Ratings based on 599 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but breakfast not to my taste

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Rooms
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Heraklion a lovely city, everything is within easy reach including shops and the archaeological museum
The room was lovely, spacious with lovely decor. The breakfast didn't suit me though, the bacon was flabby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

One Night

Posted May 21, 2017
I only stayed at the Lato for a night, but it was very enjoyable! The staff was kind and helpful. The room was clean and stylish. The location seemed to be in an easy area (was a short ride from the port and to the airport, I was also able to walk easily to the Fortress).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice front line hotel with sea views

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Highlight definitely the breakfast offering British, Greek and continental options all washed down with freshly squeezed orange juice and hot drinks.
Cons: Somewhere to sit out with a book to enjoy the sunshine if not possible in bedroom.
Location: Central hotel with many shops, markets and restaurants nearby. Easy walk to harbour and Venetian fortress and the archaeological museum a short walk.
Visited Lato Hotel as a last minute three night city break to find some sunshine! Nice hotel with many rooms having sea views over the harbour and Venetian Fort. Operates from hotel building and a high quality annexe opposite. Only problem - which is totally unavoidable - is the best rooms with sea views have to face north so little sun on the small balconies and with no pool we had to go out to find sunshine. There is a lovely restaurant on the rooftop which is well worth a visit and delightful ladies running a small spa onsite. All staff were delightful from the room maids to reception staff, always polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend Lato Hotel, Heraklion, Crete!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Convenient location to access most places ..

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Convenience to and eateries
Location: Walk around to explore.
When I booked It was for two Pax, when received confirmation saw one pax. I amended it to two and paid for the room rates. Even when I checked in with two persons they didn't mention of any extra charges. When I checked out, I was asked to pay for the additional person for three nights. So beware when you book and ensure the correct no of pax before you commit. With the additional cost I could have got a better hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Nice hotel by the harbour

Posted May 7, 2017
Room is very clean and their breakfast buffet is superb!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to bus station.

Posted May 7, 2017
The rooms are not very big, but the location of the hotel is rather convenient as it is within walking distance to the town centre. Some welcoming snacks in the room too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent well placed small hotel.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Good location. Helpful staff. Roof top restaurant.
Room at front had excellent views over the harbour. Staff were friendly and efficient. We ate twice in the rooftop restaurant and also had very good breakfasts. Would thoroughly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Modern hotel close to centre and port

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Room was modern, clean and had a great view of the Venetian Fort. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The hotel is located in a great spot and is very comfortable.I would recommend it to anyone going to Crete.We used Panos from Tour Experts to get around and had a wonderful trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect location close to the port and old town

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, service, food.
Cons: Nothing specific
Location: Venetian fort, city walk, fountain.
We had a one night stay at the Lato. Perfect location allowing us to easily walk around the old city and then to the port in the morning for a short walk to our ferry. My only advice would be to ask for a room on an upper floor for more privacy, even though the room was quiet. Also, recommend to book a table and eat in the roof top restaurant. Book a table overlooking the port. Prices are reasonable. Food and service excellent. Lovely views over the Venetian fort and harbour.