Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mercure Watford

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Pool and easy drive to Harry Potter Studios.
Cons: Bathroom needs a door if using as a family room.
A reasonable hotel a short drive from Harry Potter Studios. Nice indoor pool area. Spacious family room. Two issues - staff forgot to make up the sofa bed for my son. We discovered this when arriving back at the hotel very late at night and had to wait for the bed to be made up before putting the children to bed. Bathroom was designed with no doors - my children found this very disconcerting!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Convenient for drivers on major road.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Cheap and cheerful
Cons: Smell in bathroom
Location: Busy road.
Easy driving access. No place to walk to except nearby fast food. Staff were very good about my changing plans. Bed was good, room was clean, bathroom smelled moldy and damp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Mercure Watford

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Keeping the dog
Cons: Things mentioned above
Location: The advert said 2 miles outside Watford, but the satnav said 4.5 miles outside.
We were extremely disappointed. The room was spacious and it was helpful that we could have the dog with us. That was great. But there was a staircase running beside/above the room (133) which was extremely loud - you could clearly hear every step people were taking. Similarly you could hear people walking across the room above - it was very loud and disturbing. It felt very intrusive, almost like it was communal. This got worse in the night because the man in the room above couldn't stop coughing all night - it was a horrible hacking and rasping cough that went on and on, you couldn't ignore it and we couldn't sleep because of it. Obviously there was little that the hotel could do about that - but it felt as though there was no sound proofing. It ruined any prospects of sleep. On top of that, when we used the shower it immediately filled up and we had to stop using it quickly otherwise it would have overflowed. Wine had obviously been spilled on the floor next the bed as there was a red patch, which had been dried, but there was still some glass there. People in rooms along the corridor left their rubbish outside the room in the corridor - just not very pleasant seeing the remnants of last night's food and drink as you walked along.The whole place seemed a bit dingy and run down. I walked around the hotel on the following day and there were lots of disused rooms with junk stored in them and right at the back there was a sort of dumping ground. Overall it seemed very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was good

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hare Krishna Hare Krishna Krishna Krishna Hare Hare Hare Rama Hare Rama Rama Rama Hare Hare
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Slow staff. Unfriendly at check in and check out. Unprofessional too - hand phone over at check in so they can check reservation but then they think it's ok to click on links and open webpage before asking if it's ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

hotel refused to provide guest with water.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: comfortable beds
Location: Good location
nothing to write home about not very busy too quite restuarant virtually empty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horsham

Ok for for an over night stay

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good quality and didn't cut corners. lots of free parking.
Cons: hotel needs a bit more love and care / refurbishment- damaged furniture, walls and fittings generally through out the clearly old building.
Location: very little near by, more of a work man / business man stop over.
Comfortable hotel provided you get an executive room, bathrooms showing their age as is the general building which is now in need or repair / refurbishment with many damaged items / dirty bathroom seals. Executive room is kept to a better standard. Doesn't meet the high standard of Mercure hotels on the continent but typical of UK branches.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned with very out of date furnishings.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Nothing other than the closeness to The Harry Potter studios
Cons: The whole place needs modernising
Location: We booked a Christmas present to see the Harry Potter studios with a special 8.30 breakfast viewing. The experience was brilliant.
We stayed in room 416 which was like going back to really bad bed and breakfast standards. Wished I had gone to a travel lodge at least you know what you are getting. the only plus side was that it was very close to The Harry Potter studios where we had tickets for early breakfast. The Mercury neeeds a total overhaul or should be pulled down. Expedia, please do not recommend this hotel on your web site
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Would not stay here again if I was paid !!

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The exterior of the hotel was dirty and tired. The interior (room) was outdated. The painting of the walls and skirting was scuffed and unfinished in a lot of places. The room was cold as the radiator did not work properly so we was given some portables heaters which were not ideal to moderate the temperature in the room. we booked a family room as we was travelling with our 2 year old daughter. The sofa bed mattress was so old the springs were poking through. She could not sleep on it so had to get into the bed with my wife and as a result I had to sleep on it. It was so uncomfortable I resorted to sleeping on the floor. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels