Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Lovely hotel set in lovely gardens.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Very positive. Staff very friendly and went out of their way to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire, UK

Nice hotel and wonderful staff

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff
Cons: Better selection of cereals for breakfast.
Location: About 15 minute walk from the start of the town, which stretches to the harbour which is about 2 km away. Regular buses available.
We arrived late at night and were offered a family room rather than the two rooms initially booked, which we accepted. Throughout our stay the staff were extremely helpful and polite. We were half board. Both breakfast and dinner are a buffet style with plenty of choice. Breakfast is mainly continental style which seems to favour the many German guests but there was also a choice of hot food, toast and pancakes. There were salads and soups for starters each evening meal, around 10/12 choices of dishes and various desserts for evening meals - a simple help yourself arrangement. Drinks ordered and paid for separately. The swimming pool is large but not a gentle shelving, the shallowest end being over a metre. There was entertainment of some description 6 nights of 7. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the town and about 5 minutes from the nearest area of beach, via a short cut. Rooms are kept very clean and tidy but beds could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands, England

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: All staff were passionate about their work and welcoming their guests.
Cons: Personally missed weetabix cereal, that's all.
Location: local buses are great to use, conductors very helpful wherever you want to go. Agios nikalos and Heraklion are great places for markets and shopping.
The king Minos hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. Great location, staff friendly,helpful and do best to make their guests welcome. Food excellent, cleanliness excellent everywhere. Would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
by John & Chris from York U.K.

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
It was our first time in Crete, myself my wife and our daughter, we had booked a sea view for ourselves and a garden room for our daughter, however on arrival we had been allocated a 2 bed "suite" overlooking the tennis court for our "convenience", we immediately pointed out that this was not the room configuration we had booked and the suite only had one bathroom and no wardrobe in the second bedroom. The receptionist consulted the manager and we agreed to stay in the suite for the first night, the following morning our luggage was transferred to a lovely sea view room (No 407) for my wife and i and a first line sea view bungalow for our daughter (No 711), i appreciate that mistakes do happen but the important thing is how issues are dealt with, and in this case we were more than happy. The courtesy of the Hotel staff and the meals they provided was absolutely faultless, during our week there we had a day in Santorini (a long day, but well worth the effort) and the remaining time around or in the amazing pool. The surrounding area is tacky, and i`m sure there are more scenic resorts, however for a week the Hotel fulfilled all our requirements. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super hotel, very much recommended

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Cons: Our room overlooked the pool, which meant that any evening activities would impede an early night.
Location: About 30mins from the airport [35euros by taxi]. Better beaches can be found a driving distance away, although you can walk to one.
Staff were delightful, all spoke excellent English. The day we checked out, our flight was not until the evening: they provided a room for us to get changed/showered that evening before our flight. Food was excellent, we just couldn't stop eating. In fact, having arrived late the first day and missed dinner, they offered us a lunch during our stay! Pool was lovely Room very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from London

nice hotel in Hersonissos

Posted Oct 14, 2012
Pros: swimming pool
Cons: paying for water and wifi
I recently spent a week at the King Minos Palace: it's away from the hustle and bustle of the main street, yet not too far that you can't walk there. The hotel itself is nice and well maintained. I'd strongly advise you avoid rooms starting with a 3 (which for some reason are on the 0 level;-) as they are located right below the dining room: not so much a problem in the evening, but very noisy with tables and chairs from 7am for breakfast... The food was nice, buffet style, and varied. You have to pay for your drinks even if you selected the half board option: I dont mind paying for soft drinks and wine, but I thought paying for water was really cheap of the hotel...The swimming pool is big, clean and cold, with lots of sun loungers and a small pool for kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fine family hotel near Iraklion airport

Posted Sep 4, 2012
We stayed one night only en route to a house rental. Very nice place. Great staff, all inclusive type resort. Near beach with a great pool. Geared for families including an evening magic show for kids. Buffet meals were varied and well prepared
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from United Kingdom

Great trip

Posted May 14, 2012
Pros: The food was amazing! There is something for everyone.
Cons: The walk into town.
Location: The location is great but a 15 minute walk into town. Not really bad at all and very quiet.
I'm a single male of 28 years of age that likes to have a good time (party at night) but also relax (during the day). I was traveling by myself for 5 days. The hotel was quiet because it was the beginning of the season. The pool area very clean, big and beautiful. The night life didn't start until around 12am and went till about 4-5am on most nights. Most of the clubs are very small but have great staff and annoying people outside trying to lure you in. This hotel is around a 25 minute cab ride(40 Euros) and a 50 minute bus ride(3-4 Euros) to the Herakilon airport. Hope this helps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandy from Long Island, NY

Comfortable Resort Great Service

Posted Aug 17, 2011
The people at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful from the front desk, to the dining room, to the chambermaid, all the staff were terrific. Our package included breakfast and dinner and the food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Very good option in Crete

Posted Jul 6, 2011
The King Minos Palace is a very good option in Crete, for the price. The service was great, the food was very good, and it is a very nice location. There were only two points to make: (1) the access to the beach from the hotel requires you to go under a small underpass below a road, as well as a good amount of stairs, so you need to take that into account; (2) the beds are rather hard, which works for some, but a nicer bed would be good. Considering that hotels directly on the beach with 5 star ratings cost twice as much, the King Minos is a really good deal. The breakfast and dinner were included (without drinks), and that was a great deal considering the high quality of the buffets. The service was always great.