Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not worth the money at all.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Wonder how Expedia charged us soo much for a full board. I specifically mentioned that we are pure vegeterians...while Expedia team assured that they cater all types of food. We starved without proper food... Eating just bread, butter and potatoes.... For 6 days! It was mentioned near the beach, but it was a very steep hill to climb of 2 km while getting to the hotel. No options for food, standard breakfast with tinned fruits and tinned juices. Expedia looted us for air fare too. We will never ever contact Expedia again... Wrong information, wrong hotel and exorbitant fares. Extremely disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Staff were very helpful and friendly, and the service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Nicely located, a little on the hill away from the tacky main strip but very close to lors of good restaurants. Apartment facilities were basic but adequate. Very friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Up a very steep hill with great views

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. But the hotel a bit on the tatty side. No ice cube tray.No where to hang wet items outside. Sheets on the bed all frayed. Curtains in bedroom about 1/2 a meter dragging on the floor and hanging off the rail at the top. Bathroom very dark a very high bath to step into to get a shower that meant my husband was touching the roof that was full of mould. I was also scarred of slipping as nothing to hold onto on getting out of the shower. Poll area needs attention decking very old umbrellas need a 6" nail to keep them up not enough sunbeds at times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not book annex rooms.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The real hotel and staff were lovely but we booked a room in an Annex building which was a 2-3minute walk away not beside the actual hotel. You had to go through a small part of the town. It had no Wi-Fi and no hot water for the first few days until I mentioned it to the staff. I stepped on a small piece of glass in my room which was not from us since we did not break anything so makes me wonder how often they even sweep or clean the floor. Very noisy we could hear all the water from all the other rooms. If I book there again I would not stay in the annex rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Awesome hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Great hotel! Wonderful staff, amazing views. Food was excellent as well. Big shout out to Nikos the bartender, so awesome and has great recommendations as where to eat in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

GREAT SERVICE

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff and reasonable cost.
Location: Wasn't here long enough to comment.
Only stayed 1 night as a stopover due to late night flight and we were travelling to the south of the island. Great place - lovely staff, very friendly. We didn't arrive until around midnight (problems with flight delay) but they had saved us some food (as we had paid half board). Although we didn't experiencing it, the pool looked very inviting. Would definitely recommend for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee, Scotland

Mr

Posted Aug 4, 2017
This is a great place and we had a lovely family holiday here. All the staff were great! They were super helpful, worked with dietary restrictions, helped us get taxis and plan trips, and made our stay very pleasant. Nikita, Nikos, and George were particularly helpful in welcoming us and taking care of our needs. Our rooms were lovely (each had an air conditioner which made sleeping pleasant), clean, and well-furnished and the facilities are pleasant and welcoming. The grounds are lovely and all the plants and trees are very well managed, my favorite was the grape vines growing on some of the terraces of the rooms we were in. Our group went for the half board option since we had grandparents along and having dinner at the hotel each day was most convenient for them. If I was to visit again, I would go for just bed and breakfast, since there are lots of nice restaurants nearby and trying out various types of delicious Greek food for lunch was great and doing so at dinner to get more options would have been nice, and you can always opt to let the staff know and eat dinner at the hotel if you want. We had a lovely time here and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to visit Crete!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by The Amazones Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind words. We hope that we will see you again in the coming future so that we will have the opportunity to be at your service again! Kind Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location hillside, far from the beach, no wifi

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Surly need a car, from bus stop to(1hour), airport to(30min) , port to(35min) hotel was very far. Wifi use only bar & pool, have no room, some room to bar little bit far. I think high -level trick of the trade to be used in a bar. So I was in my room I have to meditation ~there was a Buhda & Zen( medtation) picture on the wall. But they have good swimming pool (deep 2m90). 2 hours more before check out, they changing goods put in the room during I have breakfast, so I go out check out before 2 hours, very very unhappy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by The manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry for not meeting up your expectations Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

We loved our 2nd visit to Amazones Village Suites!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: We loved our view of sunrises and sunsets from our balcony overlooking the beautiful Sea of Crete, our comfortable room and beautiful swimming pool.
Location: We walked everywhere between the 3 villages, shops, grocery stores, pubs, tavernas and fancy restaurants, and beautiful beaches are not far away.
This was our second visit to this gorgeous hotel in the hills above Hersonissos in the middle of 3 adorable villages where you will find absolutely everything you need for a fun and relaxing vacation. Everything was as we remembered and even better. From the minute we arrived we felt like we were coming home and treated as if we were family with great big smiles and a wonderful warm welcome. Thank you for an amazing two weeks Caterina and George and staff, Niko, Nikita, Anna and Kim, you made our return to Crete and the Amazones a dream come true and we will be back again! Delicious breakfasts...we are especially missing the yoghurt, fruit and honey...and the very comfortable room and bed made for good restful sleeps that gave us energy for exploring the beautiful island. Crete is full of history, beautiful mountains and scenery and so many amazing beaches, it truly is a hidden gem of travel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time and for your review. Clients like you make our business a pleasure. We are looking forward in seeing you again in the coming future! Thank you again.