Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from UK

Fluffumses!!!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The view is amazing, the garden area is very well kept, nice pool area with a bar. The location is excellent. Cats!!!
Cons: The rooms do not meet 4 star criteria in my book, the beds could use better mattresses
Location: The location is great, there is a supermarket and a bakery right next door, lots of great local restaurants and cafes. relatively close to the beach.
We've arrived at the hotel during midday and as such had no trouble checking in. The staff was very pleasant and showed us around the whole complex. Fortunately we had an amazing view from our rooms, which is not the case for all villas. The rooms themselves were of basic standards, hardly fitting for a 4 star resort. However last thing we wanted to do is spend our entire holidays in a resort so it did not bother us so much. The next morning we gotten an amazing surprise - kittens!!! The whole island is swarming with stray cats but as soon as we opened the doors in the morning we were welcomed by curious young cats. Quickly we went to the supermarket and bought some cat food and pretty soon we had a whole group of cats to play around with. I haven't seen them being very intrusive so unless there is a sound of cat food rustling in your room, they should leave you well alone, but for us it was a massive treat to care for all those cats. One minor inconvenience we've encountered was that even though we requested one double bed, we had two single ones. The receptionist said that this did not show on their end and it was only a request which the hotel did not have to meet, which I've found a bit unprofessional, however he was very keen to sort us out the next day, as the hotel was fully booked, no hard feelings. Overall this was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a fair-priced hotel in a very good location and a must if you love cats
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

stunned that this hotel has such great reviews

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I booked this accommodation, on a combination of value for money and the positive reviews on Expedia from previous guests. We arrived in the early hours of the morning to find that our room was 'unavailable' due to an electrical fault but our room would be ready by about 10am, we were put up in the hotel next door, in a room that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months (lots of dust/grime) with no working aircon. After a couple of hours of no sleep, we returned to Galaxy. Our room was not ready, so they offered us breakfast. Not the best, but as described, a basic continental offering. Room was finally ready by midday. We were given a villa that was situated underneath the sun lounge area. Because of our inconvenience, we were given free aircon (usually an €8 per night charge), a free room safe (€15 for that week) and free breakfast. We didn't use the free breakfast after the first day. It's fair to say a this point that the manager (?) Dimitris, was really helpful and tried hard to sort out these initially issues. Despite the 'electric issue' I must admit that the cynical side of me fees that there was a guest still in the room and that it was in fact double booked over that 24 hr period - but I must stress, I have no facts to base this on. Other issues were the fact that the pool is very small. Not an issue in itself, but there is nowhere near enough space around the pool for sunloungers to accommodate enough guests. room was cleaned and towels replaced once in a week
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent hotel, great location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, facilities, location, the accommodation itself. Its in an excellent location and is so peaceful. Totally relaxing
Cons: Our flight was late. There is a mobile number to ring if there is no one at the hotel to check in as there is not a 24 hour reception.
Location: Location is in excellent in the village of Koutouloufari. This is up in the mountain from Hersonissos. Its very pretty and there is plenty there to do
From the outside this hotel doesn't look much, however once you are inside this is a different story. Hotel staff are excellent, the gardens are excellent, the apartment was excellent, spacious with two balconies, plenty of facilities, built in safe plus free air conditioning. The gardens are lovely and it is so peaceful there. It is located in a beautiful village in the mountains where there are plenty of good quality restaurants. The only downside to the hotel is if you have difficulty walking. It is situated on a mountain and therefore there are quite a few steps to navigate, this did not affect us but could other guests. Overall we have had an excellent holiday and the accommodation made a significant difference.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Manchester

Excellent!

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We absolutely loved our stay at Galaxy Villas, the village of Koutoulafari has plenty of amenities in the local area (I strong suggest a visit to Alex & Christines Meze a few minutes walk away and Global Sports next door which is surprisingly great for food and drink), the actual complex and villas were both clean and comfortable although we had a few issues when we first arrived (limescale in the kettle and oven wouldn't work, but both of these were replaced with brand new units the next morning!), the staff were helpful and incredibly polite. Overall we would return although it would be nice if the wifi worked (we had issues with it multiple times in the reception area just plain not working) or if the rooms had internet access, or at least the TV had more than 3 very basic channels (2 in another language and CNN in english). We paid very little per night (around £10-11) and genuinely cannot grumble at this price, I'd say it was a fantastic stay!
5 out of 5
by Sean from dublin

relaxing/quite

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Quite village location, very peaceful and relaxing, good selection restaurants/bars. Apartments excellent very clean with well kept pool/gardens. Staff excellent manager Demitri extreemely helpfull and pleasant why cant all hotel managers be like this. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place - staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Janet from Tacoma, WA USA

Hersonissos - a nice quiet place to relax!

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was very nice and the suite was very nice. I will definately stay here again on my next visit to Crete. I really enjoyed the company of the cats!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luke L.

Lovely

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Orbitz
This was a very nice place to stay. A nice pool, a lovely breakfast each morning, decent parking options, and friendly staff. It's a big place and could accomodate a large family, or just a couple as well. I would come back here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Authentic

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel. It has the kids beds upstairs and our room downstairs. Also beautiful view from the above room and great neighborhood.
4 out of 5
by Svein from Norge

Highly Recomended

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Had a nice 1 week stay at Galaxy Vilas Very friendly welcoming staff can assist you with luggage shows you to your room. Remember to ask for the remote control of AC as this is not in the apartment Rooms. The apartments are not renewed in a while and is a little old fashioned but charming there are cleaning every day. There are an ok refrigerator and oven so you can prepare the food you want for yourself. Bring or buy div. anti-repellents as there are some mosquitoes. (This is common in Greece) The best thing you can do is buy the containers that you put in hitch contacts the functioning best. Available in the little supermarket across the street from the hotel Beautiful location, The hotel is nicely placed great readily available pool. Smallish sometimes when there are many guests to swim but it goes mostly okay. Fin Garden as they maintain with their own gardener Be early morning view you want sunbeds as they soon get busy Located in a VERY cozy area with many restaurants around if you come late, we recommend tavern just before the hotel, good service and good food. Otherwise it was Taverna Galini that really stood out with best service and food quality remember when you think there is an end to small retail and taverns it is often many more around the next bend (-: Finally Recommend a stay at the Hotel Galaxy Villas You will most likely be very pleased with the stay When we are going back to Hersonisos we know where to book again!