Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heating

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Ideal for visiting local attractions in the City.
Cons: Needs a lot of TLC. All the rooms require decorating, very old and run down.
Unable to turn the heating off. Room was extremely hot and uncomfortable. Left the window open all night which then let in the street Noise. Ask reception if they could turn it off. He wrote it down and said he would speak to the Head of the staff that night, nothing done and no explanation! Very Poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Not what it was

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Arrived to find no space in car park even though early. Paid £9 to park in NCP for 24 hours. Room ok but no money spent on it since Forte days - 1990's. Shower offtaps temperamental. Some staff lovely others not interested. Breakfast awful!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay for its location and old charms

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: One can almost imagine living in its good old days.
Cons: Shower. Breakfast (especially the sausages!)
Good size room. Despite dated decoration, has its old charms. Efficient staff. Most things work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Character and location
Cons: Decor
Stayed two nights in the Green Dragon. Yes its a bit dated, but the location is excellent, the staff were friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast very goid. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Faded Glory

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Lovely room and great bedding but the hotel is showing it's age. All the common areas need some TLC. Where it was once the place for the county set and passing celebrities, it is now the place where developers put up their builders. A great pity but nothing a little investment couldn't fix..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Hotel with character right in the centre

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Central, friendly, reasonably priced.
Cons: The only criticism I would make is that, in common with most hotels nowadays, guests are not expected to want to read, so the lighting is more enviro
Location: The ideal place from which to explore the wonderful county of Herefordshire.
The hotel was ideal for us, very close to historic streets and cathedral in Hereford, but very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were plenty of comfortable sofas in the public areas. The room was comfortable, reasonably sized and the handrail over the bath/shower was much appreciated. Most hoteliers don't seem to have noticed that the population is aging. The buffet breakfast was plentiful although not of outstanding quality, but porridge and eggs were offered on request which arrived quickly and were very good. The buffet dinner, however, was better than most and there was lots of choice. There must be a way of reconciling the two surely?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very very run down hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Shower did not work ; rooms and hotel very rundown needs a refurb ASAP. Has such amazing potential.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel very well situated.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The situation of the hotel in the town, and the faded grandeur of the place!!
Cons: Hot breakfasts should be HOT, and toilet bowls should be spotless.
Only stayed one night. Staff very nice, and the room was nice, but the hangings rouond the bed were half off the rail, and I had to stand on the bed and fix them up. The actual fixings to the rail were non-existent, but I managed to put the hooks round the rail itself. The toilet bowl was dirty, and the bathroom shelf had had something spilled on it and not wiped up. The cooked breakfast looked very nice but hubby said it was cold, and the plates were cold. My cereal and fruit were ok. Would go again, but would complain about things if I stayed more than one night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice and accommodating staff.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We arrived rather late and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was very yummy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booked room with four poster bed - Did not get it

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: staff
Cons: Parking not available - Had to pay & then move car by 10am