Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
A nice quiet Hotelnot a lot of staff on first night
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by The Birch Hotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Birch Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel is old and dated and poor maintenance bar is well over priced being charged £3.10 for a small diet coke. They had no ordinary coke. Wouldn't be staying again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by DM, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear your stay was not as expected we are dealing with maintenance issues quickly when we are informed of them. Coke are £1.60 as they are equivalent to half a pint. Please inform a member of staff at any hotel you visit of any issues you have during your stay. We always want to help you enjoy your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

Nice location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Nice welcome. Room small. No where to hang towels or anything in ensue or shower. No extract in ensue. Full breakfast minimal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Vicky, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review it is good to hear you got a nice welcome. If you ever require anything extra at breakfast just ask the waiter on duty. We are more than happy to accommodate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs attention

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Very Friendly staff, good grounds to it, loads of potential
Cons: Garden, and bedroom corridors.
Location: Heywood town nearby, as is Bury for the market.
Lovely hotel once upon a time. A real shame to see the garden has been neglected though I understand this is to change shortly as the hotel will be employing a new gardener. The only other negative comment I would like to make is that the bedroom corridors do seem rather dark, probably down to the dark brown paint used everywhere. Put some colour in there and brighten it up!!. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay and would happily stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. An upcoming improvement plan should deal with the areas you mentioned. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visits.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Belinda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by john

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
2nd stay here always very good. My only issue is with the lockable door handles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Good location that suited me, all good. Would recommend to others, thanks .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camberley

Business Trip to Manchester

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: quiet, and very friendly team
Needed to be in Manchester for business, arrived the day before and stayed at the Birch Hotel, it was a little gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

lovely staff

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The hotel was very handy to access the motorway. The staff very very helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant could have been a lot better and was all priced individually which made for a very expensive meal. Breakfast was between seven and nine and we would have preferred it to be available until ten. The room, although a lovely size and very clean would have benefited from having an extra chair to sit on. We also found the room to be very cold. I would recommend the hotel to others though as the staff were so nice.