Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Surroundings and plenty of parking

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Pros: The hotel is in a quiet idyllic and peaceful environment, which i was impressed. Quietness and being in the countryside & short drive to near by towns
Cons: Needs updating, no space between bed the side cabinet, mini fridge, sockets on both side change bathroom into shower room with a hand rail, breakfast.
Location: Co-op and Morrisons 5 minute drive, short drive to restuarant and bars to near town and Cities. It's very peaceful, relaxing.
On arrival the hotel was appealing with a water fountain which was very nice the hotel was nice, checked in at reception shown to our room looked comfortable. Need sockets on both side of the bed but only had on one side of the bed. The bathroom had cobwebs on the celling and the other issue was the sink leaked. The room should've been checked before hand to make sure of the cleanliness. The bath was big i had difficult getting in and out, a hand rail would be an advantage or change to shower room would be better with hand rail. The cooked breakfast was not to expectation as the breakfast looked all shrivelled as being over cooked. There is a Co-op and Morrisons 5 minute drive Appart from all the things i've mentioned it was very peaceful and relaxing and close to near town and cities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southport

Dated decor

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Room was very small and furnishings could do with a lick of paint and bed was very uncomfortable 😣
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On arrival I was given the wrong room !

Posted Mar 31, 2018
On arrival I was given the wrong room ! Room was a mess ! The hotel itself is deceiving, the pictures shown on the internet ! Plus the restaurant was shut! I don’t think it’s ever open ! Not money for value at all ! Rubbish rooms !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Birch Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Looks like a hotel that needs investment, attention to detail (cleanliness and Hygiene) and being a little more customer focussed. There were very staff about and felt more like a travelodge! The guy on reception was very friendly and helpful but you do need more than one to make a hotel work. For the money charged I expect better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Good location not far from Motorway.

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Gill was very friendly on reception and all the other staff were very helpful. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast. Would have no hesitation in recommending. A bit more character than the predictable Premier Inns of this world. Will be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Dated but OK if cheep priced. Room needs updating, not clean enough and drains slow so build up of water in shower base.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

not the best but ok for the money

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: its ok for the price
Cons: customer service
Location: unsure was work only
they closed at 9pm on Saturday night and because they was quiet and I couldn't have a breakfast because it was quiet bit disappointing but was clean and tidy I suppose so it was ok. I also had to go to the services on my way there just to pay with my card over the phone so they could go home I think
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury

Just what I needed.. at a good price

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Convenient, friendly and in a good location for what I needed.. A*
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by The Birch Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Needs refurbishment

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good
Cons: Redecoration and attention to detail.
Bedrooms need refurbishment. No seating, safe, only 1 coat hanger in bedroom. Mound in bathroom needs urgent attention. Very small shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best but not the worst

Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels
Well we had a few issues!! Room was dirty as in very dusty and a white stain on the throw on the bed, the hotel itself is well kept though. The door handle was broke which made it difficult to get into the room. The toilet flush didnt work properley so had to keep spraying the shower down the toilet. The big window didnt close properley, even though draft strips have been put in, they didnt work which let the cold and noise in. Worryingly i couldnt find a fan in the bathroom? On the plus side the furniture seems fairly modern and the tv was big.nice bar downstairs and the staff were very polite and friendly. Breakfast was spot on! The location is great. Unfortunately we felt that the housekeepers are not doing their job properly and i think if there was a bit of money spent it would be a fantastic hotel. My room was 30 so hopefully this gets read by management and they manage to get bits and bobs fixed and certain things bought up to date