Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from summerville, sc

Staff goes out of the way to help!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The kindness of the staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is very central to everything and Hotel easy to find.
The staff here, especially those ladies at reception are incredibly kind. My son became ill while here and the only thing he could think of that he could eat was chicken soup. When I asked if they knew where I could find some, they called the kitchen, had them thaw a chicken and make the soup which they delivered to out room! It was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evans, United States of America

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Cons: Wall color in the room.
Clean, large deck looking to the water, good value for amount charged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dumont, New Jersey, USA

Where to stay when in paradise

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: My wife and I spent two lovely nights at the Lato Boutique Hotel, conveniently located just steps from the Heraklion market area and close to everything one could want. I requested a balcony suite and we were pleasantly surprised with candles, rose petals on the bed, and light background music upon our entry. What better way to set the tone for a romantic weekend. Our dual balconies (one with small table and two chairs) overlooked the harbor and one can spend an entire day watching the boats enter/exit. Staff is super friendly and helpful. The day of our arrival was a local religious holiday and most of Heraklion was closed. We urgently needed to change US dollars for Euros so they made a few calls for us and found us a place within walking distance of the hotel. Given the location and super-friendly staff, I will certainly return.
Cons: While the rooftop restaurant was absolutely lovely with beautiful views of the harbor, the prices were moderately higher than other restaurants in the area (without a view). But, lovely none the less and I suggest trying it once.
Location: Mini-Mart right next door for late nite purchaes. 4 blocks (5min walk) to Heraklion market area where you can find clothes, cafes, restaurants, etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon UK

Excellent staff good breakfasts,good position

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Well positioned for visiting Heraklion. Rooms kept spotless, clean towels good shower soaps etc Restaurant was excellent staff very helpful and the food and wine were both of a high standard. The view over the port and fort was superb.
Cons: The only minor niggle was we could have done with a sunbed on the enormous balcony.
Location: Right in the town, five minutes walk to most of the sights, including hop on hop off bus stop,and excellent fish restaurants.10 mins to archeological
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Friendly and well run hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
The Lato hotel is very conveniently placed for transport around the island, close to the port and bus station A. It is also only a short walk to the wonderful archaeological museum of Heraklion. Rooms are a good size and comfortable, although those facing the street are a bit noisy. Breakfast is excellent and there is a nice, if pricey, rooftop restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful, even at the end of the season when they must be tired. A recommendation if you are staying here, try the Veneto restaurant, just next to the hotel; it has great fish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Very nice. Close walking distance to everything . Clean but the room we got felt like we were in the basement
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay there. Perfect location, right near the bus station and the town. Amazing staff at the front desk always there to help. Looked forward to waking up every day to the delicious breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
good for what it is. decent not too pricey recommend to friends small room though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Lovely hotel close to town and ferry terminal

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: As above, it was a great choice and location near the road to Knossis and the main highway, yet was quiet. Being close to the ferry terminal was great
We enjoyed a room with a view. Staff were extremely helpful, especially parking the rental car on our return from touring, as they are very narrow streets. The food was great, lots of breakfast choices and dining in the rooftop restaurant gave superb views while enjoying an excellent meal. All the staff were friendly and helpful. A very convinced place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Hotel with great views

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to Port and bus terminal, great breakfast selection.
Cons: Booked a double room, but price only allows for 1 adult. Had to pay 15 eur for wife. Normally all double rooms allow for 2 adults.
Location: Local restaurants are great with a variety of delicious food. Never pressured to leave with friendly attitudes.
Hotel is located close to Heraklion city restaurant areas and port. As there are no swimming beaches at port, hotel is close to bus terminal, which takes you to beaches for the day. Bus system is very easy to use. Views from hotel are great, but must put up with planes regularly taking off. Overall very nice hotel and central to many activities.