Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Brent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent staff

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: STAFF
Staff really great although I suspect not enough, evening meal really good quality , breakfast so so. But I felt really sad little attention paid to small details which spoils the experience not expensive stuff . Example the premises has 3 flags out the front, a very tired faded Union flag , and two others one which had so little left not sure what it was? Could have been at Gettysburg for all i know, and loads of Fag butts on floor, first impressions count, Room lacked storage space and shelving in bathroom small stuff but you notice it .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Menu needs a lot of improvement hotel need up dating
Location: Nice locaction shame about the hotel
Servers could be better one person doing many jobs need more staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Wonderful friendly place, serving amazing food.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Loved the warm friendly staff who helped to make our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is set in a lovely village with ample parking. The food was amazing.
Cons: We could find no fault with the hotel or its wonderful staff.
Location: The hotel is set in a lovely village with a beautiful windmill closeby together with Hertmonceau Castle just five minutes drive away.
Having just returned from five wonderful days at the Horseshoe Inn, I can thoroughly recommend this beautiful place. Mariya and Gareth along with their wonderful team of staff make you so very welcome and the food is absolutely amazing. Really looking forward to returning in the very near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wick

Loved it

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Staff were brilliant, Room clean,
Location: Herstmonceux Castle a few minutes down the road, with the Observatory in the same grounds.
I had read other reviews about this hotel but booked it as it was a very good price. On arrival we were met by the manageress and she was lovely a cheerful greeting check-in was a breeze, when asked about the hotel she spoke of its history and gave us a little booklet about it. We were in room 2 (overlooking the carpark), not large but by now means small. It was clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant that evening, I am a fussy eater and I was pleased the food was cooked well and tasty. We slept well in our bed and could not hear any traffic noise nor any cars pulling in or out of the carpark. The shower was great - having read reviews saying the water pressure was poor - ours was not. Our breakfast was cooked as ordered and a good filling start to our day. We went to Herstmonceux Castle, which is a few minutes drive down the road that day. On arrival another receptionist enquired if we had had a lovely day which is nice. had a lovely chat with the staff in the evening at the bar. Our departure day breakfast again was cooked to order - I chose slightly different form the menu but is was no trouble at all. It filled me for our journey home. I will happily come back to stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambs

nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: First room four poster
Cons: Service and attentiveness reception slow staff seem preoccupied with other tasks.
Location: Was working so Ideal for my place of work
Nice hotel stayed 3 times rooms vary four poster bed first stay was hard and room very cold, second family room was great but a lot of noise when people walked passed to there rooms last double room was ok but Bathroom was so narrow had to climb into bath to turn on taps and hanbasin was squeeze to use. overall good value accomodation. The staff were all ver warm and welcoming only complaint was attention to service on 3 occasions ordered guiness and badly poured and left for too long as staff had gone off to serve others or polish tables tidy up place logs around the place. Overall very good would recomend it
3 out of 5
by Joan

I had hoped for better!

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is dated. They have done some work, but the place needs a lick of paint. The shower room was dirty(mould), broken tiles on the floor. The sink was cracked. Would not/ could not change the room. Spot lights outside shining into room till early morning. Fan in bathroom was damaged and issued a high pitched screach. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was good, but no frills, no jam. Coffee good. Evening meal was good.
3 out of 5
by Christine

Problem not resolved

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for a weekend Sept. 2017.The manager was very helpful and friendly but the attitude of the owners was negative to say the least as they couldn't be bothered to contact us as promised by two members of their staff concerning a query we had will our accommodation. Needless to say we are very disappointed and will not be returning until under new ownership. When we stayed with you approx. 2 years ago the previous owners were very friendly and helpful.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Lovely looking hotel and amazing decor inside in the reception, bar and restaurant area! Especially after coming back from the medieval festival! Room was nice for family although bathroom slightly cramped and too much uneeded furniture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westbrrook

Hotel and room could be nice

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: It is in a good place for visiting the coastal towns Eastbourne, Hastings, Bexhill which all have their own character The Hotel is inviting
Cons: Breakfast - toast needs its own side plate with butter portions New mattresses A chair or stool in bedroom
Location: Eastern Promise restaurant is well worth a visit. Herstmonceux castle and observatory plus the windmill also garden centres
The room was very clean but the mattress needs replacing as it is sagging in the middle. The breakfast plate was cold and the contents were cold - asked if the next one could be hot and next morning it was just warm. Was asked if we were eating in the restaurant in the evening, the answer was NO- (if it was anything like the breakfast!) There was an excellent Indian Restaurant in Herstmonceux village called Eastern Promise which I thoroughly recommend a visit to.