Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel an der Strandpromenade

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Praktische Lage. Guter Pflegezustand.
Location: Western Cape Südafrika, Garden Route, am Meer gelegen: Wale beobachten (Juni bis November), Golf Spielen
Gepflegtes modernes Hotel in Strandnähe. Modern und funktional. Netter Pool. Schöne Frühstücksterrasse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

B and B and self catering overlooking the sea

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The view and the spacious room.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing. My requested soft boiled egg arrived hard boiled on two occasions.
Location: Watching whales and other sea creatures.
THE VIEW FROM OUR TOP FLOOR SUITE WAS STUNNING. Our telephone did not work. Our request to have sheets and a blanket rather than a duvet was not passed on to the hotel. This applied to all the accommodation we booked through expedia. Most places were happy to replace the duvet after we arrived and asked them to remake the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Robertson, Südafrika

Schönes, modernes Hotel im Zentrum von Hermanus

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Sehr schöne Zimmer, super Poolarea
Cons: Gebäck beim Frühstück leider vom vergangenen Tag
Location: Das Hotel ist mitten im Zentrum von Hermanus, also bleibt nichts zu wünschen übrig
Die Hotelzimmer sind sehr schön und sehr bequem, außerdem geräumig. Es ist alles da, was man benötigt, sogar Bügelbrett und Bügeleisen. Das Personal ist im allgemeinen sehr freundlich, Buchungen für Aktivitäten und Restaurants wurden freundlich und prompt erledigt. Der Garten und Pool, mit Aussicht aufs Meer sind genial. Wir kommen gerne wieder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NRW, Deutschland

WOW!

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Zimmer, Lage
Cons: Empfang bei Check-In sollte freundlicher sein
Location: Wale Watching Shark Diving (Gansbaai) Wandern entlang der Klippen
Zum Glück haben wir uns aufgrund der guten Bewertungen für dieses Hotel entschieden. Der Empfang war leider recht kühl, was wir von Südafrika so nicht gewohnt sind. Kaum hatten wir jedoch das Zimmer betreten, war die Enttäuschung vom Empfang auch gleich wieder vergessen. Wir hatten ein einfaches Doppelzimmer gebucht und können uns kaum vorstellen, wie dann die Zimmer der höheren Kategorien ausschauen sollen. Das Zimmer ist modern eingerichtet, bietet einen schönen Ausblick auf das Meer (aus den oberen Etagen), verfügt über ein voll ausgestattete Küche, eine Sitzgelegenheit und ein hübsches und sehr sauberes Badezimmer. Die Lage ist perfekt. Man kann vom Pool aus die vorbeiziehenden Wale beobachten oder auch einfach nur das bunte Treiben an der Promenade. Gleich auf der gegenüberliegenden Straßenseite befindet sich das recht bekannte Restauraunt The Burgundy. Fußläufig sind diverse weitere Bars, Restaurants und Geschäfte erreichbar. Auch von Hermanus selbst waren wir positiv überrascht. Es ist ein schnuckeliger, kleiner Ort mit einer verhältnismäßig großen Auswahl an Restaurants und Bars. Wir kommen gerne wieder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Harbour House - pleasant

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
we arrived quite late in the evening, checked in and escorted to an underground carpark to a bay allocated to our room. We were taken to our comfortable, cosy, clean, tidy and well presented, open-plan room: there is a rollerblind to separate the bathroom & the toilet is in a separate cubicle - it is all quite tastefully designed. Harbour House manage a few hotels in the Hermanus area & our room was not in the main hotel but one in a hotel over the road. The majority of the staff we met were pleasant and 'Mr T' was very helpful in securing us a table at an already booked up restaurant. Hermanus is blessed with lots of arts and crafts shops and stalls. We visited lots and were spoiled to be able to see Krisjan Roussouw's 'Dark Paradise' exhibition. As one of the best Whale-watching destinations, we sadly missed the calving season but, were able to spot some whales out in the ocean. Although Hermanus and the hotel were pleasant enough, we don't think we would visit here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zsofi

Poor service lets a lovely location and venue down

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
As a regular visitor to Hermanus and a local, I was looking forward to my visit. However, I found that even though I called in advance, requesting disability assistance, non was forthcoming. I was assured parking near the hotel and had to travel from one building to another for breakfast, which I was trying to avoid. Even in reception, I was left to stand and wait, even though staff could see I was struggling. The waitering staff were poorly managed and even though they were really sweet, they lacked direction and overall co-ordination (this is unacceptable for a high quality establishment). It took half an hour for my cappuccino to arrive in the morning, even though the service had just begun and the restaurant was relatively quiet. I have experienced much better for much less. Such a pity as the location is prime and the rooms attractive and of course the whales are great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ole from Nordjylland

Excelent for whale watching

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, service and breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christopher from London

Whale Watching

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
We were not in the main hotel but across the street in what we were told was the new building. The room was nice and of a good standard. There wasn't much of a view from our room as it looked over the square. Otherwise the service wasn't great. We asked for a corkscrew and it took an hour to come up to our room after we'd called three times. In addition reception booked us a whale watching trip and when we arrived we were told that actually we needed to be there half an hour beforehand and the tour had already gone. Otherwise the hotel was well situated and was in good order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent service. Very good value.

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
If hotels were rated on the way they welcomed and treated guests, instead of the size of conference rooms and lobbies, this would be six star hotel. Ten out of ten for the staff at Harbour house. Our room was very clean, well-kept, and the sea-view amazing. Only meters from the sea, the hotel terrace was the ideal place for whale-watching. The breakfast buffet was not very large, but the food was fresh, tasty and there was a good variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and beautifully decorated rooms

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff and we'll equipped rooms
Location: Within walking distance to restaurants, shops and whale-watching lookout points.
We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and have never been disappointed we always look forward to returning to Harbour House Hotel.