Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central, comfortable hotel at reasonable price

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Stayed 2 nights at Kastro Hotel at the start of our Crete holiday. Central location with everything at close reach. Room is very comfortable and clean. The breakfast is amazingly rich for Mediterranean standards. Staff super hospitable. Nothing to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Amazing hotel Completely renovated room was very nice Modern contemporary look Breakfast nice but can be improved with more variety Great location walking distance from port and bus station if you don't have much luggage Fantastic place We would love to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great hotel, close to the bus station

Posted Jun 25, 2017
The staff were lovely, the room was very comfortable and clean, the breakfast included in the room rate was great - I have Celiac Disease and I found somethings to eat! The hotel is located near the coast, and close to the bus station - where you can catch buses to all the destinations on Crete! I would for sure go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Papageorgiou, Hotel Management
Dear Mr./mrs We trust you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your custom, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We would be delighted if you would consider us as your home away from home, your Heraklion base. When planning your next visit to Heraklio Crete, please feel free to contact a member of the team at The Kastro Hotel who will be happy to assist you with your reservation. We thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel soon. Kindest regards, G. Emm Papageorgiou
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Satisfactory, quite central.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Good central location near to various facilities
Cons: TV stations only in Greek. Sky or anything in English would be helpful.
Location: Middle of town location, yet near enough to the coast. Shopping and bars and restaurants nearby.
Rooms very comfortable. Good breakfast, friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Tural

Nice, clean, new, comfortable, friendly staff.

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Not the best view from a window (at least from the room we have gotten), but overall it was very nice hotel with very helpful staff. I have liked it a lot and will stay there again if ever in the town (of course, if the price will be still good).
4 out of 5
by Allan

Our Cretan adventure

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at Kastro for 9 days. It is really well located in Heraklion being walking distance to the museums, Venetian fort, cafes and restaurants and nightlife. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and modern. I suggest to visitors that you ask the staff where the authentic restaurants are as they are often hidden away and not easy to find. There are hundreds catering to tourists tastes but not so authentic
5 out of 5
by anramp from Pune

Excellent option

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Kastro is a business hotel very close to Heraklion city centre. Very good value for money, very helpful staff. Decent breakfast options.
5 out of 5
by A

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Met all our are needs and expectations would come again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay in a beautiful city. Centrally located, helpful staff, convenient parking nearby for our rental car. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great hotel with an excellent price and location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We spent only one night here but were very pleased with the service, cleanliness and location. Upon our arrival, we were greeted immediately and when we asked for a recommendation for dinner, were directed to an excellent and delicious restaurant 1 block away. The beds were a bit firm for me, but the room was clean and the balcony had an ocean view. The hotel is in very easy walking distance of the harbor as well as the market area with many shops and restaurants. The included breakfast was tasty and better than most continental breakfasts. There isn't any street parking or place to pull in for loading/unloading but this is pretty common in Crete, and it wasn't a problem for us as we didn't have a rental car. It was about a 15 euro taxi ride from the airport.