Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Night in Mercure Hatfield

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The reception staff were helpful as where the bar staff. The room I booked was very comfortable - Executive Room, spacious and had all the items required for a great night out or a meeting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK wide

Rude

Posted Oct 21, 2016
I dared to make a complaint to the front desk who comment was 'oh well' and that was it. Upon a second challenge I was told to request in advance that the my facilities were appropriate (I am keeping the actual complaint private as I was a personal matter). There will not be a be a next time.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Look after the guests

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Spacious, comfortable rooms, nice dining area. Good parking facilities.
Cons: Staff need to attend to the guests
Location: Excellent, bus station nearby to station, shops etc.
We had a two night stay in this comfortable hotel. The first night dinner was very good with attentive service. Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice but the staff were more bothered about re-organising the room than paying attention to the guests who needed dishes and spoons. The Kipper fillets we ordered turned out to be a quarter of a kipper and compared to everyone elses meal of the bacon and egg choice was minute in size. The next morning there were no dishes, spoons or buffet and we were told we had to order any cooked breakfast which wasn't the same as we didn't know the proportions we were getting. It was supposed to be a buffet and it was disappointing as there was hardly anything available, no bread, about two pastries, no cheese either. We ordered the Kipper fillets again and alas just the same size. The mainly foreign staff were very busy setting the tables and were very reluctant to attend to the guests. In fact no one attended to the guests at all apart from serving the Kipper and hot drinks. Considering the buffet was almost empty no one asked us if we would like more toast or drinks or anything else. On the morning we were due to leave, the fire alarm went off and the hotel was evacutated. No one seemed to be in charge and the guests had no idea what was happening. It was pouring with rain and the guests stood outside, no one told us anything after or seemed in the least bit bothered afterwards as it was possibly someone smoking in the room tha
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient business hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very helpful with concerns I had about original room which was changed without question. Second room at back of hotel comfortable and quiet. Restaurant very good for this type of hotel. Good for the business traveler.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite good Hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was of a good standard except for the car park lighting and no lighting around the exterior of the building. There are quite a few trip hazards near the front door this can be a problem if you are not careful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

University Trip

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for visiting University of Hertfordshire, good food and bar area. Road noise from A1 is quite loud in the rooms when windows are open, which you need during the summer. Room decoration is quite dated and needs to be refreshed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Very pleasant and courteous staff. The room was comfortable and spotless. Safe care park. Just what was needed after 5 hours on the road.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Matthew from Bournemouth

Hotel getting tired

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Booked for an overnight stay after a family party. Bed was comfy and room spacious with separate seating area. Bathroom and communal areas of the hotel are getting tired - wobbly floor tiles, grout missing, mouldy sealant round the shower screen. Staff pleasant enough but coffee overpriced and service a bit slow. With that said it serves the purpose for an overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need to upgrade rooms with air con for summer.

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Have stayed here for 4 times now but never again. Seemed to be staff who don't know what they are doing on reception and when i was told i had't prepaid which i knew i had she asked for my confirmation. I had to unpack it from my luggage and when i got back was told it's i've found it. When i asked for a receipt to say this i was told they could not provide it. I insisted i wanted something saying it is paid. She eventually typed it on letterheaded paper. But only with 2 of the 3 days i stayed on. Also as i go in the July period it is always hot and the rooms are not air conditioned or any cooling fans provided so is very uncomfortable. Only plus this time is the room i was given was a mini suite type room with big bed, sofa chairs and nespresso machine. But still unbearably hot in the rooms.