Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Franklin A.

A OK trip

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Orbitz
We spend a week in Socrates, the hotel was within walk in distance to the beach. Local bars and restaurants were also within walking distance. The room was OK nothing else but needs some upgrade like a flat TV. The amenities were scarce and you had to ask for when needed, The reception desk recommended us to bring our own amenities for long stay. The breakfast and service in the bar restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

Nice relaxing place to stay in Malia

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool and bar area were quiet and relaxing
Cons: The room would benefit from more storage as 2 of our group of 4 had to leaves their clothes etc in their cases.
Location: Close to beach, shops and restaurants yet very quiet and pretty.
Our group of 4 'middle aged' ladies enjoyed our short break of 5 nights at the Socrates in early September. Good location, 10 mins walk to beach and restaurants. Although easy walking distance to 'the strip' ( most places were open, but they were pretty empty), the location of Socrates was so quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff on reception and in the bar which also served a lovely buffet breakfast. Our accommodation was a two bed appt with a double and twin beds. It was quite dated and storage was limited but it was very clean and the air con was efficient. This was our 3rd visit to Malia and we were very happy with our stay here. Would recommend for couples, families or groups of friends looking for a happy, relaxing holiday in the sun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a lads hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and the location is good if you want a quiet holiday because it's a very family orientated hotel, so not the best if you're going on a lads holiday (as we did). We used the cooking facilities in the room, but as the kitchen is in the same room as the bedroom it made the whole room smell of cooking food, which isn't too pleasant. The wifi is free but was very slow and kept on cutting out so was pretty useless. Overall despite those downsides if you want a family holiday and won't be cooking it is a very relaxing place to stay with nice staff and a gorgeous pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Hotel with beautiful views close to everything

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Staff are amazing and so friendly. The hotel is very relaxing close to both malia and stalis-within walking distance. Pool area is also great and has gorgeous views. Highly recommended. Only disadvantage is that the wifi connection was not very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Literally one of the best hotel within the region

Posted Jul 7, 2015
It's location is ideal. Placed between the sea and a beautiful mountain ranges
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff but poor bathroom facilities

Posted Jun 28, 2015
It was the perfect hotel for our group of 5 girls as its close enough to the strip but far enough away to not be noisy!
5 out of 5
by Emiliano

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice apartment and staff were very polite

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Welcoming and clean hotel and staff were very helpful. Lovely well organised beaches nearby. The rooms were cleaned everyday and towels changed. Beach
Location: Lovely Beaches, Jeep Safari, Caves and lovely views from the mountains, several near by islands to visit, Archaeological sites, 2 Water parks, etc
We arrived at our hotel late at night. It was after 22pm. We were all tired and we had booked an apartment with 2 rooms for 4 of us. We were welcomed at the reception and shown the map where we were and interesting sites near by. We were shown our apartment and were asked if we were happy with it. He sent 4 teas for us courtesy of the hotel. Whenever we had questions they were happy to answer and if they didn't have an answer they would find out for us and come back to us. Family oriented and quite resort. Family owned and all staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Mike from USA

Excellent choice for a quiet stay 5 min from beach

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Very good choice for a quiet stay 5 min from beach
4 out of 5
by Anna from NJ

In the heart of Malia

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
We had a nice 4-day stay at the Socrates hotel. The location is near a nice (if a little too busy for my taste) sandy beach and a five minute walk to all the restaurants. A little weird fact about the hotel is they do not provide any toiletries at all -- no shampoo, conditioner or shower gel. Our two-bedroom unit was clean and spacious, plenty of room for the family of four.