Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly hotel in a lovely area...

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The staff, the ambience, the pool and bar. Always someone around to help. Wi Fi works great around the pool and bar. Minutes away from a good beach.
Cons: More electrical points, shower moved to end of bath. Suggest that 311 is rented to short term guests as it is small and has little natural light.
Location: Analipsi is a place for those that enjoy the quieter end of things. Has enough to offer for restaurants and shops. Recommend Tritonas restaurant.
Just returned from 2 weeks at the Venus Mares Apartments. I would dearly love to give this place 5 stars as it is very good in terms of the hard working and friendly staff, the cleanliness, the lovely pool and bar area and the general ambience. However, I have to knock off just one star as the apartment we had was lacking on two main issues especially for a two week stay. The kitchen area was tiny with a two pan hob, a kettle and a toastie maker. There was really no space or enough electrical points (2 only in the living area) to really do any cooking. We adapted our plans by having cold breakfasts and ate out for most other meals. Luckily there are lots of good places to eat in Analipsi but it does prove more expensive to the budget traveller. Also the shower, although powerful and hot as you need it, was located on the side wall over the bath and therefore could only be used by taking the head off the wall or else you soaked the whole bathroom floor. These comments only relate to our apartment of course (Room 311) and I have a feeling there are bigger and better ones. Other than that I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel/apartments. They make you feel very welcome, the pool is lovely and we never struggled for a sunbed. They have a washing machine and ironing facilities in the basement for customer use. They have a pool table and table tennis in the bar and Tuesday night is BBQ night. Breakfast wasn't great but Analipsi has plenty to offer foodwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

A gem of a hotel at a sensible price

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location, friendliness.. price!
Location: Located approximately a 5 minute walk (300m) from the beach, close to a couple of small supermarkets and a 10 minute walk to the "centre" of Analipsi
Analipsi is a small developing resort with lots of huge hotels, the Venus Mare is in contrast a small friendly hotel. The facilities are superb and very well maintained. Outside there is a beautiful pool with lots of sun beds (if you want to "splat" in the sun"), table tennis table, pool table and of course a bar! The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, kitchen facilities included a "toastie" maker, dual ring hob, kettle and more than enough cutlery, plates and pots/pans! Parking is along the small road leading to the hotel - it can get busy, but we always managed to find somewhere to park. The whole atmosphere was one of "chill.. relax", the staff were superb and nothing seemed too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia, CA

A Piece of Paradise

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness, the decor, etc!
Cons: Install mosquito nets or something to help repel the pests.
Location: This hotel is in the perfect spot! Restaurants, super markets, car rentals in very close proximity. The beach is only about a block or two away!
To begin, our ferry dropped us off very early in the morning (6am). Check-in isn't until afternoon, but the nice lady at reception asked the staff to prepare our room as soon as possible. My family and I rested by the sparkling pool until our room was ready (this was within MINUTES). The rooms were very clean, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. My only suggestion would be to install mosquito nets. Even with bug spray, repellent plug-ins and incense, my family and I were attacked by mosquitoes. Not that you can control nature, but something of that nature would be very beneficial :) We'll be back!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Overall really nice budget hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice apartment with good pool

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel with a great pool and close to the beach. Staff were generally friendly and the apartment was spacious and well equipped to cook etc if needed. Recommend hiring a car to see some other sites Crete has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Czech Republic

Best holiday ever - above all expectations.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Very close to the beach (200 m) and the village of Analipsi. Everything in walking distance. Bus stop to Heraklion only 10 minutes walk from the hotel
Cons: The wi-fi was very unstable (works only around the pool). We managed to catch some other wifi in our room, but it would be nice to improve this.
Location: Not a party location but great for families - very nice beach very near. You can rent a car of buy trips from Analipsi tours (boat etc.)agency nearby.
We bought very cheap flight tickets to Crete in February completely by change - never been to Crete before. Then we chose Venus Mare hotel after a lot of searching and comparing on booking, expedia, airbnb etc. In the end it was a great choice. The place is ideal for families - nice pool, quiet street (dead end), 200 m from the beach (not crowded and clean), everything in walking distance - bus stop to Heraklion and Hersonissos, the village on Analipsi, supermarket, car rentals, travel agencies (we used the nearest one called Analipsi tours - 250 m from the hotel - they can arrange horse riding, biking, boat trips incl. pickup from the hotel). You can buy basic groceries small supermarkets nearby or go to Lidl supermarket in Hersonissos once in a while (3 km walk or 2 stops by bus for 1.80 Euro). The hotel arranged a taxi to and from the airport for us as well (40 Euro). We stayed for 11 nights and were very satisfied - in an appartment with 2 rooms (bedroom, kichen-living room, bathroom - around 40 sq. meters) and a balcony - reality same as the pictures on the web (well kept place). The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room had all we needed incl. everything for cooking (we often cooked for ourselves). Our room was cleaned once in 2-3 days, we got towels replaced every other day, bed sheets every 3 days. Around the pool we heard mostly Dutch, German, Italian and English - usually families or teenagers on holidays. Simply the best holiday ever, will definitelly come back.
4 out of 5
by Justin from UK

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, friendly locals.U
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great location - close to the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Perfect apartments that are close to the beach and shops in Analipsi. Would certainly stay again if I was staying in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Peaceful and Relaxing

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Its clean, peaceful and relaxing. The Tuesday BBQ night is entertaining and great food, would recommend attending.
Cons: Shower head didn't stay in place so had to be hand held.
Location: Close to the airport. Didn't find much along the beach front, but didn't travel that far. The next villages are a short taxi ride away.
Its clean, peaceful and relaxing. Friendly staff The Tuesday BBQ night is entertaining and great food, would recommend attending.
4 out of 5
by Tuan from Buffalo

Comfortable room

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Nice comfortable room