Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Pavels from Riga

Lovely boutique hotel in central Malia

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Beautifully designed for complete relaxation and perfectly located just 2 minutes away from the high street and the sea. Marina is one of the best hotel managers I've ever met, very attentive and supportive. Even strict house rules (no food or drinks at the pool) and temporary issues with Internet connection or hot water will not prevent us from recommending this hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb stay! must visit!

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Superb find. The hotel is a little gem in Malia area. It is quiet, the pool is clean, the room is neat and large. For the price, it is really a great stay. They also provide breakfast with extra charges in the morning or poolside drinks. Friendly staff. We will go back to this hotel when we visit Malia again.
2 out of 5
by Vix from London

Disappointed

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
Not a boutique Hotel, but small not well equipped apartments. Less a feeling of welcome, more of inconvenience. Hotels.com stated to pay on departure, but my card was demanded from me and processed, and I was ordered to key in my PIN. Rather put out as not even a hello had been uttered, I explained that it was usual to say you would rather someone pay up front rather than demand a card. I was spoken to very rudely. Not the usual Cretan welcome. The room was a disappointment and very dirty. The website photos had been carefully selected, and the bathroom was awful. Insufficient storage space meant I had to live out of my suitcase, and my things were ransacked every day. One day I was not feeling well, and I kept being disturbed by the “cleaners”. They kept laughing every time I asked them to leave as I was not dressed, and I found the whole experience very disturbing. It made me sad that at 5pm in the pool a small child was told not to laugh as the hotelier would be angry. It was not possible to have breakfast at a reasonable time. Basically, if I had not been forced to pay up front I would have moved to a proper hotel. Although, when I had an issue with my phone, the hotelier did allow me to use her laptop, but I wondered if this was because I could not get an internet signal in my room! Basically a collection of small apartments, lacking promised facilities, with an unwelcoming ambience, and although the grounds are quite pretty certainly not somewhere I would return to.
3 out of 5
by B. Kyle from London

A bit of an oasis

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel operates like a family-run organisation. Malia these days has been ruinously developed in strip-mall style. It mostly caters to quad-bikers, lap dancers and drunks, and could be anywhere, never feeling like Crete. This hotel is calmer and a bit better. Marina is the reason for this- a happy and hard-working manager. She has made this hotel a little oasis of calm in a desert of madness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from NZL

Amazing hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2013
This is a fab hotel in a perfect location - a few minutes walk to the beach and to shops and restaurants. The hotel is gorgeous. Huge and lovely rooms. It has a really nice pool area and bar. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by H. Elsa from Montreal

Excellent choice in Malia

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels
This is the best value for your dollar in Malia. The location is excellent and the hosts are friendly and helpful (thanks Marina!!!). The wifi doesn't always work well but they will imporve it soon and this seems to be a problem in all hotels in the Greek islands. In short, if you're going to Malia don't think twice SunVillage is #1
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
The owners treated me like a King. Whatever I needed that bent over backwards to make it possible. This hotel is more for relaxing and family but you are only a few minutes from all the restaurants and bars. Very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 9, 2013
SunVillage Hotel was one of the best hotels that I have stayed in. From the constantly available and friendly staff to the location of the hotel to dozens of restaurants, bars, and the beach, I couldn't have picked better lodgings for me vacation in Malia. When first arriving to Malia, my cab driver had no idea how to get to the hotel but a local was nice enough to lead us to the hotel and the receptionist let us check into our room hours before check-in because my friends and I were extremely tired from our ferry ride to Crete. We were shown several options for rooms that we could choose from, and experienced one of the smoothest check-in processes ever! Our entire stay at SunVillage was extremely peaceful and relaxing. All of the facilities were clean, and the other residents were very friendly and inviting. The hotel is located within walking distance from numerous restaurants, but tucked away perfectly from the main party street if one wants to get some sleep at night. I greatly recommend this hotel to any and everyone!
5 out of 5
by Dave M from Bristol

Peaceful and quiet

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels
Malia is a busy resort, no doubt you could end up in the wrong end of town and be disturbed by the hectic night life. Not so with this little gem, sufficiently far away from the madding crowds but close enough to the Dolphon beach, just 5 minutes walk across the road and of course easy access to the Malia strip with all the shops and bars. Old town is about 15 minutes walk using a route which avoids the busy areas. The hotel is really well maintained with a focus on keeping a fresh and modern/ boutique look and feel. Rooms provide ample accomodation space, they are very clean and have up to date facilities including kitchen area with cooker and fidge. Feels like a new hotel, lovely plants and nicnacs make it very homely. Pool is a good size. Marina is a great host and you get the strong impression the family care about their guests. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Miguel & Suzanna

An oasis in a busy area!

Posted May 7, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed one day on our honey moon at Marinas hotel, Sun Village, and were very good treated! The hotel is definetily a 4 star hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, everyone with their own theme. They have a nice view over the pool area and the beach. The bathroom is of high standard and the room has nice atmosphere. However, the beds are a bit stiff/hard. The pool area is really nice! its suited both for family's and for adults. It has a bar area next to the pool were you can order drinks and have your breakfast in the morning. We can really recommend the place. If you are family, make sure to go the beaches on the right side of the hotel, which are calmer and cleaner. The town is really busy and suited for youngsters who wants to party all day and night. We found a nice greek restaurant by the main road, Alexis. That's were the greeks go. It's good value for the money.