Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Good for the price

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Only over night stay. Met all our requirements. Rooms were clean, bed was ok. Good for stop on our way to Florida.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Jeanina , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you in the future. Have a super day!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Weekend Trip

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Quick check in, friendly staff, clean room and near shopping and dining.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your compliments on to our staff. We look forward to serving you in the future. Have a super day.!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coila, Ms

Really nice motel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I was very happy with Hernando's Super 8. It's recently been remodeled & the room was very nice! The only issue I had was not enough parking. The lot could be twice the size to accommodate the vehicles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you in the future. We apologize you had an issue with parking. Have a super day!!
4 out of 5
by Micki

We'd stay there again.

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
It's an average hotel. For the price & location (close to interstate, gas station & Wendy's) we'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Corvetta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our location. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a super day!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

a comfortable stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: the updated rooms and the large prints on the wall
Cons: bedding with no cigarette burns
Location: visit memphis or the lakes or beale street
had a long drive from florida; made the reservation based on a good rate for the dates i would be in town; was very upset to find out this hotel had no elevator; if i had packed light with just a bag or two this wouldn't have been a problem but since i was driving cross country i didn't like the fact that i had to leave most of my personal items in the car and hope nobody broke into it; based on this inconvenience I didn't stay at the hotel as long as i originally planned but overall the stay was good, the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and i have no other issues with this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are working to replace anything that is damaged in the rooms we have been in the process of a full renovation. We apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. I will pass along the compilments to our staff. Hope to see you in the future. Have a super day.
4 out of 5
by Angie

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Corvetta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. And, thank you for taking time to do the survey. We look forward to see you in your future trip. Hope you have a super day! Thank you
5 out of 5
by Lawrence

great location!!

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms were great. It was a good place to stay. If you like Catfish close by, go to Catfish Country. Great food. This is also close to a Tanger Outlet and the Southhaven mall just North of the hotel on I-55.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Corvetta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are close to several good restaurants. We look forward to seeing you on a future trip!! Have a super day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AC was a little noisy

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The hotel was just updated with new carpet and paint. Comfy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by front office manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. And, thank you for the feedback. Sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the AC noise. We will ask the maintenance to check on it. Yes, we have new carpets installed. We look forward to see you in your future trip. Hope you have a super day. Thank you
5 out of 5
by Donald

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Corvetta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. And, thank you for the feedback. We look forward to see you in your future trip. Hope you have a super day. Thank you
1 out of 5
by Zachary

Wasted Money

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Overwhelming smell of cigarettes throughout lobby, hallways and room. Room smelled like an odd body oder being masked by cleaners. The carpet in the hallway and stairs was dirty and in need of vacuuming. The lady behind the counter wasn't friendly or welcoming. She was very short with her words, that it came out as rude. She obviously hates her job. When we tried to get our money back through hotels.com, we were offered a voucher. Really? We set our stuff down in the room, then just picked it right back up and left, and we still have to pay for this? By the way, this room wasn't booked days ahead of time. We booked this through the website as we were coming down the road just for the discount. Lesson learned, no more booking without seeing it first ourselves. This is the second occasion that we've booked through a website only to be disgusted by the room when we get there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Corvetta, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, We apologize for your inconvenience. When you were here you did not inform us that you had any issue with your room if you had we would have done our best to satisfy you. We were under the impression that you left due to the fact you did not want to pay the pet fees for the 2 large dogs you were bringing through the side door. Again I apologize for any inconvenience.