Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ondon

horrible

Posted Nov 8, 2017
i wouldn't advise this hotel to anyone. better range of hotels in the area, from my experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Magical City brimming with Culture and History

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: It's relaxed, clean, friendly and slap bang in the middle.
Cons: Can't think of anything other than adding a cooked breakfast to the breakfast buffet.
Location: If you can't think of anything to do nearby you really are in trouble.
I'm on a modest income but like a basic standard of comfort cleanliness and convenience. No more slumming it to save cash. The Herzen is spotlessly clean, the staff are very friendly, it's a no-smoking hotel, it's incredibly well situated (5 minutes to the Hermitage, 10 minutes to the Russian Museum), and its on Bolshaya Morskaya which features in John Reed's '10 days that Shook the World'. So for ageing lefty art lovers like me it's perfect. The only very slight drawback is that the hotel walls seem to be a bit thin so if your neighbours have the TV up loud it's a bit intrusive. I was lucky and slept well. The aircon is excellent. the breakfast isn't bad and you can fill up on slightly mysterious Russian equivalents of western stuff but don't expect a breathtaking variety of hams, cheeses etc. There's free coffee and tea 24/7 from the breakfast room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, UK

Centrally located, clean, comfortable

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Centrally located, clean, comfortable, good breakfast, friendly and efficient check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I had such a wonderful stay at Herzen House. Excellent location within walking distance to all of the major sights and sounds of St. Petersburg! The staff is so helpful and very kind. My room was super clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed the nice touches like chocolate on the bed upon my arrival, a souvenir magnet, and the America flag beside the Russian flag in my room. These were all so appreciated! Breakfast is fantastic!!! It is an authentic Russian breakfast, so if you don’t like it, well ... you’re in Russia - sorry! The all-day coffee, tea, water, and cookies was awesome and I took advantage of it! Thank you so much for helping me get to and from the airport and train station, and for an absolutely lovely stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel, with clean rooms

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The hotel offers everything you'd expect, clean rooms, en-suites and a hearty breakfast. Good price for a fantastically central location. Excellent Georgian restaurant next door too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Reasonably priced comfortable accommodation nearby

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Enjoyable near Hermitage and major historic locations in central St. Petersburg. Easy access to Peterhoff Gardens by Metro (subway) and bus.
4 out of 5
by Igor

Nice, clean hotel at a perfect location

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
It would be entirely fair to state that you get what you paid for when it comes to "Herzen House". The best thing about this hotel is its location. Rooms are small but neat and clean. Breakfast is decent. Don't expect lots of perks - this is a place to sleep in between your ventures at Saint Petersburg. No pool, no hot tub, no fridge, no microwave, but no complaints here as the hotel never promised any of these. Overall, very positive impressions. My wife and I might well stay at "Herzen House" once again during our next trip to one of the most beautiful cities in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We had a really good time staying in this hotel. I will stay again.
4 out of 5
by Stanislav

Recommend it if you'd like to be in the center

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location with no frills. The rate was reasonable and eben included hot breakfast. Good value for a tourist that wants to be literally steps away from major attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa, US

Nice and friendly hotel, perfect location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very nice stay, friendly staff, helpful and responsive.