Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

A bit of a nightmare...

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Cons: Please, PLEASE check that the rooms you allocate are not already occupied! It was frightening for me, let alone the woman whose room I entered.
I was rather disappointed with my stay at the Ramada Hatfield. Upon arriving, I had to wait 30 minutes to be checked in as there was only one member of staff on duty. I was then nearly given a single room despite having paid for a twin room - once I flagged this, I was told that there were no twin rooms, so I would be given a double. I was pleased with this, but sadly this is where the trouble began. I was allocated a room, and struggled up the stairs and through various corridors to find it. I opened the door of my room, and there was already a woman in there! I apologised profusely and hurried back downstairs, frankly quite terrified that such a thing could happen. The woman at reception didn't seem overly concerned by what I had experienced and simply gave me a different room (though she did offer to help me with my bags the second time). The second room I was given was fine, but I was so spooked that someone might walk in on me like I had walked in on another guest that I was constantly on edge, and slept terribly. I am a young woman and was travelling alone, and my experience hardly made me feel at ease. I did flag the incident with a different member of staff the next morning, who suggested that it was due to the fact the woman the night before was new - she also added that she had heard of it happening a few times which is hardly reassuring! I will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Convenient for course I was attending

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Nice hotel. Small room but adequate for my needs. Clean. A little cold as radiator didn't get hot(older part of the building). Electric heater provided but I find these dry the air too much so I didn't use. Mattress and pillows a little squishy for my liking but overall the room was fine for a short stay. Expected more noise as so close to a busy road so I was surprised how quiet it was. Reasonable price considering a great breakfast was included along with free parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am pleased to hear you found your bedroom clean, quiet & value for money with our full English breakfast included for free.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: cannot comment
Location: location is good but terrible hotel
Torn carpets, very dirty room, broken bed and there is absolutely nothing I can say good about...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. Admittedly the hotel would benefit from some investment and a complete re-build is planned for July 2017. I am surprised you found your bedroom very dirty as although in need of investment our housekeeping standards of cleanliness are high; our latest Ramada Quality Assurance Audit scored bedroom cleanliness at over 95%.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Good location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
In need of updating, desk staff weren't the friendliest, restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 3 star review. I apologise that the reception team on duty were not friendly; the most important part of their job I feel so it will be addressed. I am however very pleased you found my restaurant team very friendly and helpful. Agreed the hotel would benefit from updating and a complete re-build is planned for July 2017.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Ok, not great

Posted Jan 18, 2017
We had 2 reservations. Reception staff weren't very welcoming, the single room we received was very old, dark and had a very strong horrible odor. The double Room was much better. I would suggest not booking a single room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 3 star review. I apologise that the reception team on duty were not very welcoming; I would say the most important part of their job so this will be addressed. Our single bedrooms are the same age as our double bedrooms but yes they may appear dark as they are small. Apologies for the odour; I will visit them all myself and assess if anything more than just airing the bedroom needs to be done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a bit dated

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Room, location & breakfast great! Check in & out guy needs to learn to smile or enjoy his job or find something else to do! Renew the carpets in the corridors instead of repairing tears with silver duc tape!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am delighted you found your bedroom and breakfast great. I am sorry the receptionist was miserable; he is indeed leaving our employment very soon. I apologise for the carpets too; these will be replaced in August 2017 when the hotel is due to be re-built.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St albans

Impressed

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Despite difficulties Ramada have more than made up for inconvenience caused due to unforeseen circumstances beyond their control looking forward to staying again :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank so much for your 5 star review, much appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff was lovely it was Close to were we was going. The staff was very friendly and helpful
Cons: The meals in the restaurant and the room we staying in the shower ceiling could be done with a paint job and it could do with a little paint job
Location: The location was great as they was a lot you can do for every one,there was a shopping centre for people who like to spend money, lots of other things
On arriving at the hotel the staff welcomed us with a smile and very helpful we went to our rooms there was something is missing like cups towels, there was three people staying in the room . As we were unpacked we thought we would have a cup of tea, my sister was going to boil the kettle when she noticed that the wire was broken, we went to reception and show them that the wire was broken they brought us a brand-new kettle to replace the one that was broken We had a lovely day in London we went by bus then tub it was fun. On our return we thought we like some food I the restaurant we was shown to our sits and we decided to have a lamb curry and a Bolognese for my daughter company on the Niall coming it wasn't decided to have a lamb curry and a Bolognese for my daughter, the meal they serve us was a chicken curry which we asked for a lamb one , they replaces the meal and it was the weirdest curry I have ever tasted , the maitre D was very rude to me and did not what to list to when I said I am not paying for that meal .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 3 star review. I am pleased you found the hotel well located and my team (bar one) so friendly and helpful. Thank you for your feedback regarding the shower cubicle ceiling; I have instructed this to be action-ed. I am sorry to hear the restaurant or kitchen got your curry order incorrect and apologise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast
Cons: Long walk to many of the rooms, but that's the layout.
Convenient for Hatfield facilities, nice bar area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks you for your 3 star review. I am pleased you found our bar nice and breakfast good. Yes the hotel is only on a ground and 1st floor so with 128 bedrooms some are a little walk from reception; if you stay again please do request a bedroom nearer to reception and my team will try their best to accommodate you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Staff attitude

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Phoned hotel to check booking and was immediately hung up on after they confirmed they had my booking despite being mid sentence. Checking in was fine but sign up saying restaurant was fully booked from 8pm. We were told we would be able to eat if went straight away (7pm) . Get to restaurant to be told fully booked, there was no one in there! Anyway eventually get back to room and realise it us only set up for two people when there were three of us. Tried calling reception , it was engaged that was fair enough but over the next twenty minutes I tried three times and phone just rang out. Had to go down to reception to get extra towels etc. and point out dirty towels had been left in the room. Expected better from Ramada
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 3 star review; very generous considering the issues you encountered. I too expect better from my team and will be de-briefing my managers. My apologies for the poor service you encountered during your stay.