Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay elsewhere

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Food was terrible and expensive. Room was dark, cramped. The beds were uncomfortable. I suffer from allergies and could not breath, as there must have been something in the room to trigger a reaction
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good budget hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Cheap and cheerful budget hotel in convenient location for a wedding we were attending. The room was pretty basic but it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We didn't get woken up during night by other guests either, which was a massive plus. The restaurant food and breakfast was good. Only complaint really was the loud samba/ carnival music blasting out in the bar. It seems all the Mercure hotels are having a 'Rio Christmas' theme - odd.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and easy

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Average, noisy, due to Christmas parties. Staff were all new and inexperienced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pleasant staff, nice room. Only problem was the fire alarm going off at 14.30!!! Rather scary and loud especially when fast asleep! However nothing to be concerned about!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Not impressed with the bathroom light being on a sensor which couldn't be isolated therefore comes on automatically disturbing occupant when bathroom used in the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Very old building, toilet not so clean, without breakfast included and the staff not so friendly indeed. I paid 130 pounds for a night. I don't recommend this hotel for sure also far from the center. You can find an other hotels which are really nicer than this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Night in Mercure Hatfield

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The reception staff were helpful as where the bar staff. The room I booked was very comfortable - Executive Room, spacious and had all the items required for a great night out or a meeting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK wide

Rude

Posted Oct 21, 2016
I dared to make a complaint to the front desk who comment was 'oh well' and that was it. Upon a second challenge I was told to request in advance that the my facilities were appropriate (I am keeping the actual complaint private as I was a personal matter). There will not be a be a next time.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Look after the guests

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Spacious, comfortable rooms, nice dining area. Good parking facilities.
Cons: Staff need to attend to the guests
Location: Excellent, bus station nearby to station, shops etc.
We had a two night stay in this comfortable hotel. The first night dinner was very good with attentive service. Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice but the staff were more bothered about re-organising the room than paying attention to the guests who needed dishes and spoons. The Kipper fillets we ordered turned out to be a quarter of a kipper and compared to everyone elses meal of the bacon and egg choice was minute in size. The next morning there were no dishes, spoons or buffet and we were told we had to order any cooked breakfast which wasn't the same as we didn't know the proportions we were getting. It was supposed to be a buffet and it was disappointing as there was hardly anything available, no bread, about two pastries, no cheese either. We ordered the Kipper fillets again and alas just the same size. The mainly foreign staff were very busy setting the tables and were very reluctant to attend to the guests. In fact no one attended to the guests at all apart from serving the Kipper and hot drinks. Considering the buffet was almost empty no one asked us if we would like more toast or drinks or anything else. On the morning we were due to leave, the fire alarm went off and the hotel was evacutated. No one seemed to be in charge and the guests had no idea what was happening. It was pouring with rain and the guests stood outside, no one told us anything after or seemed in the least bit bothered afterwards as it was possibly someone smoking in the room tha