Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel with lovely views over the bay

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: The pool and good location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Breakfasts could be better e.g. provide Fresh rolls and more cereals.
Nice hotel but the best rooms are in the Harbour House building and don't have aircon. As it was very hot (32deg C +) when we arrived and the fan wasn't working, we had a sleepless first night. The staff were quick to replace it when reported in the morning, but it should have been checked when the room was prepared. Otherwise the room was well kitted out, though we felt they should not have charged 10 rand per capsule for the espresso machine. Lovely pool with great views and pleasant helpful staff. Only breakfast and lunch were available in the hotel but there were plenty of restaurants nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

B and B and self catering overlooking the sea

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The view and the spacious room.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing. My requested soft boiled egg arrived hard boiled on two occasions.
Location: Watching whales and other sea creatures.
THE VIEW FROM OUR TOP FLOOR SUITE WAS STUNNING. Our telephone did not work. Our request to have sheets and a blanket rather than a duvet was not passed on to the hotel. This applied to all the accommodation we booked through expedia. Most places were happy to replace the duvet after we arrived and asked them to remake the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and beautifully decorated rooms

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff and we'll equipped rooms
Location: Within walking distance to restaurants, shops and whale-watching lookout points.
We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and have never been disappointed we always look forward to returning to Harbour House Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great location and in the heart of the markets

Posted Apr 3, 2015
We were at first disappointed that our rooms were in a different area away from the main hotel... But on reflection and as the day went by it did not matter as we were still within walking distance to everything.. We were told that the building we were in was recently purchased from the Quarter Hotel and is now called Harbour Side and the main hotel is called Harbour House... Photos in Expedia should reflect this when we booked... The staff were friendly and accommodating...we enjoyed our stay there...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Room, setting, view
Beautiful hotel with comfortable room.... Wish we had stayed longer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Good location onto waterfront

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Yes: the reception area needs refurbishing, an in room safe and more wardrobe space for your clothes in the room.
Location: Very centrally located for the main town.
The best thing about the hotel is the location, great views onto the water. We had a suite which was nicely decorated but some small details lacking. Decor had flaking paint in places plus no in room safe in your room. A bit noisy in the morning when the breakfast was being prepared as below our room. Reception is the bar area and old fashioned in style. Lacked what you would expect of a 4 star hotel entrance. Staff were friendly enough but not outstanding. Overall it was a distinctly average stay and a lot of money. We stayed on our trip in cheaper venues that were far better all round.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo from Kent, UK

Great position overlooking the sea.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
After having a dreadful flight experience thanks to British Airways, it was lovely to receive such a warm welcome and excellent service. The hotel is of a very high standard but quite small and friendly. The main positive being the staff who couldn't do enough for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Seattle

Excellent Hotel a short walk away from whale watch

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Location, room size and amenities
This hotel is perfect for whale watching. The cliff walk to see the whales is a very short walk from the hotel and the whales come in really close. The staff was attentive and recommended good places to eat nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Malcolm from Sydney NSW, Australia

Great stay

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Enjoyable stay- great location, comfortable room and good breakfast selection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mags from Dubai" UAE

Great hotel in Hermanes

Posted Apr 27, 2013
Pros: Local is perfect, rooms are very comfortable and staff are great.
Cons: Difficult to find I. He dark!
Location: Dubai, UAE
We had a problem finding the hotel initially so called the hotel for directions. The concierge came out to look for us - above and beyond what we would have expected. Bedroom was very comfortable. Location is great and the staff all very accommodating. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Hermanes, then look no further.