Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever

Posted Nov 2, 2016
If you want to visit this hotel after september month, then prepare to be without any breakfast, without any room service, without any reception desk, without any hot water, without any heating and Empty swimming pools even when the water is still hot. All you will get is a key to your room and then you are on your own.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greece

Embarrassing

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The bed was big. The pool was nice.
Cons: Everything update everything stop doing cheap and make customers happy. Buy some new towels and get a good plumber. Update the bathrooms
Location: Location is great if u have a car... I'm not one to catch buses
Upon arrival I was told that my Reservation that I had paid for over Expedia for 4 nights for 3 people was only a room for 1. .. How do you make this mistake??? Didn't they notice that I had PAID for the more expensive room? The old man who runs the hotel was sarcastic about my booking and told me I'd have to pay extra.... I was only given one towel for three of us to shower with,... The room smelled like poo the whole time. I tried to spray perfume it never helped the drain pipes must be full of poo??? The rooms were dirty and sheets had stains. The bathroom was rusty and the hot water never worked. I got an apology from the daughter the next day in reception but she never agreed to giving me anything extra other than a baby pen for my 5 month old to sleep in. And the extra towels... Once again .... It wasn't the room I PAID for.... I also paid extra for breakfast 10 euros... What a joke... Atleast make breakfast worth waking up for. Fake ham and slices of cheese and bread.... Some cheap cereal and cheap milk. Cheap coffee and cheep juice... I ordered a hot chocolate and never got a receipt... I thought maybe it's free.... Then the waiter stopped me and told me to pay... I had invited my sister in-law to my room so that she could help me with my baby but once again I was treated like a 10 year old and was pestered by the reception that no guests were aloud in my room. They called my room twice to notify me of the rules. Over all quite embarrassed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by The Marirena hotel Team, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, thank you for your feedback because this way we are given the opportunity to improve our services. We indeed made a mistake on the occupancy of the room and we apologized as long as we spotted our mistake. The room you were accommodated though, was the room type that you booked, a double standard room and we offered you the baby cot free of charge as an apology for our mistake upon the arrival. We also believe that if you had faced any problem with the room (lack of towels, sheets with stains etc) you should have informed us and the problems would be solved immediately. We wish to be given the opportunity to visit us again and try to make your stay better. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
bigger rooms would be better. staff is generaly kind and helpful. prices are okay
5 out of 5
by Mrs Barbara J from Devon

Friendly & great value

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
We had a large family room, very comfortable. Very friendly staff. For the price, it was amazing value.It is on the bus route for the town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. you are always welcome to visit us any time you want. Kind regards, the Marirena Hotel Team
1 out of 5
by Panagio from montreal

worst stay in a hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Booked this hotel as it looked nice in the pictures and was rating 3 stars, according to my confirmation should be a double bed and a sofa in the room, surprisingly when i got the room was a very small room (second floor #221) that barely fit a double bed w/very uncomfortable mattress,the wifi that was suppose to have connection wasn't working in my room and unfortunately couldn't verify my confirmation (that should have a sofa also in the room)and what was even worst the tiny shower wasn't function and we couldn't take a shower and even though they had clean bathroom floor was still wet from leak in the toilet, doors are old and banging every time somebody from another room close the door we had to jump, needless to say we didn't sleep all night and next morning we went to breakfast to find a tray w/ few slices of cheese and few slices of cold cuts that is all as i turn around other guest mention that that is what they get every day, we had enough took our luggage and check out (we had pre pay for 3 nights and left after 1st night) they told us they will give us another room as they will not reimburse us but after the worst night we had we wouldn't stay there for anything, not sure how and who rates the hotels but this hotel from our part deserve no stars (maybe they have a few better rooms probably) but our experience was terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Panagio, we believe there was a big misunderstanding during your stay and we are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We still believe though, that if we were given the chance to reallocate you in another room and try to make the rest of your stay better, you would be happy and you would not have given us this negative feedback. We wish some time to be given the chance to change your mind. Kind regards, the Marirena Hotel Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT good experience at all.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: NONE
It was a horrible experience. The hotel is not what has been advertised and the management is very unfriendly. I never would suggest it to any one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by George Stamatakis, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we feel sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our premises. We believe that if you had mentioned to us any of your discomforts, we would be more than happy to assist you and make your holidays better. But you did not. We hope to give us a second opportunity and the chance to welcome you again. The Marirena Hotel Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decent hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel is nice, but this part of town isn't really that appealing in terms of quality of beach and things to do. hotel owner is very nice though. meal times are very strict, as if we want to plan our vacation around a strict breakfast time (between 8 and 9am only).
Comment from Hotel Management
by Pela Papadogiorgaki, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, next time you visit us we promise we will arrange many trips for you around Crete. We remain at your full disposal
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
Decent hotel in a rather boring area. There are more exciting areas in Crete. Owner is very helpful and kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2015 by George Stamatakis, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are always willing to advise our guests which places to visit, according to their needs. If you had told us, we would have arranged a plan for you! Crete is a place of hidden treasures! Thanks again for your nice words. The Marirena Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was wonderful. George and the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful during our stay. They were super accommodating, friendly, excellent drinks at the bars, and great recs for dining and activities. Great place for all, especially young people traveling on their own, safe neighborhood near the beach and restaurants. Only a 10 minute taxi ride to Heraklion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by George Stamatakis, Hotel Management
Dear guests, thank you for your nice words and we are happy that you had a good time in our hotel. You are always welcome to visit us again. Best regards, Marirena Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from france

hotel simple et propre conforme qualité prix

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: bonne literie , bon repas
Cons: au niveau des repas dommage qu il n y est pas plus de fruits surtout au petit dejeuner
Location: proche plage et rue animée avec plein de commerces
hotel simple et propre avec repas continental tres correct , je pense qu il faudrait parler de plat du jour (genre pension de famille en france) plutot que buffet qui evoque 1 grand choix(ce qui n est pas le cas= cependant lez plat est chaque jour different et bien cuisiné, le seul reproche ,pas trés chaud, il faudrait prevoir 1 micro onde
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Hotel Managment, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Marie, thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again! Kind regards