Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Crawley

Listed Building, but needs modernisation inside.

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: The helpfulness of all the staff. The quality of the food Convenient location
Cons: The heating and general plumbing could do with a complete refurbishment. Decor was a bit tired as well.
Location: Galleria shopping centre. University of Hertfordshire.
Hotel was generally good but let down by the age of it's internal room fittings. There was no radiator in the room but a fan heater was provided. The water flow was only just adequate in the shower it was a bit pathetic, the toilet flush was on the way out,could do with new plumbing all round. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good value for money and well prepared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am delighted to read how friendly & helpful my team are and how well your food was prepared; the hotel has a very extensive A la Carte menu which is all homemade and freshly prepared. There are radiators in all our bedrooms, it is possible it may have been hidden by the curtains when pulled. We place fan heaters in all bedrooms as an additional facility. I am sorry you experienced low water pressure and apologise. At the beginning of the year the hotel had a new pressurised hot water system installed and cold water booster sets in one bedroom block that previously suffered from low water pressure so I am at a loss to explain why your experienced this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staying at the Ramada Hatfield

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Convenient location - close to Motorway Free parking and Free Wifi
Cons: Quality of bed Booking procedure advises that the room will be a single or double but does not confirm at time of booking or allow the option :((
Location: great shopping facilities (Galleria) nearby
Staff - polite and professional Food, restaurant, bar - not used Room - clean, a little tired in terms of decor Shower - very good Bed - could feel mattress springs - needs changing Had booked a double room for two adults and on arriving at the room realised we'd be given a twin room (grrrr) Went back to reception and had this changed to a double - which was no problem but an unnecessary inconvenience. Be careful when you book your room(s) and maybe call them in advance to make sure this doesn't happen to you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you found my team polite & professional and the shower very good. I am sorry to read you found the mattress worn and apologise. All our mattresses are under 10 years old, most companies change them once they reach this age. We do replace some mattresses before this age and have recently replaced two in December which may well be one of the ones you slept on.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quality food spoilt by poor service

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Ordered room service, started off well food was delicious and well made but missing cutlery! Stayed in one of the superior rooms, window open in room upon arrival - in the middle of the night realised why, to disguise the smell of stagnant smoke - needs a complete refurb. When checking out was asked about my stay,discreetly gave feedback - receptionist wasn't interested. AVOID STAYING HERE, poor standard - poor service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear of your poor experience and apologise. It is often hard to eliminate the smell of smoke from smoker's clothes especially when the gap between a guest checking out and another guest checking in is so small. I am so sorry your room service tray was missing cutlery; I will discuss your feedback with my Operations Manager so he can address this with his team. Thank you for offering your feedback upon checkout discreetly and I apologise if the receptionist appeared dis-interested. I will discuss your feedback with my Front Office Manager so she can address this with her team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neil from Tonbridge

Good stay

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Just needed a place to spend one night over in Hatfield. Outside of the hotel is a bit tired, but inside this hotel is a good standard. Prices vary depending on how busy they are, but I got a good price for this room. All in all suited my purpose well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 4 star review. I am pleased to read you found the inside of the hotel was a good standard and the price you paid good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Constantina from Northampton

Loved it

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
I booked the room at the same day, and we were pleasantly surprised. Great conditions and extremely quiet. Thank you, Ramada Defenetley will consider booking again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review and I am so pleased to read you loved your stay. We do hope you are able to stay again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2015
The staff looks too busy to care about their guest. I asked for a taxi and they just said "do by yourself, on the desk there is the phone".
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read your experience booking a taxis marred your stay and apologise. The direct dial telephone straight through to AAA Taxis was installed for guest convenience so during busy times guests did not have to wait or queue just to book at taxis. I agree if the receptionist is not busy or the guest would prefer not to make the call the receptionist should make the call for the guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 4 star review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aimee from Perranporth

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed with my teenage son in a twin room. We stayed one night visiting my eldest son who has just started uni living in the nearby campus. We had a comfortable stay and a good dinner and breakfast.I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and I am delighted you had such a comfortable stay and a good dinner & breakfast. This hotel is ideally located for visiting the University of Hertfordshire as it is located just opposite. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are visiting your son again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by ROBERT from Norwich

Ramada J-average

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Lights kept tripping the fuse in my room, shower kept running hot and cold, bed was ok, not overly comfortable. Staff were really nice, and for the price I was happy overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

RAmanda Hatfield

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Liked the hotel. Only negative was the lack of TV channels or maybe remote didn't work properly! Great breakfast room spacious and staff helpful .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review and pleased you like our hotel with great breakfast, spacious room & helpful staff. You may be right regarding the remote control as our bedrooms TVs have freeview which gives our guests access to hundreds of TV channels.