Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
If you want a lavish and luxury resort, then this won't be for you. However, this place is all about the simple things, and really is nature's wonderland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Coral Island Venue

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Heron Isl. is a great place to be exposed to the concept of the Great Barrier Reef, being a coral reef-ringed island nature reserve.... no palm trees but everything else you see in posters, especially those brilliantly-white, soft sandy beaches! It is a beach / coral reef diving/ snorkel destination, apparently with good underwater vistas whether shallow or at depth. It is also a nature reserve (+ research facility) for bird life = guano smelly, roosting bird noisy, + turtles coming ashore to lay their eggs at certain times of the year. It is an island, some 3 hours travel from the mainland.... so everything carries a price premium- that's just the way it is! So factor that issue into your "value for money" equation!! The accommodation is "medium quality", and is getting tired both physically and visually (needs some refreshing)..... and for those from cooler climes- NO Aircon!.... but the sea breezes do help take the edge off most times. The ferry ride can be (very) bumpy when its really windy, so if you suffer from motion sickness, come prepared. On the other hand (but of course at a very different cost and with weight/ luggage limitations) you can get to and from the Island by seaplane, which gives wonderful views of the island(s), reefs and coastline in the process. The Resort has a wonderful Information Centre currently manned by a couple of great young "communicators".... attending their info talks is very entertaining and very informative! Dining staff- less so!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: being on the reef and all the wildlife: Birds, sharks, turtles, sea cucumbers etc. My partner is blind and he enjoyed the cacophony of sounds and smells and the ease of being able to get around.
Cons: It took a few days talking to other guests to figure out all the good snorkelling spots and where was best in certain wind conditions etc. The resort could sell the great attributes of the island a little better. eg I only heard belatedly from another guest about watching the sunset over the wreck. A real highlight!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Birds, Turtles and Pristine Beaches

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Beaches, snorkelling, reef.
Cons: Staff, Bar and Pool area, Food.
Location: Terrific!
Transfers good, rooms OK , staff inexperienced or rude. Beaches, coral, reef superb. Inundated with birds with accompanying bird droppings, noise and unfriendly attacks looking for food. Resort Bar and Pool area very tired. Food average.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Emerald

Great holliday on the reef

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleasantly surprised as some reviews had said the rooms were a bit tired. Ours was in excellent condition very clean and comfortable. The restaurant and bar prices were very reasonable the food was good and so was the wine list. Some people also complained about the noise from the birds , perhaps that is seasonal but during our stay it was more like a soothing background noise mixed with the breaking waves - quite idyllic really. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

5 star location, 3.5 star hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: the location, and rooms clean and comfortable. boat and dive staff v helpful esp Rob!
Cons: Service and harsh canteen lighting in the restaurant, forwarning about the likelihood you will get sick on the boat ride over.
Stole the headline from another reviewer, but it's about right. Spectacular place, but average resort. Dive, boat and island information staff great and really helpful, most of rest of staff pretty uninterested, food and service average.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conflicted

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Overall we enjoyed ourselves on Heron Island but there were pluses and minuses... Reservations - central reservations was pretty frustrating. They are not co located with the reservations staff on the island and so there was confusion with our arrival dates and also we ended up PAYING TWICE. The staff did not have it in their system that we had prepaid and even though we showed full payment receipts from hotels.com, they needed to verify with central booking (which they could not do at the time), and so we were charged full price for all nights even though we prepaid. It has been 5 days since we checked out and this has STILL NOT BEEN RESOLVED. Rooms - if you have expectations of what a $300 room should look like, put them aside. The rooms are really basic... Not stylish or luxurious... I think you are paying for the location and also bc it must cost a lot to keep a place that isolated up and running. They do provide eco-chic toiletries which is a plus. Restaurant- same comment on the restaurant - zero ambiance, too bright lighting (an interesting juxtaposition to the signs in the rooms requesting you keep your lights dim in order to minimize impact on wildlife), service is hit or miss.... The food however is EXCELLENT! Dinner is prix fix and the options change daily. The food was gourmet made from local ingredients with international influences.
5 out of 5
by Lyndall from Terrigal

Great for snorkelling

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Due to the ferry not arriving at Heron Island till 4.30pm (takes 2 + hours) and checkout by 9.15am with ferry leaving at 10.00am in the morning, you need to stay 2 nights minimum- which is a bit of a scam for the resort! Although buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. If you can pay the extra and get a room looking over the water. I had a room in the 'trees'which is very dark and not much to look at from your small veranda. Saturday seafood buffet dinner is value for money. Staff are very friendly but can be a bit slow getting your drinks orders- so order as soon as you sit down or you might not get your drinks till 1/2 way through your dinner. Plenty of activities while you are there. Went to go on snorkeling trip but seas were rough so decided to just snorkel around near the resort which was great at high tide with plenty of coral and fish. Also near the wharf although a bit choppy- got to swim with sting rays, and various coloured mantra rays which was the highlight of the trip. You can walk right around the island (only 2 kms) and watch the sunset over the sea and shipwreck! Unfortunately didn't get to see any turtle hatch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it- but not for everyone

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Wotif
I loved my stay here- snorkelling access to see some of the most exciting marine wildlife I've seen right outside your door. the dive team are great as well as the dives. The educational resources are really insightful. This isn't a fancy resort though- there are birds calling out all night long and poo on you as you walk through the resort, the food offering isn't of highest standard, and there's no phone reception or good wifi access. This resort is for those who love the ocean and outdoors adventures and witnessing our fascinating natural world. It deepened my love for the reef and especially for the sea turtles!