Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee, Scotland

Mr

Posted Aug 4, 2017
This is a great place and we had a lovely family holiday here. All the staff were great! They were super helpful, worked with dietary restrictions, helped us get taxis and plan trips, and made our stay very pleasant. Nikita, Nikos, and George were particularly helpful in welcoming us and taking care of our needs. Our rooms were lovely (each had an air conditioner which made sleeping pleasant), clean, and well-furnished and the facilities are pleasant and welcoming. The grounds are lovely and all the plants and trees are very well managed, my favorite was the grape vines growing on some of the terraces of the rooms we were in. Our group went for the half board option since we had grandparents along and having dinner at the hotel each day was most convenient for them. If I was to visit again, I would go for just bed and breakfast, since there are lots of nice restaurants nearby and trying out various types of delicious Greek food for lunch was great and doing so at dinner to get more options would have been nice, and you can always opt to let the staff know and eat dinner at the hotel if you want. We had a lovely time here and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to visit Crete!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by The Amazones Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind words. We hope that we will see you again in the coming future so that we will have the opportunity to be at your service again! Kind Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location hillside, far from the beach, no wifi

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Surly need a car, from bus stop to(1hour), airport to(30min) , port to(35min) hotel was very far. Wifi use only bar & pool, have no room, some room to bar little bit far. I think high -level trick of the trade to be used in a bar. So I was in my room I have to meditation ~there was a Buhda & Zen( medtation) picture on the wall. But they have good swimming pool (deep 2m90). 2 hours more before check out, they changing goods put in the room during I have breakfast, so I go out check out before 2 hours, very very unhappy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by The manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry for not meeting up your expectations Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

We loved our 2nd visit to Amazones Village Suites!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: We loved our view of sunrises and sunsets from our balcony overlooking the beautiful Sea of Crete, our comfortable room and beautiful swimming pool.
Location: We walked everywhere between the 3 villages, shops, grocery stores, pubs, tavernas and fancy restaurants, and beautiful beaches are not far away.
This was our second visit to this gorgeous hotel in the hills above Hersonissos in the middle of 3 adorable villages where you will find absolutely everything you need for a fun and relaxing vacation. Everything was as we remembered and even better. From the minute we arrived we felt like we were coming home and treated as if we were family with great big smiles and a wonderful warm welcome. Thank you for an amazing two weeks Caterina and George and staff, Niko, Nikita, Anna and Kim, you made our return to Crete and the Amazones a dream come true and we will be back again! Delicious breakfasts...we are especially missing the yoghurt, fruit and honey...and the very comfortable room and bed made for good restful sleeps that gave us energy for exploring the beautiful island. Crete is full of history, beautiful mountains and scenery and so many amazing beaches, it truly is a hidden gem of travel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by George, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time and for your review. Clients like you make our business a pleasure. We are looking forward in seeing you again in the coming future! Thank you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Away from the crowd high up and a good breeze

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Remote slightly
Cons: Wi Fi in room not strong signal in lobby
Location: Good walk for the obese plenty of steps to village below
Good price 4star good high Veiw alcohol good price breakfast good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by The Amazones Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife Scotland

Great hotel fantastic staff !!

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Fantastic staff and fabulous views.
Had a great stay !! Boss George with Nikos and Kim make a fantastic team Very friendly , nothing too much trouble and a great laugh . Views to die for from our up graded balcony and the pool . Will def be back !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by The Amazones Team, Hotel Management
We cannot thank you enough. Great people like you make us try harder!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The suits are large enough but some are dated. The food is good but somewhat basic. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Brighton

Super friendly staff

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Super friendly staff. Lovely spot with a beautiful view. Clean, quiet (in October). We love Piskopiano, been before and will happily go back and stay at Amazones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage,USA

Awesome holidays

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Anything you asked for was possible within a reasonable allowance of time. Amazing!
Cons: More sunbeds around the swimming pool area, because the hotel is very busy and some days it is hard to find an empty one.
Location: The hotel is located within 2minutes walk from the center of the village. There are two supermarkets there and many tavernas left and right.
Absolutely loved this hotel - great location , away from noise, quiet and peaceful, super friendly owner-operators. They really care about their guests - you can tell from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. We're already missing it. We highly recommend it to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Caterina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Manchester traveller

Wonderful!

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on HotelClub
Its a small family run apartment complex in a very nice location. The apartment is clean and spacious and perfect for a holiday in a hot climate. Sadly, the wifi did not reach the apartment we stayed in but it works OK by the pool and bar! Fantastic value and fantastic friendly, helpful service from all the staff. I will definitely want to stay here again...and again..and again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

DO NOT BOOK THE JUNIOR SUITES!!!!!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The air conditioning
Cons: See above
Location: Old Hersonissos was much better than I expected and some very nice places to eat and other small villages close
On first impression I was extremely pleased as I walked in to check in. A nice lad was then called to take us to our room. Well the juior suites are about a 7-8 minute walk (longer returning as it is uphill) from the main and supremely nicer part of the complex. Garden view....... is a car park next to an empty swimming pool and some run down bar and reception area. Woke up after our first night..... no hot water so a very cold shower was taken. I went to reception next day and pointed out that these things did not match the brochure (as well as the fact that they say there is wifi in every room which is untrue). The response I had was that I had 'booked room only'. I pointed out that room only should mean hot water at least and that I did not require food provided. The reply was that I could buy breakfast for 5 euros if I wanted. I had no option but to laugh at all this really. In the end she promised we could move to the main complex in two days. I went back and spoke to the same woman two days later to make the arrangements and she claimed she couldn't remember and said there were no rooms available. I have stayed in other parts of the island in 2 and 3 star accomodation which are far better than this poor excuse of a hotel. I will never return and strongly advise that the so called 4 star rating this has , is reviewed. It might apply to the main part of the hotel, but certainly not to the Garden suites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Caterina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review