Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lee on the Solent

Impressive building, but........

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Stayed for one night, booked a family room for the four of us, two young boys three and eight. Staff welcoming and friendly. Room very impressive, spacious with on suite. All good, but....... did notice not very clean in the bathroom. Tiles, inside shower area, plug hole very dirty. Room needed a good hoover. Noticed the furniture had not been moved for cleaning as filthy behind bed and draws etc. We did eat in the restaurant and again staff couldn’t be more helpful and friendly. Food not bad. Breakfast ok. What let it down the most just needed a good clean, shame really as the place has such great potential.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappoint

Posted Jan 24, 2018 on Hotels
very unwelcoming, room very cold and could do with a clean when we tryed to have a bath the water that came out of taps was rust -brown, we could not have a bath. food menu was burger and chips or lasagne which i would not feed to my dog. all together the stay was very disappointing and was not worth the money.
4 out of 5
by Em

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Patrick

Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived to be told no food as chef was ill, no lighting in corridor had to use phone light to Find the locks , asked for a packed lunch and vat receipt and was told that would be sorted in morning and they was not , had to traipse a mile up road for food , pretty poor to be fair
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad place

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very rundown and is in urgent need of a complete refurbishment. The staff are demoralized but were perfectly pleasant and polite. We felt sorry for them having to work there. The pub was virtually empty on Saturday night. Woukd not stay again.
4 out of 5
by Brent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent staff

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: STAFF
Staff really great although I suspect not enough, evening meal really good quality , breakfast so so. But I felt really sad little attention paid to small details which spoils the experience not expensive stuff . Example the premises has 3 flags out the front, a very tired faded Union flag , and two others one which had so little left not sure what it was? Could have been at Gettysburg for all i know, and loads of Fag butts on floor, first impressions count, Room lacked storage space and shelving in bathroom small stuff but you notice it .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Menu needs a lot of improvement hotel need up dating
Location: Nice locaction shame about the hotel
Servers could be better one person doing many jobs need more staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Wonderful friendly place, serving amazing food.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Loved the warm friendly staff who helped to make our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is set in a lovely village with ample parking. The food was amazing.
Cons: We could find no fault with the hotel or its wonderful staff.
Location: The hotel is set in a lovely village with a beautiful windmill closeby together with Hertmonceau Castle just five minutes drive away.
Having just returned from five wonderful days at the Horseshoe Inn, I can thoroughly recommend this beautiful place. Mariya and Gareth along with their wonderful team of staff make you so very welcome and the food is absolutely amazing. Really looking forward to returning in the very near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wick

Loved it

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Staff were brilliant, Room clean,
Location: Herstmonceux Castle a few minutes down the road, with the Observatory in the same grounds.
I had read other reviews about this hotel but booked it as it was a very good price. On arrival we were met by the manageress and she was lovely a cheerful greeting check-in was a breeze, when asked about the hotel she spoke of its history and gave us a little booklet about it. We were in room 2 (overlooking the carpark), not large but by now means small. It was clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant that evening, I am a fussy eater and I was pleased the food was cooked well and tasty. We slept well in our bed and could not hear any traffic noise nor any cars pulling in or out of the carpark. The shower was great - having read reviews saying the water pressure was poor - ours was not. Our breakfast was cooked as ordered and a good filling start to our day. We went to Herstmonceux Castle, which is a few minutes drive down the road that day. On arrival another receptionist enquired if we had had a lovely day which is nice. had a lovely chat with the staff in the evening at the bar. Our departure day breakfast again was cooked to order - I chose slightly different form the menu but is was no trouble at all. It filled me for our journey home. I will happily come back to stay here again