Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant design yet practical and comfortable

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Room with a view that carries all the rest. Excellent bed. Bathroom midget. Dining fairly good, staff excellent. Check in slow and impersonal, check out the opposite. Location 100%. Design elegant yet practical and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoy the place a lot. The beach is in the back side, we can go to swim anytime. The foods are great. Our whole family had a great time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent location, fantastic beach, great staff!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location, Design, Beach, Staff, Food
Cons: Small swimming pool
Location: Very nice area with beautiful restaurants, bars, mince beaches and very close to archaeological sites and museums
I have stayed in Golden Beach Hotel during my road trip in Crete. The location is just perfect in the heart of Hersonissos just a few mins walk from all restaurants and bars (very quiet though...) whilst the Hotel has recently been totally refurbished. The staff is very friendly and the design of the hotel fantastic (great lobby and seating area!) with nice rooms. The Hotel is located on a very nice sandy beach (less than 10 meters away from the hotel with beach beds and umbrellas. The bar was nice (try the cocktails!) and the food too. Hotspot is the unlimited sea view from the roof (there is a small swimming pool too). Strongly Recomended!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely staff and service, however....

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: As i said the staff are lovely, despite all i have said previously, we had a nice relaxing break and were looked after well.
Cons: See above for improvements
Location: Star beach is 10 minutes away for water sports and activities. Shopping on your doorstep, literally.
The hotel location was good, near to the beach (all be it a very small beach shared with 2 other hotels) bigger beaches you are a 10 minute walk one way and 20 minute walk the other way (we only discovered this on our last day but this is the nicest) Hotel is close to buses. The staff very very polite, helpful and efficient, however there were a couple of reasons why the 4* rating is too high. All inclusive finishes at 10pm, which is too early on a nice summers evening when you want to stay in the hotel to relax and have a drink, the mixers used with the drinks are only cordial type squash, there isn't any fruit juice at all, even at breakfast. We resorted to buying freshly squeezed juice at a supermarket 5 minutes walk away (turn right out of the hotel and look for the one that has stairs going down, a bargain at 1 euro for 500ml) We were disappointed that there's no pool or beach bar, no doubt this keeps costs down for the hotel as it's a pain to have to leave the beach to walk around and back inside the hotel to get a small plastic cup of drink, from the pool you have to go from the top of the hotel to the ground floor, we tended to buy bottles to take out with us... more expense. The pool also isn't suitable for young children as it is 6ft deep throughout and doesn't have hand rails so no where to grab on to the sides, the only rails are on the stairs. The food was good and changed every day, what you would expect from a 3* all inclusive though not the 4* listed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Search elsewhere

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
Not worth the money, the lobby is nice and that's it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth australia

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Very unimpressed for the price. Small room,vomit smell behind the single bed against the wall-apparently they use strong cleaner product!! shower as small as cruise bathroom. Dble bed very uncomfortable. Black hairs left on the floor which made it feel dirty.don't think the floor was swept in the 3 days. Air con unit on Balcony made it very squishy and extremely hot with the heat blowing onto you. Buffet in long dining room small balcony to eat out in- inside smelt because no air flow. Staff friendly and helpful. Charge €2.50 per day for in room safe. No privilege access to the beach in front of hotel, must pay €4 for lounge beds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food Disgusting!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The only good thing about the hotel was that it was near lots of other restaurants (& coffee shop) to eat/drink in.
Cons: The chef needs to be sacked and the whole restaurant menus etc need to be improved.
Location: Location is handy for Star beach, which has some nice pools, because the hotel roof pool is tiny. Easy to get bus to nicer sandy beaches elsewhere.
We were very disappointed to say the least. We could not understand the star rating given. We booked all inclusive but the food was disgusting, very "school dinner-like". We had to eat out for nearly all our meals, so the cost of our holiday was considerably more than we anticipated. Our room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. Pool towels (very tired/old) were extra and hotel beach sun beds chargeable. The free drinks and cocktails were vile. The saving grace was that many of the staff, particularly Mary on reception were very helpful. Rooms were kept very clean. Luckily we did find some very good restaurants nearby and a really lovely coffee shop opposite the hotel, that did delicious fresh coffee and fresh orange juice (cheaper than hotel).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Hotel could do better

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Could not get upgrade hotel room could be cleaner. Staff were generally pleasant . Would not stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from scotland

Very nice clean hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Just came back from our stay at the golden beach hotel. The hotel staff where so friendly even when we arrived at 0.30am.. They told us that we had been upgraded to a full sea view room even though we only paid for a partial sea view. This hotel is right on the beach and out balcony had fantastic beach views which caught the sun all day long. Food was average..but the hotel let us swap inclusive dinner for lunch so we could go out at nighttime. Pool is small but nice and quiet for relaxing. Maids where very nice and even offer to come back later in the day if you want a lie in or afternoon nap. Overall room was very clean and lovely bathrooms.. Can't complain.