Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location, great accommodation, great stay!!!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Linda, the lady who runs the Akama Resort, was there when we arrived and made us feel welcome from the first hello. A beautiful, modern, spacious apartment, perfectly located close to the wharf. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Joanne

Family Holiday

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
The 3 bedroom apartment we stayed in was beautiful (myself and 2 * 87 year olds) - very spacious and comfortable with views to the Marina. Check in was easy and Robyn, the manager was very helpful throughout our stay. It is handy to have lift access and basement parking. Close to Boat Club, Marina and other restaurants as well as great walks along the Bay. Very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Wotif
Nice Hotel to stay at. In anice quiet location. Walking distance to Boat Club.
4 out of 5
by lorraine

Easter with the Grandkids

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyable Easter week-end with the Grandkids. Good location, spacious rooms, well serviced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Affordable

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Central and easy to find shops and beach and the boats grate for families as well as groups.
Cons: just a fresh up on furniture
Location: Boat club and pool short drive to beaches and parks
Fun and peaceful could enjoy yourself just staying in the room with a full chef kitchen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great stay in Hervey Bay

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Akama resort is an apartment style hotel with very spacious rooms and a full kitchen. It's close to a supermarket (though walking at night can be creepy with the bats flying around by the Botanical Gardens). The staff are so friendly and incredibly helpful. Definitely the highlight of our stay at Akama. Dana had a full package ready for us when we arrived outlining nearby food options and our excursion plans. It's a bit further from the barge than we expected - about a $45 cab ride each way. But we enjoyed our stay there as a stopover to Fraser Island. Highly recommend Akama and there was laundry in the suite too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Robyn and Dana, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the very kind review. It was our pleasure to be able to offer you a comfortable stay as well as coordinate your 4wd adventure on Fraser Island. We aim to provide everything our guests need to make their stay enjoyable and that information pack on arrival can be extremely comforting to guests. Really glad you appreciated it. Enjoy the rest of your Aussie experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, lovely big rooms and well equipped.

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: cleanliness, room size, modern décor, great hotel
Cons: A couple of extra garbage bags under the sink
Location: slightly out of town, need to drive to the main beach swimming area and restaurants so you do need to still use the car which isn't always ideal
Great stay lots of fun lovely rooms nice and big and airy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Robyn and Dana, Hotel Management
Thanks for your time in posting a review. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our clean, spacious apartments. It sounds liked you enjoyed our full chefs kitchen and we take on board your suggestion of extra garbage bags. Hopefully you managed to wander over to the Marina complex or The Boat Club to enjoy a meal there too. Look forward to welcoming you as a return guest in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet spot in this busy reaort

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Off the main drag, spacious high quality accommodation
Cons: Nothing - it's lovely
Location: Closest to the boat harbour. They do booking for Fraser etc., so handy for exploring g
In a nice quiet area, off the main drag with excellent, modern, spacious, well-equipped apartments
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
So pleased to read that you were happy with our clean spacious apartment and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great apartment

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Very quiet location away from beach and shops restaurants. Excellent apartment , ocean view on level 4 ok but mostly of harbour . Not that exciting . Pool and spa very nice as was garden and bar b q facilities. Robyn very helpful and took time to explain Fraser Island tour which was well worth the time to go and see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Robyn, Hotel Management
Hello Wayne, Thanks for the great review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a good time on Fraser Island. Like you, our guests enjoy our quiet location with the added benefit of being able to walk to the marina or boat club for a meal. See you on your next visit to the region. Regards Robyn