Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Fabulous place in every sense

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: The website so that sells the hotel better but then again maybe not as we would like to keep this place a secret!!
Location: Fantastic location in the heart of the Historic region on Nevsky Prospect which is the Champs Elycee of St Petersberg- we walked
We loved it from the moment we entered the palatial hall way - the website does do it justice as it is so much better than we had imagined. To be able to stay in an original Palace was so lovely and we swam everyday and only once had to share the pool!! Beauty and hairdressers were terrific too. The staff were exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great hotel in downtown Saint Petersburg

Posted Jul 8, 2017
My parents and I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The rooms resembled those of a palace (from the furniture to the drapes to the tiles in the bathroom). The breakfast was outstanding and definitely exceeded our expectations (red caviar, etc). By the way, the swimming pool and spa are included in the price of the stay again which is great! The noise insulation of the rooms is incredible - never heard a sound from the street or the neighbors. The staff is very well trained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Location was perfect for walking the city. That is what we wanted. But the wow factor going into this hotel was amazing!! Simply beautiful and friendly staff. Pricey but lovely. I would recommend it for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from VA

Luxurious hotel in great location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The Taleon is a very luxurious hotel in a former palace on Nevsky Prospect in the heart of St. Petersburg. You can walk to the Hermitage, Church on Spilled Blood and many of the main sites and attractions. Rooms feel like royalty and are spacious and comfortable with beautiful décor. The rooftop pool and facilities were closed for some reason which was disappointing but I was able to use the smaller pool and spa on the 2nd floor although only the steam room was functioning. Restaurants were very pricey so didn't eat there. Got a good deal on the room as it was off peak. If I returned I'd stay there again--great experience and location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunoon

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Helpful friendly staff.
Location: Quite centrally located so easy to access most of the interesting places to visit.
Wow what a building, architecture was stunning, all staff were friendly and helpful and hotel was immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wow - a Palace with very helpful staff

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Decor, Location, Staff.
Location: This is 5 minutes from the Hermiage
We stayed for a week, so we really got to know the place. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are elegant and comfortable. The restaurant is great. Everything else was magnificent. The interior has a style that is luscious and over-the-top, but still very enjoyable. The location is a 5 minute walk from the Hermitage. And finally, we had the Concierge help us with many things, all expertly handled. Perhaps the only quibble is that the wine list in the restaurant is priced about 3x to 4x normal. We drank a low cost Rose, and it was $80 per bottle. But I suspect this is a "Russia" thing - as in high tariffs or something, because all restaurants had high wine prices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old palace

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Location: In the center of St. Petersburg, close to numerous museums and cathedrals.
Huge rooms, ours had a sitting room. Lovely breakfast room with a large buffet. Attentive staff. Great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beppu

Luxurious, convenient hotel (visa warning)

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very nicely located, just a 5-minute walk from the Hermitage. Our room was spacious and luxurious and the staff were very accommodating. We arrived many hours before check-in with our 6-month old baby and they let us enter the room, since it was ready. The staff answered all our questions about sightseeing and helped us to make dinner reservations. We also got a babysitter while we went to the ballet and our baby was very happy when we came back. I would, however, say that the meals are overpriced for what is offered. Also, to anyone who is taking the ferry from Helsinki without a visa, we encountered many issues at first because we were told that we were not allowed to stay in the hotel without a visa. It might be better to call the hotel beforehand or the ferry line to avoid issues on arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest! We highly appreciate your choice of the Taleon Imperial Hotel and the review you left about your stay. Thank you for your positive feedback and high score to our efforts. We will be very happy if you choose our hotel again during your next trip to Saint-Petersburg, so we will be able to provide you with our best accommodation and service. Best regards, Anna Solomatkina Front Office Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to center

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Very good locations - Nice Staff - Nice rooms but feel old. It used to be one of the fist Palace - Renovated bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Anna Solomatkina Front Office Director, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We highly appreciate your choice of the Taleon Imperial Hotel and the review you left about your stay. Thank you for your positive feedback and high score to our efforts. We will be very happy if you choose our hotel again during your next trip to Saint-Petersburg, so we will be able to provide you with our best accommodation and service. Best regards, Anna Solomatkina Front Office Director