Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite beach hotel.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Eclectic courtyard focused architecture is the big selling point. And proximity to seaside cliff walk. The greeting staff were a bit officious on check in but improved during our stay - but all others very nice. Linda was not there when we stayed. The pool isn't particularly inviting except maybe for kids. Food lovely. Dinner can be had on special order. Rooms fabulous. Views great. Near Dutchies a seaside restaurant that is quite lively and friendly. A drive into Hermanus for dinner (you could walk in I suppose and taxi back out).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Dear GUESTS Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Driving by car to town is about 5 minutes or else Hermanus have very reliable Taxi services if you prefer this option. Many of our GUESTS do the walk on our beautiful Cliff path to town and take a taxi back We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay and hope to invite you back some day soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option and close to beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Excellent couple of nights stay in march 2017. Wayne the chef was very welcoming as was Linda and Andrew was the star of the show helping me watch an all important football match one particular night. The in house dinner cooked up by Wayne was also first class as is the location which is five minutes from the beach. Worth noting that it is still a car drive from the centre of hermanus which is worth bearing in mind to access bars/ restaurants etc. Very much recommended though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thanks so much for taking the time to complete this review of your recent stay at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach! We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience and will pass the appreciation on to our STAFF as well. Just a note on the distance to town, which is about 5 minutes drive, or you may make use of the taxi services available Hope to welcome you back some time soon Kind regards Linda
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful. Amazing room and service.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Great place to stay. 5 star. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Janice from Cape Town

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had the most lovely time. This was a treat for our young boys - a first time hotel and room service experience! They loved every minute and so did we! The staff are all so friendly and the service we received was amazing! The hotel is so close to the beach and we loved our evening and morning strolls. There were lots of little touches that made it even more enjoyable - a fire in the lounge, snacks in the TV room etc. Well worth the visit. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Ronel from Stellenbosch

Lovely luxury getaway

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
We were 3 friends and we stayed in the Olive Room, which was the only one available. We had a beautiful mountain view, which through not as fantastic as the sea facing rooms, still beautiful! The room is very spacious and the hotel went to a lot of trouble to make all three of us comfortable - there were two single beds in the room and they made up the day bed for the third person. We had a fantastic time, the venue is beautifully decorated, you have a lot of privacy and the staff is friendly and helpful. A short walk through a piece of coastal forest and you are on the Blue Flag Grotto Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Beautiful room, common areas, great staff, amazing location, perfect views and access to beach, wonderful breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mauritius

Homey Guest House

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Everything especially the honeymoon suite.
Cons: Everything was perfect!
Location: Beautiful beach, beach restaurant at a walking distance, town 10 minutes away.
Fabulous guest house on beautiful Grotto beach. Warm and cosy, beautifully decorated, excellent staff, the honeymoon suite is incredible with warm and modern bathroom, very large bedroom with an incredible view on Grotto beach and the mountains and the fire place at night is a dream! We would really recommend this romantic guest house.
5 out of 5
by Craig from Sitges

Great hotel for whale watching

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice small hotel with fantastic views for whale watching
4 out of 5
by Joerg George from Vernon, BC, Canada

Mosselberg on Grotto Beach

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Nice views of the ocean and huge rooms. I like big rooms but this one was simply too big! Not very handy for going to dinner if you are not motorized.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels