Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

White Horse Hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: simple, understated, perfect. comfy beds/room. Delicious inexpensive dinner. Charming staff.
Cons: Nothing.
simple, understated hotel but perfect. Comfy beds/room. Delicious inexpensive dinner. Charming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice central hotel for visits to hertford

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Room size, bed comfortable, clean, could open windows for fresh air but the room was warm when needed.
Cons: Shower and the stairs
Location: The location is central for Herford, Welwyn and surrounding villages.
Used to drive past this hotel when we lived in the area so thought I would give it a go when back for a visit, the outside looks a but shabby but the rooms are very nice. Couple of heads up no lofts so you have to bump your cases up possibly three flights of stairs and the shower in our room was very hard to set to warm it was either very hot or very cold but other than that I would recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nottinghamshire

Brief Two nights stay

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Quiet location, comfortable rooms and pleasant staff
Cons: The room was very warm, although in fairness the weather was mild for the time of year.
Location: Visiting family in Ware so did not really explore locally
A comfortable room, although a little on the warm side. Very comfy bed. A good size bathroom which was fresh and clean, however no hooks in the bathroom, a minor issue, but would help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for room only

Posted Dec 29, 2015
The hotel was clean and comfortable but the bathroom in room 8 is very tired. The rooms are no better than a travel lodge type establishment and without breakfast, very much over priced. We were visiting family so didn't spend any time in public rooms. I cannot comment on them or the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Nice hotel, quiet location £6 taxi into Hertford centre £9 back after midnight. Very reasonable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembury

Very nice comfortable hotel close to Hertford

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: I have never slept in such a large bed anywhere and it equalled in comfort any hotel bed I have ever stayed in. The room was very very spacious.
Cons: The bathroom fan (Room 41) should be replaced but in most hotels they don't work anyway, so it was no surprise!
Location: Very handy for Hertford and nearby.
We went to my cousin's wedding in Hertford followed by a reception in Sele Farm and needed a hotel nearby at a sensible price. The White Horse Hotel exceeded my expectations. I have never slept in such a large bed anywhere and it equalled in comfort any hotel bed I have ever stayed in. The room was very very spacious and even had air-conditioning! Staff were friendly and efficient and ambience was nice. Lovely safe and quiet location with a large car park and plenty of on-street parking it if gets full. Very highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy Hotel Tucked Away

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: The food menu could do with a slight tinkering, the variety for main meals isnt that large so if your a bit of a fussy eater then id eat out.
Room was immaculate and cleaning staff did an excellent job everyday throughout my stay. Staff were friendly and very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely peaceful location in the countryside

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful . Location is great too.
Cons: Some minor updates such as shower in bath.
Location: Lovely peaceful countryside.
Excellent staff polite, helpful especially Emma at reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ruislip

Nice family hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: We felt comfortable and relaxed
Cons: A fridge in the room.
Location: Pleasant village location with Paradise wildlife centre nearby.
Very friendly and helpful staff that made us feel welcome. Nice grounds and pleasant hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Good honest hotel. Bit of a trek from reception to our room but it was ok.