Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feel at home

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We stayed for 5 nights with our 2 daughters. Amazing location with panoramic views of Crete all the way to the sea (tip - get directions, don't just rely on Google maps). Stella and Stellios couldn't have been better hosts and made us feel at home the whole time. Breakfast was amazing. I hope we get the chance to come back some day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Homely resort in the hills

Posted Oct 10, 2017
A beautiful location with outstanding service. Like a home away from home. Stella and Stelios are the perfect hosts going out of the their way to make your holiday special. Everyday not only did they provide us with lunch and a lifts to and from the local village but they also returned with local produce or delicacies whenever they returned from their daily tasks. I took my mother for a surprise birthday treat and we were well and truly spoilt. Nothing but praise from us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Witney

Absolutely amazing.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Stunning room, every bit as good as the photographs. Personalised service, Stellios and Stella were perfect hosts and treated you like family, the staff too were fantastic. Amazing food at breakfast with a huge selection of fresh ingredients including a cooked dish prepared every morning and usually an extra treat to be taken away for later in the day. Good location for all corners of Crete.
5 out of 5
by Craig

Highly recommend - place to go and relax

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
We had the best stay at Vergis Epavlis. You could not meet better owners/hosts than Stelios and Stella - nothing was too much trouble. We are two adults and two children - their recomeendations were spot on, we ate at fabulous restaurants and most importantly relaxed. If you want down time this is the most scenic, quiet and peaceful place to go. Highly recommend. Car is essential if you want to explore/honour for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Thank you very much for your so kind words. hopefully will see you some time in the future. Warm regards Stelios Stella
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Our Shangrila

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Vergis Epavlis surpassed all our expectations. The location is idyllic and only 25 mins from Heraklion. The proprietors Stella and Stelios , welcomed us with heartfelt hospitality and made our stay unforgettable. As vegans we were catered for impeccably by the lovely Stella who was given a bit of a challenge but one that she rose to brilliantly. Freshly cooked breakfast each day with delicious local produce. The facilities enhanced our stay,our suite "The House of Angels" was stunning with amazing views from our private balcony. We loved the pool, again with amazing views and a perfect place to cool off and relax after a day of exploring. We will definitely return to this piece of paradise in a stunning mountain location in a beautiful and friendly village. The grounds contain so many different types of fruit trees also. Figs, Pommegrante, Plums, Lime, Lemon and Pear..all of which we were encouraged to take as much of as we want. My personal favourite was the Fig tree near the back of the swimming pool. All and all, a fantastic holiday in Crete. No hesitation in recommending this place. My first time in Crete but certainly not my last...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Stelios Stella, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your so kind words. hopefully will see you some time in the future. Warm regards Stelios Stella
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Not bad, but not a five star by miles

Posted Aug 8, 2017
There is lots to be desired. Internet was spotty at best, breakfast was very limited, showers were from the 80's, owners acted happy when we got there, when we paid and when we left. Lots of fake smiles. If you're looking for a five star, look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best Experience

Posted Jul 19, 2017
It is an amazingly beautiful villa, well maintained, tranquil and spacious, offering amazing view of the mountain. Mr Stelios and Mrs Stela, who are owners of the villa, are extremely welcoming and respectful. We had email correspondence before our arrival, and the responses are always prompt and helpful. The villa is located in a mountain village about 25 mins driving distance from Heraklion city center and from the airport. You do need a car to get around and in our case, we took taxi everywhere. My family went on holiday during high season in July, as we wanted to avoid the touristic crowd to have quality family time yet have good access to city center, the location was perfect for us and we were happy about the choice. In the morning the villa would offer great breakfast with organic home made food prepared by the hostess and during the evening, Mr Stelios would drive us to nice restaurants in the village and pick us up after the dinner. We stayed in the villa for 5 nights, and even went to Santorini for 2 days. We had such a wonderful and pleasant stay at the Villa. Many thanks to Mr. Stelios and Mrs. Stella make our stay unforgettable. We absolutely loved the place and would love to go back. See you soon! xxxx
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Stelios vergis / owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words We also thank you that you honored us with by stay in our premises. Warm regards Stelios
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

family run, friendly and flexible

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
This property is run by family and they are very nice and helpful. Its about 30 min drive from airport. Felt very homely and relaxed and they even allow us to stay as late as we like during checkout day. They gave us good reccomendation of local area and attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and relaxing luxury accommodation

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
A wonderful hotel (though in the UK we would call it a traditional Guest House) where the guests are made to feel like family friends. Our room (suite) was very large and despite being anew build contained plenty of character through the use of period furniture and decor. Breakfast was unique and homemade, which was a welcome relief from the predictable cheese, ham, and pastries on offer at seemingly all other hotels. The pool looked inviting however being late October it wasn't warm enough to use but can imagine in the warmer months being a lovely feature, swimming with panoramic views of the olive trees in the valleys. The location of the hotel is quite remote which is great for a restful stay however a rental car is pretty much a necessity as there is no local public transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Best 5 star experience in 20 years!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Close to Heraklion but far away from noise and pollution. Knossos palace was nice. Heraklion is 10 min drive. Horseback riding close.
This hotel is exceptional! The rooms were fabulous, the staff were more than attentive and the owners were simply generous and lovely. My wife and I have travelled extensively throughout the Caribbean and, as of late various locations in Europe only at 5 star hotels in the past 20 years. I can say without hesitation that Vergis Epavlis was by far the most accommodating and safe destinations we've been to. The owners not only helped us with directions and itinerary alterations but they invited us to a local feast at their friends home which was near the hotel. Cretan hospitality is something I read of but was not expected- these people really care about their guests! I have never once felt so secure to leave the room unlocked with our money and passports etc. It was simply the most outstanding 5 night stay we could imagine. Incredible view of Crete's largest city, absolutely quietest room and facilties. Possibly the most memorable stay we've had and this is no exaggeration!