Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel 2 minutes from Matala Beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Great value hotel very close to Matala Beach. Good breakfast and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Good Hotel But.......

Posted Sep 1, 2010
It was clear from previous reviews that the majority of the clientele were European. Unfortunately this meant that a number of the, surprisingly, younger staff appeared to have difficulty when it came to either speaking or understanding English. Whilst this in no way detracted from our overall holiday it was irritating when trying to order drinks or snacks from the bar, especially as they appeared to be fluent in German, French and Polish. Beautiful town with wonderful sunsets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Fine for the price

Posted Sep 7, 2008
Clean, calm, cheap basic hotel with friendly staff.Mainly German guests so atmosphere was a bit lifeless but made for a quieter time which we prefer. We had the half board option which turned out better than expected. Although the ingredients were basic they were freshly and well cooked,though if your vegetarian there would be a problem. We only stayed 5 days and did not bother with other places to eat but there were many options within a short walk. For the little that we paid (bearing in mind the current low value of sterling)we thought it was a bargain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Food was dire

Posted Jun 5, 2008
Matala Bay is well located, has a nice swimming pool area and the rooms are relatively good - although the shower curtain was such that every time we showered, the bathroom floor filled with water. Included in the price of the room were breakfast and dinner, both of which (and most especially dinner) were almost inedible. Lots of guests brought their own coffee, jam, bread etc. to the breakfast room. We only ate dinner at the hotel twice, and both times it was a mistake. In fact, on the second occasion we rushed in just before "service" ended and were not even asked if we wanted anything to drink. The price of the holiday was very reasonable, but if you are at all bothered about the quality of food you eat, then budget in a bit extra for evening meals out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from West Sutton, Surrey

For a total stress free break, this is the place to go, will probably go back

Posted Jun 29, 2007
Hotel very clean, very impressed with the daily clean.Hotel staff very friendly,within easy walking distance to the village. The only downside was the pool bar wasn't open until my second week, probably due to not being peak season. Overall satisfied with my choice of hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Northwich, Cheshire

Excellent budget stay hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2007
My partner and I recently returned from a holiday in Crete where we stayed at the Matala Bay Hotel. Although we were very much in the minority as English guests, we very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is simple but very clean. The cleaning staff worked very hard. The management are very friendly and are very responsive to any request for assistance. The meals are quite basic, but the food is fresh and there is plenty of it. If you are looking for a budget holiday in the most beautiful of areas, then the Matala Bay would be an excellent choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Great Location!

Posted Sep 6, 2006
We truly enjoyed staying at Matala Bay Hotel! The value was excellent and the location can't be beat; a short 5 minute walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The hotel had free breakfast and dinner which, although simple and humble fare, was great, and it was very quiet and peaceful there. The only downside was the bathroom facilities could be improved; small showers and poor ventilation. I would definately stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bologna

Piccolo semplice albergo ok

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Semplice pulito personale disponibile e gentile semplice standard ma comunque il massimo disponibile a matala
5 out of 5
by Harald

Ruhige Lage, aber dennoch nahe zum Strand

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Das Hotel bietet für ein 2*-Hotel ein angemessenes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis. Hervorzuheben sind der gepflegte schöne Swimmingpool und das gute Frühstücksbuffet. Das Hotel ist fußläufig zum Strand und zur Einkaufs-/Restaurantzone Matalas. Wir haben uns sehr bei unserem 3-tägigen Aufenthalt sehr wohl gefühlt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels