Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Ok not great

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Has potential, nice gardens,
Cons: Just about everything. Decor, breakfast, staff training and attitude
The hotel was ok not great. The decor was dated and could do with a revamp. The room was disappointing and overpriced. I would have appreciated a decent cushion for bed. I thought for the price I paid, breakfast would be included. I could have done without the sneering remarks by reception about booking a cheap deal. Reception was unattended when I tried to checkin. Receptionist was watching TV in bar. The comments were made twice both to myself and then again to a guest who joined me for breakfast. I would not mind but the deal was not that cheap and certainly not value for money. Breakfast was ok but bacon was overcooked. Hotel was ok for a single night, glad I was only staying short time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Good location

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Good location and reasonable quiet. Could be problematic in bad weather if staying in one of the two detached properties. Food was excellent in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie from Cambridge

Friendly stay

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly
4 out of 5
by John from Scotland

Good food!!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Room quite small and up 3 flights of stairs..no lift. Shower was tiny!! The accommodation is in 3 separate older style buildings which have been modernised. The rather frosty receptionist came outside and just pointed to the building our room was in. However, all other staff were very pleasant and the italian restaurant for dinner was also very good. Breakfast next morning was first class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice friendly efficient hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: mor or less everything but the staff impressed me mostly
Cons: I was put in a room and someone had been smoking in it recently and this should not have happened
Location: Nice area with places of interest
It was a brief stay of one night but I was surprised how good the experience was The lady on reception was friendly and excellent in her job and created a very good impression The room was of a high standard and the breakfast was also very good.What really impressed me though was the attitude of the staff they were very friendly and attentive and good to be around As a businessman I pondered on their training and whoever was responsible had done a good job.Nothing seemed too much trouble they ordered a taxi for me and explained the length of the journey, the approximate cost, the time the taxi would arrive and how long the journey would take.Breakfast was a good experience in a bright sunny room and I asked for a non standard breakfast which was done quickly and efficiently.On leaving I left my bags for later collection which was no problem.It was good to see a well run hotel which made you feel wanted as a guest and I would use it again and recommend it
5 out of 5
by Michael from Birmingham

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very warm reception to a spotless and friendly hotel. Clearly, several guests were regulars and I can see why. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Ample parking available and easy to find.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Martyn from Enfield

More to St. Albans than meets the eye

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
A break away to see a friend and explore the city. Stayed at the Ardmore as it was quite central to my plans. Hotel was very nice and the staff were friendly and attentive throughout. The fact my room was situated in the next building along from the reception meant I could come and go as I pleased without disturbing anyone and not worry about coming back late. Overall I'd recommend this place and would come back again.
5 out of 5
by Colette

Old fashioned quality

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint traditional hotel with excellent food and service. Showers required patience!!