Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2018
Staff were very friendly and helpful but the hotel suffers from a lack of maintenance. Hair dryer did not work. Paint on furniture and carpet. Common areas need attention and better cleaning. One breakfast was average and one was good. Different chefs. Female chefs meal was better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2018
nice family run hotel - in mid refurb which it needs but nice staff and great location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lee on the Solent

Impressive building, but........

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Stayed for one night, booked a family room for the four of us, two young boys three and eight. Staff welcoming and friendly. Room very impressive, spacious with on suite. All good, but....... did notice not very clean in the bathroom. Tiles, inside shower area, plug hole very dirty. Room needed a good hoover. Noticed the furniture had not been moved for cleaning as filthy behind bed and draws etc. We did eat in the restaurant and again staff couldn’t be more helpful and friendly. Food not bad. Breakfast ok. What let it down the most just needed a good clean, shame really as the place has such great potential.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Feb 19, 2018 on Hotels
We were disappointed to find the room allocated had not been cleaned very well and the beds had been slept in. The hotel is under new management and they had only taken over 2 days previously so hopefully things will improve. We had stayed 2 or 3 years ago and whilst everything needed updating it was clean. the whole place is very tired looking and in places quite grubby. Unless it improved we would not book there again. The breakfast was probably the best part of our stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2018 on Hotels
Checked in and was given room key. The room was clean but very cold. Tried to have a shower but water was freezing, went back to reception where they told me the boiler was broken so not hot water or heating. WHY DIDN'T THEY TELL ME WHEN I CHECKED IN??? There was someone trying to fix it so I was given a drink at the bar while I waited. Eventually the boiler Was fixed and i was able to shower, almost 2 hours later. The morning it wasn't working again so unable to shower etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappoint

Posted Jan 24, 2018 on Hotels
very unwelcoming, room very cold and could do with a clean when we tryed to have a bath the water that came out of taps was rust -brown, we could not have a bath. food menu was burger and chips or lasagne which i would not feed to my dog. all together the stay was very disappointing and was not worth the money.
4 out of 5
by Em

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Patrick

Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived to be told no food as chef was ill, no lighting in corridor had to use phone light to Find the locks , asked for a packed lunch and vat receipt and was told that would be sorted in morning and they was not , had to traipse a mile up road for food , pretty poor to be fair
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad place

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very rundown and is in urgent need of a complete refurbishment. The staff are demoralized but were perfectly pleasant and polite. We felt sorry for them having to work there. The pub was virtually empty on Saturday night. Woukd not stay again.
4 out of 5
by Brent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels