Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting,

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Staff, setting, superb breakfast, facilities ( when working)
Cons: Rooms could be more user friendly for storage
Location: Handy for London, St Albans, airport, M25, M1
A varied stay, very welcoming & helpful staff, great food, lovely grounds. On the down side, small room size, not a drawer to be found for storage, faulty plumbing. Wifi was very intermittent, swimming pool & free coffee machines were out of order & false alarm fire siren at 6.30 am was a bonus!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Harry Potter World trip.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Poor pool and no gym facilities. Demolish the Jerry built annexe, don't send maintenance round at 9am to remove all the showerheads
Great location, nice main hotel, annex poorly insulated for heat and sound. Maintenance and housekeeping intrusive and the gong goes at 9am sharp. No hot water first day. Staff young and try hard but seem to lack experienced management. Lithuanian barmaid needs people skills. Food not so appetising, but grounds very good, and easy access to motorway network. Reception staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
muy bonito paisaje, conviene tener coche, pero merece la pena estar allí.
1 out of 5
by Julius

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shaun from Anglesey

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Initial room allocation was very small.was told they were all this small......ended up in the bridal suite which was a fine. Young man on the desk was a treat ...exceptionally helpful. Had to ask for an extra towel as only one there ...hair net and petals on the floor so not cleaned well.or not cleaned well and checked by supervisor. Food was adequate but pricey as were the drinks. The pool is fine for a refreshing dip....changing arrangement a bit weird.... unisex ..with no lockers. Overall, I travel extensively UK and abroad ....I could stay here again but would insist on the bridal suite as the other rooms are cruise cabin size and a little dull. Good luck. Dr Shaun Ekberg
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from belfast

Close to Warner bro studios

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: The website. It's misleading to anyone booking a room, as it does not describe the actual annex or barn. It misleads customers.
Location: Warner bro studios very close.
Booked 2 rooms, got 15/16 in annex. Room 16 was clean and adequate for a 2 night stay, BUT room 15 should be quarter of the price charged!! (£53), as it was really not fit for purpose. Black mould around the inside of large garden view window, the view was nice, the tap in the bathroom would not turn off, so had a constant running water noise for 3 days and 2 nights, hence, very little, to no sleep. The kettle in the room needs replacing, because when we tried to make several cups of tea, and boiled several kettles of water, it was still scummy and blackish when poured into cups, disgusting! THIS ROOM SHOULD NOT BE RENTED OUT! the other room was fine, and I would go back, as long as they did not put me in room 15, the staff are very helpful and very friendly and the food was very good. Hotel was clean, as were the beds, which I have to say were very comfortable, but if your wanting a good nights sleep, book elsewhere, as it's very noisy. Rebecca, one of the receptionist was absolutely fantastic at her job. 10/10 To REBECCA and bar and restaurant staff. the website needs serious updating, ie: make it plain and clear, it is NOT the Manor House in the photos, you are actually staying in, but in an annex, with lots of small hotel style rooms, off the reception on one side, or a barn addition on the other side of the reception, NOT the beautiful manor itself. Very misleading!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

overpriced

Posted May 2, 2016
I feel this was overpriced for quality of rooms Feel premier inn off better quality rooms ! Very small , well used , thin walls and too hot with no way to control heat . Unfortunately i I was on ground floor (so could not have open window during night for security ) The picture looks lovely but reality the rooms are on a Nablus build extension away from the house I chose this because it was close to Warner bros but they have closed road which is short cut so it is a good drive around outside of town to get there anyway Would rather stay at generic hotel where standard is guaranteed ( sadly to say as I normally love to find independent , individual hotels ) The grounds did look lovely though
3 out of 5
by Alison

Nice food shame about the room small and mouldy!

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very small with mouldy around Windows and in bathroom ! Food was nice at breakfast
5 out of 5
by Paul from Cheshire

Great hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel and service. Very friendly staff. Very convenient for the Warner Bros Harry Potter tour
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
I had a really nice time in this hotel. The staff were excellent and were really helpful. The room was really comfortable and clean. I would definately be going again. Easy access to other attractions such as the harry potter studios.