Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Fantastic Location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: It is situated very close to good restaurants and has excellent security.
Cons: The swimming pools need to be heated. The TV in our unit was small with very few channels.
Location: The resort is close to tourist boats which take whale watching tours.
This resort has the best location being right on the beach with nothing in between.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney Aust

Week in Hervey Bay

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Room size was great and layout was excellent for two people. Location close to marina was good for us but out of the way for most of the Bay.
Cons: need to have good internet services.
Breakfree resort was very good for our stay in Hervey Bay but definitely need a car to get around. Unit was good and well furnished but bed was uncomfortable. Lack of wifi was another drawback but resort was clean and well run.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brissy

Beautiful location

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs some updating new carpet etc
Location: Lovely peaceful
Lovely although on the first morning we were disturbed by someone banging a hammer in the room above it went on for at least 30 mins from 810am.. I was glad we left the unit early so as not to hear it if it continued. When we left we saw a hanyman carrying things up stairs. It didnt happen again so i didnt complain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: All the above
Cons: Most of the staff were great - the odd grumpy one could learn from them!
Location: Great location and all activities available in Hervey Bay
Very comfortable, minor problems fixed quickly (TV not working) - well equipped - great location for beach, boat harbour, esplanade walks or cycle - great views, lovely pools - grounds well maintained. Only criticism was not well insulated from other rooms (could hear people talking if they had loud voices) but compensated by facilities and position. To watch the ocean come and go, be on the beach in 2 minutes, 5 min stroll to Boat Harbour for Boat Club and other restaurants, beach sports - public bus nearby if needed - undercover parking good. Would definitely stay again. Initial staff were not very welcoming which is not a good start, but others were great and really helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for catch up with large family

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Wotif
We had 7 rooms booked and had all travelled from all over Qld and interstate. All the rooms did vary in decor, with some being nicer than others. My family scored a ground floor room in front of the lap pool. It has a massive spa which fit 5 children in. Unfortunately our rooms were not all close due to the configurations of the resort, however we did really enjoy being able to use all the spaces such as games room, BBQ area and tennis courts. We also felt like we had our own private beach!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, beach at our front door.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable.
Cons: The unit needs attention throughout.
Location: Location excellent. Nice walking paths.
Sorry, but the unit is needing a good revamp, even a good clean would help. Location was terrific.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely views and swimming pool. Great location.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location, swimming pool, views
Cons: Maybe a tray and one or two plastic containers will be nice.😀
Location: Lovely restaurants nearby and cycle and walking paths.
Loved it. We thoroughly enjoy this hotel, have been here a number of times before and it is the only choice for us. Will definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bidwill NSW

close to everything

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything is great
Cons: Earlier check in
Location: Restaurants, marina , Harvey bay the bay itself,lovely people
Highly recommend great sandy straits have stayed here many times convenient to everything just a great place to stay. Great views lovely sunrise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel with great view

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Wotif
Excellent position right on the water. We could watch the dolphins playing in the water from our balcony. The kids loved the pools and the room was very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Overlooking the beach and pool at a great rate.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Room, view and facilities.
Cons: The games room is outdated. Needs to be brought into the 21st century.
Location: Next to the Marina and a short walk to the Urangan pier. Boating, fishing and associated water activities. Decent shopping is a 10 minute drive away.
This is not a 5 star resort and the price reflects that. So, in terms of value for money it's very good! 2 pools, 2 tennis courts, a lovely view and a decent sized balcony to sit and enjoy it. Our unit had a new kitchen including dishwasher and up-to-date furnishings. There are also BBQs for guests and residents near the tennis courts if you prefer that to the kitchen.