Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel for overnight stay to airport

Posted Jan 13, 2018
I stayed one night in a cute chalet. Our room was overall comfy and simple. The chalets can use some updating. The king size bed was comfortable and the “faux” fireplace in the corner actually radiated some heat. We noticed cobwebs in the lamps and overhead fixture which left the impression house keeping isn’t thorough. I have to say however I had the best sleep that night due to the temperature ( it’s chilly up there) and the howling wind. The only regret was being out late and not getting to bed sooner to enjoy the wonderful sounds of rain and wind from within our cozy wooden chalet. I felt as if I spent the night in a Forrest somewhere in Europe. Don’t expect lots of entertainment as there wasn’t anything to do at the hotel. It’s my understanding the property was built around the restaurant which is considered the main prize of the area. We didn’t have dinner at the restaurant as we felt under dressed but the menu appeared appetizing. It’s french cuisine. If you do opt to eat dinner on site, be prepared to pay $$$-$$$$. Jennifer at the front desk as very welcoming and helpful with information regarding the history of the property and casual places to eat around town. Overall this was a good place to rest the night before heading back to the airport the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

fantastic food. lovely grounds.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: the food is amazing.
Cons: the toilet in our room was unbelievably noisy.
we enjoyed our stay, especially walking the grounds, which are beautiful, and the dining experience. i'm sure many weddings happen here, for good reason! it's idyllic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A beautiful and quaint place to stay.

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful and quaint place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

A very nice and special Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Very clean hotel, comfortable, the bed, the breakfast, eveything was good, they were very special with our reservation Thanks
4 out of 5
by Stephanie

Good experience

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
The overall experience was very good. The employees were super nice to us and the food was delicious. The bed and the pillows are too hard to sleep on, but it was not that terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel in the middle of the woods.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Loved the location.
Cons: the indoor of the room can be a little. updated. The. place is cold and has no extra blankets and the electric chiming does not heat up enough.
Location: Beautiful forrest around the hotel
Great outdoor beautiful chalets, confort is ok beds are not so comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Recepción Hotel El Tirol, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re so glad you chose our Hotel Chalet El Tirol. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at our Hotel. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider us again. Sincerely, Mrs. Yenifer Lovatón. Front Desk Manager. Hotel Chalet El Tirol.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Charming property with a fireplace in the bedroom

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Chalet Tirol is a European inspired hotel partially up the mountain, fairly far from downtown Heredia. You approach the hotel on a lovely tree lined road. Once checked in at the desk you walk along a garden path. bordered by hydrangeas to get to your room. The room was simple, but clean and cozy with a wood burning fireplace. The restaurant was charming and breakfast was excellent. I hope that you enjoy this quiet retreat as much as I did.
4 out of 5
by kyle

Nice hotel off the beaten path

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
This place was actually quite charming in its own way. It's not everyday that you find an Austrian style chalet in the wilds of Costa Rica, but that's what this is. The knockoff isn't quite Disney level realistic, but whoever built it did a pretty good job overall. The gardens and courtyard are beautiful and the rooms were plain, but very clean. Having a fireplace in the room was an unexpected and useful surprise since it got quite cold at night while we were there. Food at the restaurant was really quite good. The included breakfast was simple, but delicious and a big step above what you would get at most chain hotels. The beds were ok in terms of comfort. No issues at all with cleanliness anywhere, so that was a plus. The only disappointment was that the wifi did not work in our room. If you wanted internet access, you had to go out in the hall and work there. Don't know if this is an issue in all rooms, but it was in ours. Overall, we were happy with our stay there. It was a little on the pricey side and we picked it mainly because of limited availability elsewhere. It is a little bit off the beaten path, so be prepared to drive a little to get to where you are going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at the mountains

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Nice and relaxing hotel at the mountains, comfort rooms, without fireplace, romantic, and great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.R.

Very quite hotel, ideal to relax.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I like every thing, since food, the threatment, the room, the enviroment, gardens, all... This is a magical place, ideal to a romantic or relaxing propuse.