Ratings based on 1,614 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Great hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, courteous staff.
Cons: I could not get rid of noise and light in my room at night.
Location: Excellent location for tourists visiting St. Petersburg.
Very good in every respect. My wife and I were glad for our hotel selection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel near all interesting sites.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The very friendly and efficient reception personnel gave me an indication that I will have a pleasant stay there. the large and well appointed room confirmed this. I walked to all museums and shopping and couldn't think of a better location. I recommended this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Elegant hotel, well located in the center

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Old world charm, yet rooms with modern fittings. The buffet breakfast.
Location: The hotel is minutes away by foot from the Winter Palace, the St. Isaac's church, the Kazan church, the church of the Savior on Spilled Blood.
The staff speaks good English and were very welcoming when we arrived. We like the "old world" style of the hotel with its combination of wood and carpeting, but with rooms with modern fittings. We opted for the buffet breakfast, and were glad to have made that choice. A good selection of foods for breakfast. The hotel has a good Concierge, though we did not take advantage of the Concierge services. We found several excellent restaurants in the area around the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Central hotel, but that's it....

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Never paid so much for so little. Great location but price outstrips the quality by some stretch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel in the heart of St Petersburg

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Everything bar the baisin plug
The Petro Palace Hotel is an excellent choice for anyone visititng St Petersburg. The rooms are comfortable, clean and very well equipped, and the staff extremely friendlly and helpful. It is right in the middle of St Petersburg, and many of the wonderful things to see, for example the Hermitage, are within easy walking distance. I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, or have breakfast there, but the coffee in the lounge area is good. The souvenir shop has a good range and is reasonably priced compared to other shops. However, I advise against booking a taxi to the airport through the hotel, as the quoted price for doing so was twice what appeared to be the going rate. My room overlooked an internal sort of well area, so if you want a view, you should specify it when booking. My only complaint would be that there was no plug in the baisin in my room. Having said that, I didn't bother to ask for one, and if I had the problem would probably have been rectified.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Better restaurant
Location: Historic churches and museums
Excellent value, great staff and location. Rooms are clean and airy.
5 out of 5
by Mark

How a Hotel should be

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
I recently wrote a review about my terrible stay at a hotel in Moscow..I wish I could bring the management of that Moscow Hotel to this Hotel in St Petersburg so they could learn how to run a hotel. It is a little confusing at first as the hotel is a little like Dr Who's "Tardis "..from the outside it looked small but once inside it becomes a big hotel. The hotel is modern in design and located in the center of the city so ideal for sightseeing. The rooms are big as are the beds as well as being comfortable, you have all the amenities you need in the room Tea,Coffee, Hot Chocolate as well as Ironing Boards and a safe. Breakfast is good with a variety of Hot and Cold dishes as well as an egg station if you want an omelette or fried eggs etc, in addition to which you are greeted on arrival to the breakfast room and shown to a table, so no confusion with other guests. However, overall the thing that impressed me most was ALL the staff without fail were friendly and smiling and always say good morning, or good day etc..you feel like a person not a "cash cow" Well done to the Management and the Staff at this Hotel if you keep everything the same (including the prices) I will stay again on my next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocean Springs, MS

Hard to find a better location for tourists.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Great location for my needs as a tourist. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Good maid service. ATM in lobby. Near transportation. Nice gift shop.
Cons: Perhaps a small awning could be added to provide shelter from the rain for us smokers.
Location: Near St. Isaac's, Hermitage, Admiralty Metro and Nevsky. Get bus route guide from Tourist Info and safely get to any attraction fairly easily.
We liked it enough to come back after a year. We reportedly hit the coldest April in years with rain and snow almost every day. It is over one block to the tram stop going up Nevsky Prospect where there are a number of attractions whereas the return stop is directly across the street. We therefore used the helpful concierge to book taxis to several museums to minimize exposure to the weather, using the bus to return. The hotel gift shop had the standard selection at prices we almost never beat. The same goes for side trips to Catherine Palace, etc.. There is a good variety of restaurants in a two block radius. Most have menus posted outside with English subtitles. Don't expect speed except from the daily grand prix on the streets. For a quick snack try a meat pie, pastry, and Coke from a food truck or a museum cafe. I really must commend the staff for their ability to handle the needs of guests speaking a half dozen languages. Good job!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Junior Level Government Administrator Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
This place has a really helpful concierge. Housekeeping was spot on. The biggest drawback was the outdated decor and the Chernobyl green jacuzzi water which made me run straight back to my room. The pool was closed for repairs. The steam room had a very strong moldy odor. The spa area really needs help. Bathroom in room has heated tile floors which is de riguer in the permanent winter of St. Petersburg. There is something not quite 4 stars about this place. It's a strong 3 stars, redolent of Holiday Inn from the '90s.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Stayed twice at his hotel. Second time because of excellent experience on our first visit. Staff are very friendly and helpful, room is clean and comfortable and location is excellent!