Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Christopher

A lovely little hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
A really nice hotel in a beautiful, tranquil location with good, free parking and lovely food. The check in process was a little impersonal and not particularly welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens Greece

Nice hotel ,friendly people .

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Beautiful clean hotel with good food. The owner always there to provide us infos for the region.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean guest house

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Hotel lacked guest service and sometimes it wasn't quite friendly. It was quite confusing to enter the hotel with many doors closed and elevator not working at times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Just OK, not great.

Posted Nov 2, 2015
The hotel was practically empty and we got put in a cramped attic room with no windows, just a skylight. The owner was courteous if asked a question but I felt more like an intrusion than a welcome guest. This was no bargain, so why stay there? And there is nothing to do in the town, so you have to go to Freiburg for aNY thing.
4 out of 5
by Henry from Singapore

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Surrounded By Black Forest! Am so glad to have such unique experience - surrounded by mountains. Right infront is strawberry farms. Fresh Air, tranquil. Hotel is helpful. One nite when I returned late, Kitchen is already closed. But the lady when to prepare a large portion of dinner. Hotel provides good breakfast for 5 Euros. I bet no where else can find a good breakfast at such price. Main challenge is Transport. Do note: The nearest Train Station is Denzlingan. One stop before Freiburg Hbf. Need to take a bus from Hotel to Denzlingan (fairly long wait :) Nevertheless I have a wonderful 4 nights stay. I managed to use this Hotel as Base to travel to Zurich, Luzern, Rhinefalls. I return to Hotel nightly despite the transport limitation. Overall, am super glad to have an unique experience to stay away from City. And dwell in the midst of Black Forest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off the beaten path

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay, but in hindsight we wouldn't have booked this hotel due to convenience. While it was a great value, we had trouble figuring out the train and bus routes that we had to take - it was in total about 6 euros and 25 min one-way. This place seems to cater more towards older domestic travelers who have a car and want a yearly country retreat. The hotel is in a small residential suburb surrounded by beautiful farmland. The dinner and breakfast were pretty good, but eating at the hotel was the only nearby option. This is a quaint family-owned establishment with clean, airy rooms but less services than larger hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

large rooms friendly service

Posted Aug 22, 2012 on Hotels
good clean hotel. Good buffet breakfast. Lovely beer garden. rooms 11 and 12 are the best with balconies. We had room 18, on the 2nd floor during a heatwave. Fan provided though but sweltering !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kaiserslautern, Germany

Farther from downtown Freiburg than advertised

Posted Jul 4, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel because it indicated it was only 3 km from the cathedral and city center and it was more like 11 km. When we arrived the owner knew us by name, which was nice and took us up to our room. We had reserved a double bed room and though it had two beds they were twin sized and seperated. When we asked the owner, she indicated it was her last room and there was nothing she could do, we had booked late or something...which in reality we booked two days earlier. We were not happy with this, but had no other choice but to deal with it. The next morning there was a breakfast buffet, it was small, but what I expected. No frills. I wouldn't stay here again if coming to Freiburg, but it was clean and worked for just the one night we were there. Just not impressed.
4 out of 5
by Anthony

not a bad place to stay for the area.

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very nice family owned place. The owners do a great job for the amount of people they have. The only thing I would negatively put is that It is NOT a hotel. It is a guesthouse. A hotel has much higher standards.