Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Traditional hotel - a bit dated

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Staff friendly, efficient and helpful. Great location for access to the town centre. Grounds and terrace well maintained and pleasant.
Cons: Bed comfort! Food ok - not great upgrade the bathrooms.
Location: didn't spend enough time - only passing through.
Booked 2 twin rooms - stayed for 1 night. Ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Beds very hard and made so sheets came undone as covers turned back. Bathroom bit dated but at least clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Might Have Been

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: setting
Cons: attitude, quality and amount of food.
Location: Ross on Wye pleasant little town. excellent Tea room - Pots and Pieces. Close to Brecon Beacons/Black Mountains.
On arrival the hotel attempted to give us an inferior room to the one we booked and after transfer to a superior twin stated there was no difference when the superior room was obviously larger with an outside view (car-park rather than garden). Tea/coffee provision was parsimonious. Staff with one or two exceptions were less than hospitable. Again food was not as good as expected after a couple of dinners we went elsewhere. Breakfast was so/so day one (gas problems) cooked breakfast wasn't very hot and my wife was given an untoasted crumpet! Temperature improved over next days, but quality didn't (overcooked eggs etc.) Overall a disappointing stay.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Bristol

Perfect getaway hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
We needed a one night stopover very near to the centre of town as I was recovering from back surgery. The stairs were easy, the bed very comfy and the restaurant very handy with a varied menu. We intend to come back for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
by philip from Wales

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely location, nice staff and good food. Bed was a bit small and uncomfortable
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Manchester

The Chase

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff,great hotel and great views
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester


Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: The Location
Cons: The rooms need updating and Beds need to be bigger.
Location: In the centre of Ross, lots of places to eat, lots of pubs, some have live music on a weekend.
The Location is great for Ross on Wye, very central, the Reception area is lovely and it is set in its own grounds with plenty of parking available, The Superior rooms are just a standard room with a view! nothing Superior about them at all. they are extremley small with a tiny double bed (it doesnt even equate to 2 singles) you would be advised to book a twin room and push the beds together!! the Decor is dated and shabby looking in the bedroom and the bathroom. The TV was so small we had to put in on top of an up turned waste paper bin to be able to see it from the bed. In my opinion this Hotel is extremley over priced for a 3* hotel.
5 out of 5
by Sue from Cornwall

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 3 nights as visiting family and also going to Malvern Spring Show. Specials restaurant menu could do with being changed more frequently. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted May 7, 2016
Went to stay for one night, and had a brilliant night in Ross, at an Italian restaurant, great
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxed, friendly...old fashioned in the very best sense