Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best full English breakfast ever.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff,hotel Clean
Following RAC rally ,only stayed 1 night.will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a quiet location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and the evening meals were lovely, and had a nice selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Friendly staff who were keen to serve you. Good meals and ideal location for exploring the local area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

thoughts on stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Observatory connection and food
Cons: Furniture in bedroom a little tired and a lounge area away from bar would be nice
Location: Good access to hexham and Alnwick. Walks to river and observatory attached
Nice hotel but a little tired in places. Good food and position,and friendly welcome
5 out of 5
by Catherine

Dog friendly

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel of a very high standard, great food and extra dog friendly with extra treats made to feel very welcome
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding evening meal

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We had a one night stay at this hotel. The room was very pleasant but the bed was a small double too small for two tall people like us. The evening meal was excellent. Shame we had a cloudy evening we were looking forward to enjoying the 'dark skies'
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Lovely rural hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Lovely hotel in pretty surroundings with a beautiful garden to the rear. Nice touches with bowl of fruit and delicious biscuits! Good quality fittings, bed was only a double. Shower a bit tricky to get the temperature right. We were a bit worried noise from other bedrooms as the corridor was so thin, but this wasn't the case. Lots of choice for breakfast, very enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
thank you for your feedback
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Upgraded to a lodge, evening meal very rushed!!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: We only saw the bar and restaurant area and it is dated, There is a garden area which would be nice to sit in if weather permits.
Cons: The Staff in the Restaurant need a bit more training maybe that is an ongoing thing, I hope so, if would make eating here a more enjoyable experience
Location: We only had a walk around the village, a couple of pubs and a local shop, nothing to see here! I am sure there are places nearby to visit by car
We were only there for one night so we upgraded to a Lodge, it was very impressive you have your own outside area with patio furniture good for sitting out with a drink if the weather is ok. There was a selection of fruit in the room which was complimentary, and a fridge which is useful for your wine. The TV did not work throughout our stay, they sent a young man from the kitchen to sort it, he couldn't. The staff seem to have to do a bit of everything, bar work, reception, and waiting on tables. The hotel itself seems a bit dated and is very dark inside, BEWARE of the cat that sits at the bar it scratches!!!! The food was good but the courses came out very quickly and the staff were very keen to take your plate away on both the starter and the main I was still eating off my plate and had to tell them twice I wasn't finished!! We were asked to eat our dessert in the bar area as they wanted to set up the tables for breakfast, it wasn't late it was only 9.15pm and we sat down to eat at 8pm not a relaxing meal. The breakfast was ok not as rushed thankfully. We have been told the Tasting Menu is very good but that has to be pre-ordered. I would recommend trying the this on reports I have heard from friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
thank you for your feedback