Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted May 30, 2017
Cons: bathroom updates and matress on bed....a few more drinks in the mini bar ..like a beer and a coke
not as good as we had expected ...more like 4* it looks much nicer in the brochure .The main hotel bar was lovely with great views but the rooms were needing a big update ...the bathrooms were very poor with the bath draining all over the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, terrible beach.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The hotel is great with excellent facilities and swimming pools. The food was good and had plenty to choose from. The only let down was the beach which is rocky and rough, two feet into the water it is above chest height. Wouldn't recommend for families or if you are looking for a nice swim in the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Jun 1, 2016
If you are looking for a place peaceful, quiet and beautiful, Royal Mare is the place to go! It's near the beach, very good food, all staffs from hotel very polite and helpful. They have a gym you can use for free and if you want to spend an extra money they have a big Spa with different types of massages. My wife, my 2y son and myself had a unforgettable time at Royal Mare, i chose a "all inclusive deal" and it saved me a lot of money with drinks and food, they do very good food (different everyday) and we could have all kind of cocktails for free. We had a sea view room and it was just a few meters away from the beach. I recommend you to hire a car to drive around the island, there are some beautiful places to see and it's cheap! To have an idea how much we enjoyed the hotel, we supposed to stay 7 days, but I cancelled our flights in the last minute and extended our holiday 3 more days. It was the perfect holiday for us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Disappointing

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Reataurant staff/ waiters v polite and work so hard for the guests. Animation team very engaged with guests and care.
Cons: Very big hotel so challenging to manage but simple improvements necessary ie label phones with correct numbers, be polite to guests, update rooms.
Location: Nothing really nearby, only one bus in am to Hersonissos, returning afternon.
No expectations on arrival however a few disappointments due to disorganisation and general maintenance: .Grounds. Hotel v big, nice greenery around appartments, well structured. Porters work hard all day and assist anyone with driving them to and from rooms if needed, as many elderly this time of year. .Room. old furniture, v soft mattress, bathroom shower door leaking, decoration old and needs renewing. Slippers and bathrobe provided as well as tea, coffee and kettle. .Service. telephone reception instructions appear to be incorrect in all rooms as this is known to other guests but not updated hence at 11.30pm i tried calling reception to get another blanket...wasnt able to get through so slept in the bathrobe. Asked for blanket twice as this was removed from my room, twice (first 4 nights chilly & windy). Requested coffee sachets when these ran out, as they were not filled automatically. One morning on asking for a Spa appointment (spa information kiost was empty), a lady with the mobile in her hand said she could call but better I just go myself (?!) .Food/Main Restaurant. All waiters work very hard, very structured, excellent service. Food varierty plentiful for every taste. Sweets ie cakes all tasted the same as all used processed cream. (Exception: Greek traditiinal cakes ). .SPA. 5 min walk uphill from the main Hotel is the Spa, which I used a few times however prices more expensive than London on comparison. Ladies at Spa very professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

The hotel's location is problematic, but the hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The service, cleanliness, the dining room was great, the pool was large, Balcony Room
Cons: Dining room collection
Location: Nothing environment. Should take a taxi 8 euros to go to the city. No taverns in the area to take a taxi.
The rooms were far from the dining room. No where to hang out in the evening. To reach the city should take a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janak from London, UK

Great all round hotel for a fantastic break

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Pros: Atmosphere, environment and location brings the whole of Crete within it.
Cons: Nothing, nothing and nothing
Location: Great right on the beach, the hotel even has a ***** beach Rest. & Bar
Fantastic location right on the beach Superb facilities with gym and a spa Very helpful, friendly and courtious staff 4 gourmet style restaurants each with a theme 31 swimming pools High class sports facilities and beach activities
3 out of 5
by JM

bad service

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels
Pb of the hotel is the non professionalism of the receptionnist, and the restaurants closing early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rugby, UK

Top for relaxation

Posted Oct 25, 2011
Lovely hotel, who were thoroughly obliging - giving us a better room than booked, with its own private pool, letting us keep the room late on our day of check-out, since it was the end of season and there wasn't too much pressure on their space. It's a massive resort with quantities of swimming pools and gorgeous gardens to roam around. The resort was always beautifully clean and any issues we had were promptly seen to by hotel staff. The spa was fantastic, with some of the best treatments I've had (but a bit pricey). One note - if you're going out of season, be aware that it's worth asking which of the facilities and restaurants will be open, as not all of them are.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

perfect w/e getaway

Posted Oct 19, 2010 on Hotels
This hotel was great. The staff were incredibly friendly, everything worked well. And the one restaurant i tried, Candia, was superb and excellent value for money (at least compared to London!)Dont come here if you're looking for sandy beaches, but the swimming was wonderful. I was there on the last weekend of the season, so hard to say what it would be like during peak.