Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good setting in country

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Cons: restaurant was expense when you added vegs so ate at very good local pub
Location: very good local pub
in nice countryside area very good for sightseeing
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Andrew Fox, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Slaley Hall. I am sorry you felt the restaurant was expensive we do offer to dine in the Claret Jug which is more of a classic menu with a pub feel. Best wishes Andrew Fox Regional General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Stay and Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent relaxing stay at Slaley. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly go there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017
Dear Traveler Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Slaley Hall. I am delighted you had a relaxing stay at the hotel and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Fox Regional General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slaley Hall

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Quiet, comfortable, effective service. All staff were accommodating. Good facilities.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Slaley Hall long weekend.

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Slaley Hall is a great place for a get away. Golfers will revel in the two championship courses. Those who want pampered have excellent spa facilities. There are other outdoor activities on site. The hotel is very nice but there are small signs that redecoration and refurbishment will be due soon. Staff are very friendly and always there to assist. Buffet breakfast is very good and there are lovely views overy the golf course. The restaurant staff are excellent at night and the meals are very nice and not too expensive. When we were there the golf club bar was closed but it too does meals but more pub grub. Overall I'd recommend Slaley Hall for good few days away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017
Dear Andrew Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Slaley Hall. I am delighted you had a excellent long weekend away at the hotel and pleased you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. I am happy you would recommend the hotel and hope to welcome you back to the resort soon. Best wishes Andrew Fox Regional General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Cons: FOOD; EVENING MEAL QUALITY A FAIR AVERAGE VERY SMALL PORTIONS BREAKFAST TOO MUCH COOKED AT ONCE AND LEFT TO DETERIATE ON HOT PLATES, OK IF BUSY.
FOR SUCH A HIGHLY RATED HOTEL THE BEDS ARE UNCOMFORTABLE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Andrew Fox, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Slaley Hall. We do welcome your fair and honest feedback regarding the portion sizes, to which we will be introducing new menu's into our Hadrian's brasserie later this month which may be more appealing to you. Once again thank you for your feedback. Best wishes Andrew Fox Regional General Manager
4 out of 5
by David

Good hotel for a short break in Northumberland

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very large hotel with attached golf course. Comfortable but slightly dated room and bathroom. Hotel was fine but doesn't have the atmosphere you might expect from a country hall hotel.
3 out of 5
by Sheila

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
The whole trip was disappointing we were told at reception we could eat in the restaurant or the claret jug when we went to find the claret jug it was closed out of season, so we made do with a burger and pasta which wasn't that good.We went to use the spar well that wasn't much better,sauna like a warm cupboard,steam room better but very small jacuzzi very small nice size pool.We did have a better breakfast won't be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017
Dear Sheila Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Slaley Hall. I am sorry to hear that aspects of your stay you have expressed a disappointment with. I am unhappy to hear you were given the incorrect information from reception in regards to the dinning options. Hadrian's Brasserie is open all year round and The Claret Jug is open seasonally however when the Claret Jug is not open we do offer our guests to dine in the 19th bar. We do all take all feedback very seriously and comments such as yours are a valuable way for us to monitor our performance and make changes where necessary. Kind regards Andrew Fox Regional General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nice relaxing weekend away

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: We liked the style and comfort.
Cons: The breakfast on the first morning was excellent, but seemed to go downhill after that. They could have done with more staff on at that time.
Location: We chose the location as it was reasonably close to places that we wanted to visit and we liked the country surroundings.
The hotel was very good value for money and came up to our expectations. Would definitely like to return sometime.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately past sell by date

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location, convenience
Cons: Its like it was partly upgraded in the last 10 years but funds did not allow a full upgrade so parts look stuck in the 1970s. Getting out of the tired
Location: Beautiful location close to Hexham and easily accessible for Durham
Impressive driveway and approach but main entrance less inviting. Cold wide open spaces of wasted space in the corridors. Reception was not able to confirm if I had indeed paid the room balance to Expedia which was frustrating. the bar was unable to provide champagne by the glass although on the drinks menu. "We are waiting on stock coming in" In fact the bar was unable to provide bottled water or any type of snack (no crisps no nuts) with the drinks whatsoever. "Oh we have just been wiped out" was the excuse which I have never experienced before. Breakfast very mediocre, no cold meats, ran out of milk, orange juice diluted with water. Lumpy packet mix hollandaise for the eggs benedict Convector heater in room as unable to turn off cold setting for air conditioning Room really clean, thankyou Maxine Above rating can't fill in, so Overall 2, staff 3-4, facilities/condition 2 room cleanliness 5 room comfort 2-3 would have been higher if air con had worked properly
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Andrew Fox, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your recent visit to Slaley Hall. I am concerned to read about aspects of your stay that you have expressed a disappointment with. The hotel is going through a soft refurbishment but due to the size, this is being done is sections, this should all be complete by the end of 2017. I will discuss your feedback regarding the standard of breakfast with the food and beverage manager and the with the Chef. We do take all feedback seriously and comments like yours are a valuable way for us to monitor our performances and make changes where necessary. Kind regards Andrew Fox Regional General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Comfortable hotel with polite helpful staff in a beautiful part of Northumberland