Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembury

Very nice comfortable hotel close to Hertford

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: I have never slept in such a large bed anywhere and it equalled in comfort any hotel bed I have ever stayed in. The room was very very spacious.
Cons: The bathroom fan (Room 41) should be replaced but in most hotels they don't work anyway, so it was no surprise!
Location: Very handy for Hertford and nearby.
We went to my cousin's wedding in Hertford followed by a reception in Sele Farm and needed a hotel nearby at a sensible price. The White Horse Hotel exceeded my expectations. I have never slept in such a large bed anywhere and it equalled in comfort any hotel bed I have ever stayed in. The room was very very spacious and even had air-conditioning! Staff were friendly and efficient and ambience was nice. Lovely safe and quiet location with a large car park and plenty of on-street parking it if gets full. Very highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy Hotel Tucked Away

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: The food menu could do with a slight tinkering, the variety for main meals isnt that large so if your a bit of a fussy eater then id eat out.
Room was immaculate and cleaning staff did an excellent job everyday throughout my stay. Staff were friendly and very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely peaceful location in the countryside

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful . Location is great too.
Cons: Some minor updates such as shower in bath.
Location: Lovely peaceful countryside.
Excellent staff polite, helpful especially Emma at reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ruislip

Nice family hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: We felt comfortable and relaxed
Cons: A fridge in the room.
Location: Pleasant village location with Paradise wildlife centre nearby.
Very friendly and helpful staff that made us feel welcome. Nice grounds and pleasant hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable.

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Accommodation clean. Disabled facilities good but more hooks/ shelves, hand rails at steps to reception. Reserved car parking outside room for disabled people would be useful. Will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Erik Juul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Philip from Chesterfield

In need of TLC

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
Staff need to go on customer care course. Arrived 20 ins. before 14.00 and were virtually turned away, as no one in reception. At breakfast tea and coffee were forgotten about until halfway through meal, the waiter did apologise. On checkout we were not asked about our stay. There was a hole in the duvet cover. The bathroom taps had lost their tops. On the good side, the bed was comfortable and the room clean, although the whole hotel does need some TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Good honest hotel. Bit of a trek from reception to our room but it was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Exeter

Christmas Eve

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
All we needed was a bed because we were spending Christmas with a son and his family. The room was excellent. The bed large and comfortable. The corridors and public areas had not been refurbished at the same time as our room but acceptable. I would recommend this hotel