Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

View from hotel was beautiful

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The shower was hot. Water pressure was good. Setting looking over the Wye River was stunning. Quiet setting. Dog was lovely. Parking was okay. Big TV.
Cons: Condition of the room. Update the decor. Update the daily housekeeping.
Location: I was in the area for work so no opportunity for sight seeing.
Despite the setting and the age of the building, the room was most disappointing. The windows were black with condensation mold, the radiator did not give off any heat at all, it was leaking and had a soggy smelly patch of carpet under the leaking valve. No bulb in the lamp, wonky leg on side table, broken tiles on bathroom floor, the same used wet towels were folded and put back for my use for the three days of my stay. The key to the front door required a skill of wriggling the key whilst pulling the door forward. My first re-entry was quite late at night and took 20 minutes of maneuvering to open the door!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for area

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pleasant stay and staff very good. Accommodation quite old and room was cold despite an oil filled radiator being on for the whole time. OK for one night but wouldn't want to stay for longer in the winter. However for summer it would be quaint accommodation for overseas visitor in ideal location. It was fine for us as we were attending a Christmas party and didn't want to have to drive back to Cheltenham.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a good size however the wallpaper was peeling off in places, there was damp in one corner, the onsuite was very small. We felt that 9am was too late for breakfast, & inspite of our request to staff due to the fact that my wife had an appointment on Sunday they said they couldn't give us an earlier time as the chef was also the Landlord.
2 out of 5
by john from bradford

stay away

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Absolute rubbish
5 out of 5
by marion from Swindon

All round good stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Garden by river was nice to sit in and shops were quite close
2 out of 5
by Mrs.Helen from Batley. West Yorkshire

Grubby

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Spent one night. That was enough.Had to swap rooms.Hotel could do with a massive clean and makeover. Kim and Aggie would have a field day!
3 out of 5
by J from Long Eaton

Location is great for waterside activities.

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Visiting friends for a 50th birthday Party, the Hope % Anchor is an old world riverside pub with a rowing club theme, the location is it's main selling point. Ideal for dog owners, fishermen, % canoeist's, if your wanting 5star luxury your in the wrong place, but in fairness £60 for a double room with full English breakfast is good for this area. Staff seemed friendly and we would happily stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Don't go there!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Dirty, unkempt room Ensuite so small that literally no room to move, had to keep door open to use Garden to use for the ground floor rooms had broken furniture
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Enjoyable stay at the Hope & Anchor!

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Location, rustic features, friendly service, price
Cons: Modernise the bathroom
Location: Town a very short walk away, riverside walks on the doorstep
Debbie the owner had responded swiftly to my email about getting a key in the morning, i.e. well-before the official earliest check-in time, so that I could attend a wedding at 11am in the town, which I was very grateful for. Room clean if not the most modern but appropriate for the age of the building perhaps, and free parking within the pub area. Wonderful view of the beer garden and river from the breakfast room, and friendly service too.