Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located boutique hotel with atmosphere galore

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel with great staff; a wonderful breakfast and location, location, location. Very comfortable large bed and staff with good English to help with small queries. Only gripe was the very erratic (and often non-existent) wi-fi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing...

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
A very over-rated hotel. Yes it has nice artwork in the halls but otherwise very basic. I paid extra for a comfort room and it had no place to sit and no desk - just a vanity and two dining room chairs. There is also no lift so you have to trudge up and down with your luggage (and there is no one to assist you). Breakfast was basic and a bit hit and miss. Wifi was patchy. I would not stay here again and I really don't understand all the hype about how fantastic this place is - it was definitely not my experience.
3 out of 5
by Beth from San Jose

Helpful staff

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very colorful historic hotel. Be prepared; there is no lift. Pleasant stay with nice breakfast. Be prepared if you shower in the morning as the water just stopped midway through my shower. The staff speaks English and was able to process the Russian visa invitation for us and also sent a taxi to the train station to pick us up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Lots of character in a fantastic location!

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, overall character and charm, friendliness and helpfulness of staff
Location: The hotel is located right in the historic district, close to everything
Art-Hotel Rachmaninov definitely exceeded our expectations. It is located in the historical district within walking distance of everything. I loved the fact that it is in the upper floors of a regular building and felt like we were in a "local" flat. The art that fills the hallways was lovely, and our room had the perfect balance of modern conveniences and old-world charm. The family 2-bedroom suite we stayed in was perfect for our family of four. The staff were extremely nice and helpful with giving us tips, directions, and making restaurant reservations for us. The breakfast room was full of charm and the food perfect for getting us ready for our daily excursions. We had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
by Olga

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ronak from San Francisco

Great place at great price

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Best value for the price. Staff is super helpful. Very unique character of the hotel. Amazing location and decent sized rooms. Economy rooms are very small but comfort rooms are decent sized. Same is the case with bathroom. It would be good if bath tubs has curtains. I would highly recommend this place. Location is too good.
4 out of 5
by Angela

quirky independent hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, especially if you want something a little different Ideal location for walking to most tourist attractions. Our room faced the street which was relavely quiet but I can imagine it to be noisy at weekends. The breakfast was fine although not exceptional. Free internet and helpful staff. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great quirky little hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay here. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the art is great fun. The rooms were quite large for the heart of the city. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

somewhat disappointing

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel location was perfect to see everything. It was pleasant stay all in all. It is sad that I cannot give the perfect score. This place can be perfect if staff and the owner have tried a little harder. We had a standard room that was clammed to have a one queen bed but instead we got two beds that were set together which was disappointing. Shower cabin was extremely tiny, I think that anyone who is a little bigger then us would not be able to take a shower. Breakfast was not bad but could be better. Hotel is charming but it would benefit from better service. For example, making a separate room where guests can iron would save some time and emotional energy. And there is no place in the room to set ironing board anyway. It would be nice to set a samovar/hot water dispenser that guests would be able to have a cup of tea whenever they want. Staff in the hotel was friendly and helpful in general however I would suggest to pay more attention to the guests. For example, my conversation with the receptionist was interrupted by some phone call and instead of finishing with me first, she picked up the call and kept talking for some time. Eventually, I decided to walk away and find answer elsewhere. The hotel has a great potential, I hope that one day it will be a top-notch.