect hostess for a friendly, relaxed, delicious breakfast to set you up for the day. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff had a friendly smile for us whenever we met. Just two small words of warning! The suites are set on a steep hillside so if you have mobility issues I would suggest requesting some of the suites close to the pool which are more accessible. Also, if like us you hire a car from the airport and make your own way there the suites are found along a very narrow series of streets which can be difficult to negotiate even in a small car. We had to call George to come and find us and lead us to the suites as we would have struggled to find them otherwise. George, ever the most amazing host, came out straight away and found us lost in the middle of hersonissos. We had THE most relaxing stay in this quiet, friendly area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Georgios Roussakis Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rick&Jenny, Thank you so much for your good words. I am happy that you have enjoyed your holiday and for warning our future guests to let us know in case they have mobility issues. I hope that you will visit us again in the near future! Have a lovely summer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely break

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice stay with fantastic views down to the sea. We were at the top of the complex which involved a very step walk up to the apartment. Not for the elderly or infirm. Hersonissos was not to our liking as akin to Benidorm and the beaches were awful however a short drive away are fantastic beaches so all was not lost. Koutouloufari village where Creta Blue hotel is far exceeded our expectations and had plenty of bars and wonderful restaurants. George and his staff at Creta Blue were warm and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

small relaxing hotel in a lovely village

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Charming, relaxed, simple feel
Cons: Breakfast-fruit quality&selection.Individual fresh coffee cafetieres rather than stewed flasks.The bathroom needed updating.
Location: Lots of fabulous restaurants in the village. The beach at Vai was lovely - a long drive though. Plaka is lovely also.
A truly relaxing small hotel where the staff (including the owner) were so friendly and helpful. Clean, simple and basic but everything you need for a relaxed feel. 20 minute walk down to the beach where there are some nice bars and restaurants. (We went in September but I can imagine that in the height of summer it gets very busy and there is a strip of bars etc which we avoided.) The 2 minute stroll into the village where there were so many fabulous eateries. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. My only negative comments about the hotel are perhaps the breakfast would be improved - disappointed with the fruit selection (and sometimes quality) and the coffee was awful! Perhaps individual cafetieres of coffee would be a simple solution. Perhaps also the bathroom could be modernised - a little dated and tired looking. Overall I came away from a week of sitting by the pool feeling very relaxed. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel.. away from all the bustle

Posted Sep 15, 2016
We had a very peaceful week here. The staff are v friendly especially the ladies in the bar/restaurant. Lovely views from balcony and pool. Perfect if u want to get away from it all but be close enough to a small village with plenty of tavernas and gift shops in the evening to explore
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel- great views and great staff

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Great hotel in a fabulous location. Staff very friendly and helpful Close to beautiful village if Koutouloufari
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Simply splendid

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Simply splendid. The characteristic of individual doors and patios to almost all rooms give the privacy and luxury and privacy of a villa.
The Creta Blue has a majestic setting on the hillside overlooking the coast. The serenity of the location and the magnificent views is only excelled by the warmth of the staff in this family run business. Having arrived at 01:30 to be greeted by two friendly staff who offered bottles of cool water and assisted with luggage was just the start. The staff from cleaners to Georgious the manager were all excellent, friendly and professional, but in a casual manner.. This hidden gem of this hotel is a superb restaurant with a wide variety of choice and "Helena's specials"- just start at the top of the menu and work down is my recommendation! Everything is delicious. The rooms are well presented with all the required essentials and some little extras such as a fridge which makes all the difference. Beds and linen were regularly changed and the rooms were spotless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by Georgios, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comments its really appreciated!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Lovely hotel set away from the main town but close to walk to everything. Hotel staff were very accommodating and welcoming. Would definitely recommend to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels