Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Fascinating garden and wonderful hotel environment

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The hotel is amazingly well laid out creating a relaxing and peaceful feeling. This is assisted by the huge garden attached to the rear. Well trained and attentive staff made for a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gadsden, AL

Best hotel ever.

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: staff and facility
Location: close to San Rafael and a short drive to San Jose city center. Great grocery stores.
Good food, good drinks, great pool, great botanical garden. It is like staying at the Garden of Eden. I spent 10 days here in June and loved it. Great bed, I requested a bath tub and was upgraded to a garden view unit with a bath tub. I left most days at 9 and came back about 4, and was always greeted with a smile. Most folks didn't stay as long and there were numerous groups, seminars, and events held at this incredible venue. They did not bather me at all. I haven't mentioned the breakfast. Es muy bueno.
5 out of 5
by Rich

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. The best parts were the gardens, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the food. All of these get very high marks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Very nice people, the ro was cleaned everyday and things were always stocked. Cozy rooms and a very luxurious facility.
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Great gardens first class dining great staff very courteous and classy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on CheapTickets
The hotel is an oasis and a marvelous place to stay. It is like staying in a botanical garden. Food, staff, and surroundings were perfect. Thanks for a wonderful stay. CV
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FLORIDA

beautiful nature hotel over looking the city

Posted Mar 12, 2017
coming to the Bouganvillea for the last 5 years every 6 months,10 acres of beautiful nature gardens,best relaxing atmosphere,greatest staff and service from everybody in the hotel that make you feel like family,excellent food specially breakfast to start your day and the bar to finish your day .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Jose Costa Rica

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Awesome place! Wonderful garden, food and people !! Was a place to decompress for me. I was not looking for adventure and nightlife. Simple comfort and a tranquil environment. Just what I got.
5 out of 5
by dorothea

Don't miss this hotel!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting. Helpful people